20 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Pencarrow - Gig Review: Pencarrow @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/05/2021

02 May 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I have lost count of how many times I have been to Ding Dong in the last year, I think it is somewhere between “lots” and “loads”, so consequently it is starting to feel very much like a place where every barman knows my name (and what I drink). I have been looking forward to catching Pencarrow since I came across their debut album Growth In The Absence of Light which was released last year. It is unusual for me to give an album 5 *’s but I felt that one richly deserved it, and is one I enjoy playing. Tonight, was going to be an evening of post rock, with some proggy elements thrown in, and I knew it was going to be fun although I was somewhat unaware of just how late this was going to run – I should have had a nap in the afternoon!

There were some issues with the set up for Gravity Road, the first band on, so Sora Shima decided to go on without a soundcheck at all and work it out as they go. I was looking at one of the guys hanging around beforehand, and noticed he had on a green wristband which meant he was playing, and the tectonic plates of my mind slowly shifted. I approached and asked who he was playing with, and what instrument. He said he was guesting with Sora Shima and played violin, why? With that I laughed and said Shepherds of Cassini! This was none other than Felix Lun, who was in that band, and I reviewed their debut album back in 2014, and saw them play a few times and even took photos at one of their gigs at The King’s Arms (RIP) back in 2015, which we were soon looking at on my phone and reminiscing. Rather worryingly he could remember what I said in the review all those years ago! I asked what had happened to the band, as they were an incredible live act, and apparently bassist Vitesh Bava had gone to Canada to study. Later in the evening I bumped into drummer Omar Al-Hashimi who told me that Vitesh is currently back, and they are looking to do a reunion show with guitarist Brendan Zwaan, and that will be something quite special indeed.

By now I was looking at the stage, especially down by guitarist Nathan’s feet as he was using a significant amount of pedalboards. I also noticed that drummer Dave is every sound engineer’s nightmare, a Lefty, which meant the kit would need to be totally switched around for the next band. I had a long chat with bassist Pete beforehand as well – it always pays to become pally with the local sales representative for Cassels beer, whose Milk Stout is surely the nectar of the gods?

Finally, Gravity Road started, or at least some of them did, with Nathan and Dave building the atmosphere with Nathan creating a real soundscape as a backdrop. Singer/guitarist Llew was quite patient, looking around, and then eventually Pete made it to the stage, and received a rapturous round of applause for his troubles, and it was all on.

They kicked off with Land of Trees, and early on they really captured my attention as not only are they post rock but there is a great deal going on in all areas. Dave switches between sticks and mallets, always changing the rhythm approach, Pete uses loads of different styles including finger popping (no pick, which allows him to play multiple notes at once) and hitting chords, while Nathan is permanently coaxing different sounds and styles from the multitude of effects he has at his feet (literally), so much so that when he plays straight it is an effect in itself. Then at the front we have Llew, who not only provides rhythm guitar, but is an incredibly powerful singer. What impressed me immensely was that he can sing with real passion, driving out the words, then can easily switch into falsetto, moving between the different singing styles as the needs arises. This really allows him to break through the soundscape, while Pete’s strong striking and pulling of the bass also gave very different dynamics.

They slowed it down, and pulled the music into a different area, yet always brought the heaviness back in controlled use of dynamics and contrast. There were times when they reminded me of Spook The Horses, and I can see fans of that band also getting a lot out of hearing these guys. The instrumental passages were very good but being a post rock band, they of course did not speak to the audience at all, not even to announce the songs. That’s fine, but it might be an idea to at least tell people the name of the band… They ended with Silent Sky, a song containing Neurosis-style heaviness, and I found myself immensely impressed. I look forward to seeing them again.

After a somewhat extended changeover, it was time for Hamilton band Sora Shima. The band were highly active after they formed in 2006, releasing some EP’s and an album, but from 2014 became dormant until 2019 when the original quartet reformed for a festival. Tonight saw the band as a trio with founder members Jason Lurman (guitar) and Gavin McDermott (drums) with bassist Mitchell Currin who joined last year. The trio were also joined on some songs by Felix Lun (violin) and guest guitarist Matt, but they started with Drone as a three-piece, with loads of guitar effects and a backing track which was a voiceover, making it sound as if we were listening to the beginning of a film as opposed to being at a gig.

Gradually the momentum started to build, and the band really kicked in, hard. This was incredibly heavy instrumental post rock, but they moved around the sound, slowing it down and becoming more atmospheric before tearing it up again. Their use of dynamics is highly effective indeed. Matt and Felix came onstage for Tornado Vs Trailerpark, from their 2007 demo EP Spinetingler, and just having a second guitar allowed them to bring in different effects. Then over the top of all of this was Felix, who was immediately adding another level. Anyone who had seen Shepherds will remember what an innovative band they were, and he was in his element here, adding additional elements to an already rich tapestry of sound.

It was by now that I realised what their music reminded me of, the crashing of waves on the shore. It is violent and heavy before retreating back into quietness before the sound comes back again. Mitchell was playing chords, everyone was incredibly heavy, and Felix somehow managed to add some top end. Here Be Dragons from 2008’s Destroy Electronica was another to get the quintet treatment, with Felix’s violin adding a fragile beauty to the dark atmospheric landscape. But there were also plenty of times when Jason was diving hard, and there was no room at all for fragility as it was a full-on onslaught. It was back for a trio with the unreleased Hext, and finally it was done. This was quite a performance, and everyone was drained by the sheer intensity of what they had witnessed.

Both bands had played lengthy sets, and I was somewhat surprised to see that the time was now past 11:30pm and we had yet to have the headline! Thankfully, it did not take too long for the band to set up, and while there was a pedalboard it was somewhat smaller than what had been used previously, probably because Pencarrow have a keyboard player in Anthony Rose. The rest of the band are Todd Thompson (5-string bass), Justin Chorley (drums) and Tonnie ten Hove (guitar, vocals) and even though it was now way past my bedtime, I was definitely going to enjoy this.

While all three bands who were playing tonight could be considered to be post rock, Pencarrow are far more overtly proggy as well, and move between loads of different styles. Tonight, we were to be treated to pretty much the whole album, in order, although they did end with the lengthy At Last, Omniscience from their 2016 debut. So we kicked off with In Medias Res and it was immediately obvious that Pencarrow are quite different to what had gone before. The guitar was more structured and complex, with sounds which were far more like Andy Latimer or David Gilmour, adding complexity against the backdrop. Through the course of the set the rhythm section kept everything tight, which allowed guitar and keyboards to play against each other, with the guitar often in overall control, but there were others when the keyboards were by far the dominant, switching from synth sounds to piano, and even combining in frenetic duels.

Their music contains far more in the way of dynamics, and the switching between songs and instrumentals is really effective. The first time I played the album I was somewhat surprised when vocals arrived as I had already made the decision it must be instrumental, such is their power. Although the sound was somewhat cleaner than what had gone before, that did not reduce any of the power and there were times when they were incredibly heavy and Tonnie took the opportunity to drop into some serious shredding. They pushed in and out of prog metal, and the overall effect was mesmerising.

When they finished their set, it was nearly 1am, the latest gig I have attended for quite some time, but certainly worth it. All these bands are worth checking out and well worth catching if they are playing in your area.


Photo Credits Kev Rowland

 

About Pencarrow

Pencarrow is a four-piece prog band from Wellington, New Zealand, combining diverse musical backgrounds and influences to create adventurous and thought provoking music.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Pencarrow

Releases

Growth In The Absence of Light
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Dawn Simulation
Year: 2016
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Albi & The Wolves - Gig Review: Rock The Folk @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 18/06/2021
20 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
So, it was back to the lovely little venue which is The Tuning Fork. It is somewhere I always enjoy going to, as not only is the food and beer very good indeed, but there is a good sound and everyone can see.
Read More...
LearningToDive - Single Review: You Said It Best
17 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Learningtodive is one of a series of projects from Bravo Bonez, a musician and producer currently based in Wellington, New Zealand. He released his first single under this name back in November last year, since when he has followed it up with more singles and his debut album Norwegian Pop, which came out in April.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blitz Metal Fest @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 12/06/2021
13 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Well, today was a first for me, coming to Ding Dong in the daylight! This was because it was time for Metal Blitz, a 13-band event being held which was planned to run for 10 hours but we all thought was probably going to take longer.
Read More...
Gatekeepers - Single Review: Always a Rebel, Never a Rogue
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Gatekeepers may be a new name to most of you, but this New Plymouth quartet have managed to secure the opening slot in Hamilton for the Devilskin and Kora show, so they have already started to gain some attention and based on this single one can hear why. The band was only formed earlier this year by guitarist/singer Jeremy Donoghue, rhythm guitarist Sean Phillips and bassist Mat Pipe, since when they have been writing and recording tracks before sending them to the UK to be mixed by Adam Wain.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Lake of Eyes
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Adrian Drew and his band of merry men are back with the third single from their forthcoming album and given what I have heard to date I am really looking forward to that when it comes out. While Adrian provides guitar and vocals, the band is now firmly settled with David Crowhen (bass) Undercut, Craig van Kan (drums), The Couch, and lead guitarist Adam Morton-Mason, These Fine Galleons.
Read More...
Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • SOLAR POWER
    Lorde
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem