12 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

JoshDannMusic - Single Review: Just For A Moment

29 Apr 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Josh Dann is a Hamilton-based multi-instrumentalist whose musical journey started at the age of eleven when he was inspired to pick up an instrument when he heard someone playing a clarinet. Since then, he has also taken up other instruments such as saxophone, piano and bass, and his latest single finds him playing all instruments apart from drums, which are provided by Luke Rodgers. The single is self-produced and mixed, with Brian Reeves undertaking the mastering.

The lyrics were originally written by Josh’s father as a poem for a couple who had lost someone, and he felt that Josh should turn it into a song, and this is the result. Josh says it is about a friend losing someone important, and inviting them to step towards the loss, sitting with it, living in the tension of our feelings, acknowledging them without having to fix them. Hence the words "and to listen, just for a moment".

The production on this is beautiful, as it commences just with piano which has plenty of reverb before Josh comes in with his plaintive vocals, asking the question as to why the earth has not stopped because his has. It is poignant and emotional, with additional instruments providing warmth and comfort. I must confess that for me the drums sound out of place here, as it is almost as if they are adding a dance-style beat, which just does not work in this context and the early passages would have benefited from not having them. However, it does mean that when Josh drops everything apart from delicate piano their lack is really felt. This is a song where space is an essential instrument, and the lack of drive is incredibly important, as we are taken on an emotional journey. It is a lengthy song at nearly eight minutes, and as we get to just past five minutes it really starts to build, and this is where the drums have a far different approach, really adding to the drive and passion.

In some ways reminiscent of Coldplay, this is an incredibly powerful number which has a slow build but becomes dramatic and sweeping. For this song Josh has used synths to provide strings and horns, but I can imagine this being performed in front of a full orchestra, a treatment it richly deserves. When it ends as quietly as it begins, the listener feels emotionally drained, and thinking about the words they have just heard.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About JoshDannMusic

JoshDannMusic (AKA Josh Dann), is a musician from Hamilton whose aim with music is to encourage and inspire those who listen to it and covers a range of different genres.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for JoshDannMusic

Releases

There are no releases to display for JoshDannMusic.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Beastwars with Earth Tongue and Demons of Noon @ Powerstation, Auckland - 08/05/2021
09 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I was a little concerned when I made my way to the Powerstation just 15 minutes before the doors were due to open, as there was no-one else there! A quick check of the billboard confirmed I was in the right place on the right date, but possibly this was somewhat indicative of the poor weather combined with so many great gigs on tonight.
Read More...
Emily Rice - EP Review: Auhua
06 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Over the last few months Emily Rice has been building up to the release of this EP, and of the six songs included on Auaha (which means to shape, create, form, fashion), four have already been released as singles, and I have reviewed three of them myself, so the EP feels already very much like an old friend, but for anyone yet to come across Emily and her work then this is a wonderful place to start. I first came across Emily and her husband in the wonderful folk duo Aro, but here her music is far more dance oriented as she brings in lots of different styles such as soft jazz, RnB, dub, and even a little touch of folk, but always with her wonderful vocals front and centre.
Read More...
Living State - Single Review: One Sided
04 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Whenever I hear anyone bemoaning the state of music on the radio, I tell them to get out to places like Ding Dong and actually live and breathe what is really going on in the scene, not what some people just want to tell you. Last Saturday I was there at yet another gig, and while I was having a chat with one of the musicians a guy came up and joined in.
Read More...
Stealphish - Single Review: Auri
04 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Cafe Fistfight guitarist Josh Barker in his alter ego as Stealphish. The only other person involved on this recording is his wife Nicole who provides piano for the first 35 seconds of the nearly 7-minute-long song.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Water Went Away
03 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Proud Coromandel boy Dan Sharp is back with his latest EP, Water Went Away, and I can only concur with Corinne’s review of his last EP, Slack Tide, in that we really need an album! This collection of five songs loosely follows through the various stages of a breakup and the significant life changes that happen as part of that such as moving to a new house, moving town, being unable to access certain things, wondering what was going to happen next etc.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pencarrow @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/05/2021
02 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I have lost count of how many times I have been to Ding Dong in the last year, I think it is somewhere between “lots” and “loads”, so consequently it is starting to feel very much like a place where every barman knows my name (and what I drink). I have been looking forward to catching Pencarrow since I came across their debut album Growth In The Absence of Light which was released last year.
Read More...
Gig Review: BOTB Winners Tour with Big Tasty & guests @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 30/04/2021
01 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Back off to the Anthology Lounge for a 4-band bill, which I was really looking forward to. It was going to be the first time I had seen Cafe Fistfight in a while, I had heard good things about The Minnehahas (and I know drummer Neo from White Noise Mafia), I had reviewed the album by The RVMES while this was the last night of the tour for BOTB winners Big Tasty so it was all set for a great session.
Read More...
Age of Destitute - Single Review: Voiceless
26 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Age of Destitute are a new band formed by Rezwan Ashraf (vocals, lead guitar) and Sammy Iqbal (rhythm guitar, bass). The duo are both originally from Bangladesh, and only met by chance here in New Zealand, and were soon jamming and trying out different ideas.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • BODY
    Russ Millions And Tion Wayne
  • YOUR POWER
    Billie Eilish
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem