28 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

JoshDannMusic - Single Review: Just For A Moment

29 Apr 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Josh Dann is a Hamilton-based multi-instrumentalist whose musical journey started at the age of eleven when he was inspired to pick up an instrument when he heard someone playing a clarinet. Since then, he has also taken up other instruments such as saxophone, piano and bass, and his latest single finds him playing all instruments apart from drums, which are provided by Luke Rodgers. The single is self-produced and mixed, with Brian Reeves undertaking the mastering.

The lyrics were originally written by Josh’s father as a poem for a couple who had lost someone, and he felt that Josh should turn it into a song, and this is the result. Josh says it is about a friend losing someone important, and inviting them to step towards the loss, sitting with it, living in the tension of our feelings, acknowledging them without having to fix them. Hence the words "and to listen, just for a moment".

The production on this is beautiful, as it commences just with piano which has plenty of reverb before Josh comes in with his plaintive vocals, asking the question as to why the earth has not stopped because his has. It is poignant and emotional, with additional instruments providing warmth and comfort. I must confess that for me the drums sound out of place here, as it is almost as if they are adding a dance-style beat, which just does not work in this context and the early passages would have benefited from not having them. However, it does mean that when Josh drops everything apart from delicate piano their lack is really felt. This is a song where space is an essential instrument, and the lack of drive is incredibly important, as we are taken on an emotional journey. It is a lengthy song at nearly eight minutes, and as we get to just past five minutes it really starts to build, and this is where the drums have a far different approach, really adding to the drive and passion.

In some ways reminiscent of Coldplay, this is an incredibly powerful number which has a slow build but becomes dramatic and sweeping. For this song Josh has used synths to provide strings and horns, but I can imagine this being performed in front of a full orchestra, a treatment it richly deserves. When it ends as quietly as it begins, the listener feels emotionally drained, and thinking about the words they have just heard.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About JoshDannMusic

JoshDannMusic (AKA Josh Dann), is a musician from Hamilton whose aim with music is to encourage and inspire those who listen to it and covers a range of different genres.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for JoshDannMusic

Releases

There are no releases to display for JoshDannMusic.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Plum Green - Album Review: Somnambulist
25 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Born in a squat in England, raised in New Zealand, and presently residing in Melbourne, here we have the latest release from dream folk artist Plum Green. I have not previously come across any of her other albums, but somehow, I can see I need to undertake some investigations as this is a very special album indeed.
Read More...
Diehards of Deep Dish - Album Review: Traditional Speciality Guaranteed
25 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is a long history of band members using pseudonyms, with Ramones probably being the most famous, and here we have a band who use pseudonyms for their pseudonyms, so we have Cheese (Joey Provolone), Tomato (Ryley Base), Wheat (Beef Richards), Mushrooms (Mattzarella Gibson) and Herbs (Herbie Handcooked). I thought Cafe Fistfight had probably taken the foodie elements to the extreme with songs such as King Hit Quiche, but here we have six songs all aimed at the pizza lovers among us.
Read More...
Power The Light - Single Review: Snowing
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Power The Light is Max Roskilly, an 18-year-old musician who is based in Auckland , and has been self-releasing music for the last four years already, including the album Blueprints a while back. This is his second single in recent months, following on from Skys where he showed an interest more in krautrock than in is normal indie-jazz style.
Read More...
Single Review: Glass Throne
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Glass Throne are an Auckland-based power trio comprising Justin Robinson (lead vocals, bass, guitar), Owen McKibbin (guitar, organ, backing vocals) and Daniel Cutfield (drums, percussion, backing vocals). I have managed to catch them play live a few times over the last year, and what always strikes me is just how different they are to the rest of the local scene, coming through as a mix of classic Seventies hard rock, progressive and modern alt rock.
Read More...
On Tick - Single Review: Nothing New
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Tick is the brainchild of brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar), and was formed from the ashes of their previous musical outfit, Evil Tomato, who began as a band in 2012. They came across 5-string bassist Matt Hammond when they heard the demoes for Black Sands, which he not only produced but played on, and he joined forces to work with them on the album and to allow them to play in the Ding Dong Battle of the Bands.
Read More...
Ravenhall - EP Review: The Coming Storm
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Ravenhall were formed by guitarist Joe Ravenhall and singer Chris Brebner in 2015. They were both already veterans of the Auckland scene, and wanted to perform music which concentrated on the power of acoustic guitar, wonderful vocals, plus some gentle electronic backing, and that is certainly what we have here.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem