13 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola

29 Apr 2021 // A review by Chris Chick

You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying. Banana Mundo bring a wonderful mix of lain vibes as salsa and cumbia to really induce those Latino hips we all know we have somewhere.

This is a fabulous mix of music that really showcases the diversity within the New Zealand music scene at present and may it long continue and become even bigger. I love the opening song, not only the name of the song Bananas of the World, but its general vibe and the enormous smile it brings across your face when you all you yearn for in that moment is a lovely sandy beach and a cocktail. How can you argue with line "love, peace and bananas" that is enthusiastically called out two thirds of the way through.

The EP then takes on a more sassy salsa expression that allows you to become more inclined to enjoy your unknown Latin side that will be eager to break out of its cage to embrace the hip shaping movements we all know we can do. One of the highlights of the EP for me is the song Concha Gonzales it has such a good rhythm and blend of all the top Latin beats, you can dance to it, you can sit back and close your eyes, either way, your mood will be instantly improved no matter how difficult it is to admit you still have a close connection to the UK (well for me anyway).

All in all this is a very solid EP from Banana Mundo and one that sounds very different to much of the music that is out there. If you enjoy the Latin groove, this is certainly for you, even if you do not, I would encourage you to give this a listen, you will not be disappointed. I can imagine this band really creating an 'electric' live sound that would be great for anytime of the year. The two important questions to answer are, does the music enhance my mood? it certainly does, you had me at Latino beats. Secondly, am I better off having listened to this EP? you bet your turtle neck sweater I am, this gets a strong 3.5 stars for me overall.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Banana Mundo

Banana Mundo is a collective of musicians from around the world. Members from Argentina, Uruguay, Venezuela, France, Switzerland, England and New Zealand bring together an infectious worldly mix of upbeat Latin and Afro Beat tunes.

Hailing from New Plymouth, the w(b)est coast of beautiful New Zealand, the band features French keysanova Severin Thiebaut on hot salsa flavoured keys, the brassiliant English tenor and soprano trombone player Tombone Roberts, local west coast Kiwi legend Robin Wells on jazzy sax, genio de la guitarra (guitar genius) Andres Duran from Uruguay, the hottest accordion player in all of the west Naomi Kuttner, “máquina de percusionista” aka “the love rhythm” Argentinian percussionist Nico Paladini and the world's tallest man from Venezuela en la batería (on drums) Christian Jacobsoni Rangel.

The explosive 8-piece band Banana Mundo is fronted by the musical swiss army knife Andre Manella on bass, clave, percussion and lead vocal.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Banana Mundo

Releases

Hola
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane
31 Jan 2021 // by Chris Chick
The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Palm Trees & Ciggies
08 Dec 2020 // by Chris Chick
If you were wondering what you Summer song was going to be for this year, the year of the 'what the hell just happened' Palm Trees and Ciggies could well be your winner to take you through to the next Winter. Any song that drops a humdinger of a ska/reggae beat is a sure fire way to get noticed by this reviewer, especially as the temperature starts to warm up and the stock of cold ones increases in the fridge.
Read More...
Miles Calder - Single Review: Take Me Back To How It Was
19 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I think I just found the band that I really want to jam with; Miles Calder's new song Take Me Back To How It Was is a sound that really does what it says on the tin, it takes you back to the way it was. This late 60's and 70's psychedelic number really softens the soul and enables one to really re-live by gone days that many of us did not even have the opportunity to experience.
Read More...
Imperial April - Single Review: Release Me
08 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
Imperial April are releasing their new single Release Me on 9 October 2020, and by golly it's an absolute corker, and I will not let anyone else say different. This song has so much going for it, from its production, to the wonderfully enchanting singing, to the 80's summer vibe that will just keep the summer of 2020 a positive time considering the rest of the garbage we have all had to deal with.
Read More...
Turkey The Bird - Single Review: Everybody Needs A Little Sunshine
01 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was promised a happy little number when handed this assignment, and I was not let down, I think happy might be an understatement, elated, ecstatic, maybe even nirvanic, which I believe is a word I just made up. This is a timely release what with summer banging on the door, a great reminder to us all to put a smile on our faces, and be thankful for the simple things in life, like a little sunshine, especially if you are on the West Coast of the South Island, according to the rumours.
Read More...
Jam Fish - Single Review: The Hermits Red Balloon
24 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Jam Fish’s new single The Hermit’s Red Balloon was released on the 14th August 2020. This song can only be described through golfing metaphors, the experience of listening to this song was like playing a shot beyond the horizon and hoping you make the green.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • BODY
    Russ Millions And Tion Wayne
  • YOUR POWER
    Billie Eilish
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem