28 Nov 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola

29 Apr 2021 // A review by Chris Chick

You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying. Banana Mundo bring a wonderful mix of lain vibes as salsa and cumbia to really induce those Latino hips we all know we have somewhere.

This is a fabulous mix of music that really showcases the diversity within the New Zealand music scene at present and may it long continue and become even bigger. I love the opening song, not only the name of the song Bananas of the World, but its general vibe and the enormous smile it brings across your face when you all you yearn for in that moment is a lovely sandy beach and a cocktail. How can you argue with line "love, peace and bananas" that is enthusiastically called out two thirds of the way through.

The EP then takes on a more sassy salsa expression that allows you to become more inclined to enjoy your unknown Latin side that will be eager to break out of its cage to embrace the hip shaping movements we all know we can do. One of the highlights of the EP for me is the song Concha Gonzales it has such a good rhythm and blend of all the top Latin beats, you can dance to it, you can sit back and close your eyes, either way, your mood will be instantly improved no matter how difficult it is to admit you still have a close connection to the UK (well for me anyway).

All in all this is a very solid EP from Banana Mundo and one that sounds very different to much of the music that is out there. If you enjoy the Latin groove, this is certainly for you, even if you do not, I would encourage you to give this a listen, you will not be disappointed. I can imagine this band really creating an 'electric' live sound that would be great for anytime of the year. The two important questions to answer are, does the music enhance my mood? it certainly does, you had me at Latino beats. Secondly, am I better off having listened to this EP? you bet your turtle neck sweater I am, this gets a strong 3.5 stars for me overall.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Banana Mundo

Banana Mundo is a collective of musicians from around the world. Members from Argentina, Uruguay, Venezuela, France, Switzerland, England and New Zealand bring together an infectious worldly mix of upbeat Latin and Afro Beat tunes.

Hailing from New Plymouth, the w(b)est coast of beautiful New Zealand, the band features French keysanova Severin Thiebaut on hot salsa flavoured keys, the brassiliant English tenor and soprano trombone player Tombone Roberts, local west coast Kiwi legend Robin Wells on jazzy sax, genio de la guitarra (guitar genius) Andres Duran from Uruguay, the hottest accordion player in all of the west Naomi Kuttner, “máquina de percusionista” aka “the love rhythm” Argentinian percussionist Nico Paladini and the world's tallest man from Venezuela en la batería (on drums) Christian Jacobsoni Rangel.

The explosive 8-piece band Banana Mundo is fronted by the musical swiss army knife Andre Manella on bass, clave, percussion and lead vocal.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Banana Mundo

Releases

Hola
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two
01 Nov 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.
Read More...
Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane
31 Jan 2021 // by Chris Chick
The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • OH MY GOD
    Adele
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • I DRINK WINE
    Adele
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • MY LITTLE LOVE
    Adele
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem