27 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

D.Matthews - Single Review: Melanin Skin

29 Apr 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Melanin Skin is a new single from Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews (aka David Matthews) who has curated his own brand of energetic calm Afrobeat/Afropop.

The latest track is something of a laid back affair while still providing the listener with a groove to flow along to. A guitar opens the song and sets you up with the chord progression. As it moves into the hook at the beginning you can tell that this is a song that will get stuck in your head. A simple, yet effective, melody line reinforces the title of the track. Through each verse, D.Matthews details his appreciation for his Melanin Skin Queen. His flow in the verse sounds great, real and authentic. Sure, there is a seasoning of auto-tune at times but nowadays this is a creative approach to the sound and it works here.

Overall, the afrobeat and the overall sound of the music and D.Matthews vocals make this a song that I could easily hear all over the radio. It is yet another song in his catalogue that continues to grow, while at the same time getting out there and performing where he can build his audience even further.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About D.Matthews

Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews has curated his own brand of motivational rap & energetic beats from Africa, called, "Afrobeat"

D.Matthews is well known for his idiosyncratic style and abundant charisma, D.Matthews aims to inspire listeners through his stimulating lyrics and lively blend of Trap & Afrobeats. He cites Afrobeat singer, Burna Boy, alternative neo-soul songstresses Kehlani and Tinashe and fellow Nigerian singer-songwriter WizKid as musical influences.

Born in Ibadan, Oyo State, D.Matthews knew he was destined to entertain from a young age, singing and dancing when he returned from church. He went on to launch his music career at the age of 20 after the realisation of the steps he’s been making from the earlier days of his life back home.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for D.Matthews

Releases

There are no releases to display for D.Matthews.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

BrokeBoi Ace - Single Review: Watered Down Dreamz
15 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Oh man. I like this.
Read More...
Sam V - Single/Video Review: Wired
10 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Sam V's newest track Wired is another demonstration of how Sam keeps refining his sound. His vision has been getting more focused over time, based on his previous tracks like Cotton Candy which is actually a Y$O track, and Up Up Down.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Strange Fruits
08 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
InDuna's approach to Hip-Hop/Rap is something that listeners should pay attention to. It fits into what kind of feels as almost progressive in regards to the styles it compasses.
Read More...
2Fly Ty - Single Review: That Track Feat. Dilz
03 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
2FLY TY's newest track entitled That Track is out now and features bars from Dilz. Both Ty and Dilz perform well here with TY’s flow being delivered on a rather flat way; not hyped and not like he’s not trying.
Read More...
Goodlynx - Single/Video Review: Purple Blue
10 Aug 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Starting Purple Blue off with a real honest vibe is the sound of a major 7th on a guitar. This interval sets a tone and mood that allows Goodlynx to be direct and honest with his audience.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Resurrection Feat. He Ra
22 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz is real. He is authentic.
Read More...
Souldrop - EP Review: Gypsy Lizard King
21 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Kiwi new-wave indie-soul 4-piece Souldrop have released their brand new and much-anticipated EP Gypsy Lizard King via label Meow. Featuring the stunningly smooth singles Cadet and Jive, and new single/ title track Gypsy Lizard King, this latest EP release furthers their reputation as a talented band on the rise.
Read More...
And$um - Single Review: Ride The Wave Feat. Valle
26 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I’m a big fan of Hip-Hop - I teach it at school to my students. Hip-Hop is about being real and it has an honest vibe to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem