18 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Age of Destitute - Single Review: Voiceless

26 Apr 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Age of Destitute are a new band formed by Rezwan Ashraf (vocals, lead guitar) and Sammy Iqbal (rhythm guitar, bass). The duo are both originally from Bangladesh, and only met by chance here in New Zealand, and were soon jamming and trying out different ideas. They say they are inspired by Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, Iron Maiden, Metallica, Dire Straits, Dream Theater, and multiple shredders, but in this single the listener would be hard-pressed to find any metal. Instead, what we have is a languorous trip, with vocals front and centre, alongside some guitar licks which are very reminiscent of Gilmour and possibly Knopfler. There are some drums, keyboards, and piano to extend the sound, but for the most part this song relies on vocals and the melodic underpinning bass, which is way more to the fore than what might be expect.

There is an understated confidence in this single, which brings together elements of crossover prog, rock, soul, and pop into something that is languid and gentle, although always effective. For some reason I had it my mind that given the name this was going to be a hardcore punk band, but nothing could be further from the truth! This is all about slow consideration, no need for brashness and over the top energy. When Rez allows himself a simple solo, it becomes a soundscape, and he sits in the pocket of the music, never driving through but allowing himself to be gently taken along.

The EP is due out at the end of May, and it will be interesting to hear if the rest of the material is like this or if they do allow themselves to rock out a little more, but as it is this is a very pleasant single indeed.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Age of Destitute

Hailing from New Zealand, an easy listening, soulful guitar rock duo Rezwan Ashraf and Sammy Iqbal are daring to bring the classic rock sound with a fresh attitude.

Originally from Bangladesh both Rezwan and Sammy moved to New Zealand and met by chance. Both extremely passionate about music, they started jamming and collaborating on ideas. It was only a matter of time until they realized that good music must be shared with the audience.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Age of Destitute

Releases

There are no releases to display for Age of Destitute.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blitz Metal Fest @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 12/06/2021
13 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Well, today was a first for me, coming to Ding Dong in the daylight! This was because it was time for Metal Blitz, a 13-band event being held which was planned to run for 10 hours but we all thought was probably going to take longer.
Read More...
Gatekeepers - Single Review: Always a Rebel, Never a Rogue
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Gatekeepers may be a new name to most of you, but this New Plymouth quartet have managed to secure the opening slot in Hamilton for the Devilskin and Kora show, so they have already started to gain some attention and based on this single one can hear why. The band was only formed earlier this year by guitarist/singer Jeremy Donoghue, rhythm guitarist Sean Phillips and bassist Mat Pipe, since when they have been writing and recording tracks before sending them to the UK to be mixed by Adam Wain.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Lake of Eyes
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Adrian Drew and his band of merry men are back with the third single from their forthcoming album and given what I have heard to date I am really looking forward to that when it comes out. While Adrian provides guitar and vocals, the band is now firmly settled with David Crowhen (bass) Undercut, Craig van Kan (drums), The Couch, and lead guitarist Adam Morton-Mason, These Fine Galleons.
Read More...
Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mudbelly @ 12 Bar, Christchurch - 29/05/2021
30 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
In the middle of a red alert weather warning, I trekked from Oxford into Christchurch to attend Mudbelly’s album launch. It has been a while since I last went to a gig down here, but I have been to some real killers in the past (Sepultura, Death Angel and Blindfolded And Led To The Woods at Canterbury University’s The Foundry will long stick in my mind), so was looking forward to this.
Read More...
Lorenzo Hazelwood - Single Review: Same Mistake
28 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Lorenzo Hazlewood is probably best known as front man for Auckland hard rock band Close To The Bone, but he also released some solo singles last year in slightly different fashion, and now he has returned with his first for 2021, Same Mistake. This is reminiscent in some ways of classic ballad-style grunge like good Alice In Chains or Soundgarden, with his vocals very much to the fore.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem