26 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Plague of the Fallen - EP Review: Bleeding and Vehement

25 Apr 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

It has been a long road for Plague of the Fallen who released their debut EP Unleash the Vermin some 10 years ago, but the intervening years have seen line-up changes and even a hiatus, but now they are back with a six-track 15-minute-long EP, Bleeding and Vehement. This is brutal death metal, making for a wonderful attack on the senses. Drummer Stuart Henley-Minchington is the foundation, and it is always refreshing to hear a drummer within this genre who understands the real need for dynamics, and while he is always hitting hard, there is a huge variety in what he is doing within every song, so we only get real blast beats when we need them, and the same with his touch on cymbals. Guitarists Sam McRobert and Matthew Bolch often lock in as one, taking the straightforward brutal approach, and then there is bassist/vocalist Vincent Minchington. His bass is normally locked either with or just behind the guitars, while his vocals are in the Corpsegrinder style, yet with clearer annunciation than many.

Opener Gestation is just that, a short introduction to the EP. This has become something that many extreme bands feel the need to do these days, but these guys have not gone for the orchestral approach which some feel is fitting, but rather work their way into the groove, building up in readiness for what is to come. The feedback from the guitars takes us into the title cut and we are off, at pace. This is relentless death metal, but with plenty of layers and tricks behind it. There is some Meshuggah-style heavy finesse, and it would not surprise me to hear that Cryptopsy are also an influence. There is a groove in what they are doing, real power without ever veering away from their core purpose, which is to provide metal that is always in your face. There is little in the way of solos, but when they do come through, they tend to be in keeping with the song as opposed to just technical trickery. One of the areas they are very good in as that if providing variety. If everything stays at the same speed and volume then it loses impact, but they allow space to creep in to emphasise tightness, lightness to provide a foil for the heavy, providing loads of dynamics which give the overall EP much more polish and finesse. Yet another great local heavy band to keep an eye on and I am very much looking forward to hearing a full album, and will definitely catch them at a gig when I can.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Plague of the Fallen

Photo Credit: Daniel Cooper-McCann




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Plague of the Fallen

Releases

Bleeding and Vehement
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
Guy Hobson - Album Review: Latitude
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Guy Hobson is a Christchurch-based composer and performer who specialises in instrumental music for film and was featured most notably on one by Force Five Films about the unveiling of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic Spaceship Two SS2. He is a classically trained pianist who describes his music as Ambient, hypnotic and alt/modern classical, bringing in influences from classical, jazz, blues, and funk.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew
19 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for.
Read More...
Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem