19 Apr 2024
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Plague of the Fallen - EP Review: Bleeding and Vehement

25 Apr 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

It has been a long road for Plague of the Fallen who released their debut EP Unleash the Vermin some 10 years ago, but the intervening years have seen line-up changes and even a hiatus, but now they are back with a six-track 15-minute-long EP, Bleeding and Vehement. This is brutal death metal, making for a wonderful attack on the senses. Drummer Stuart Henley-Minchington is the foundation, and it is always refreshing to hear a drummer within this genre who understands the real need for dynamics, and while he is always hitting hard, there is a huge variety in what he is doing within every song, so we only get real blast beats when we need them, and the same with his touch on cymbals. Guitarists Sam McRobert and Matthew Bolch often lock in as one, taking the straightforward brutal approach, and then there is bassist/vocalist Vincent Minchington. His bass is normally locked either with or just behind the guitars, while his vocals are in the Corpsegrinder style, yet with clearer annunciation than many.

Opener Gestation is just that, a short introduction to the EP. This has become something that many extreme bands feel the need to do these days, but these guys have not gone for the orchestral approach which some feel is fitting, but rather work their way into the groove, building up in readiness for what is to come. The feedback from the guitars takes us into the title cut and we are off, at pace. This is relentless death metal, but with plenty of layers and tricks behind it. There is some Meshuggah-style heavy finesse, and it would not surprise me to hear that Cryptopsy are also an influence. There is a groove in what they are doing, real power without ever veering away from their core purpose, which is to provide metal that is always in your face. There is little in the way of solos, but when they do come through, they tend to be in keeping with the song as opposed to just technical trickery. One of the areas they are very good in as that if providing variety. If everything stays at the same speed and volume then it loses impact, but they allow space to creep in to emphasise tightness, lightness to provide a foil for the heavy, providing loads of dynamics which give the overall EP much more polish and finesse. Yet another great local heavy band to keep an eye on and I am very much looking forward to hearing a full album, and will definitely catch them at a gig when I can.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Plague of the Fallen

Relentless Death Metal from Christchurch, New Zealand.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Plague of the Fallen

Releases

Amongst the Rats
Year: 2023
Type: Album
Spiritual Emptiness
Year: 2022
Type: EP
Bleeding and Vehement
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Unleash the Vermin
Year: 2011
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Crushfest @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 07/07/2023
07 Jul 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was down to Tuning Fork for the first night of the second Crushfest festival. Tonight was going to be Wellington and Auckland bands, and then some of the same will be playing at the second night in Wellington next month.
Read More...
Rain - Single Review: Love and War
15 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
It has been quite a while since I last heard from Wellington-based singer songwriter Cathy Elizabeth, and back then Rain was seen solely as a studio project with Cathy being accompanied by Thomas Te Taite, who provided all the instrumentation including digital drums. Now they are a full band who have been performing live, and it is the first time they have recorded as such, with Thomas now, just providing acoustic guitar (plus engineering and producing etc.
Read More...
Lost Vessels - Single Review: All This Time
01 Jun 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I must admit I was not that impressed when I first saw Lost Vessels play at Crushfest, something they later admitted to me was the worst gig of their career, but since then they have improved in leaps and bounds. This has been noticed by others on the Auckland circuit as they are getting more opportunities with better support slots, and I was not at all surprised when they won the Ding Dong Lounge Battle Of The Bands in November last year.
Read More...
Unwanted Subject - Single Review: Sons of Savages
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
I have caught Unwanted Subject in concert a few times over the last couple of years, and while they have been getting better each time I have seen them, I must admit that nothing prepared me for this, which right from the off is a monster. I have never heard them quite this is aggressive, nor as polished, and this multi-sectioned single sounds almost like a different band as they have pushed their metal roots to the max in this metalcore beast which sees them mixing and blending different genres to create something quite special.
Read More...
Gig Review: Stray Dogs @ AUX, Auckland - 26/05/2023
28 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to Ding Dong Lounge on a Friday night for one of their infamous Emo nights, which tonight was a three-band bill with Stray Dogs having an extended set, supported by Altaea and then up first we had Blindr, a band new to me. Blindr are a quartet featuring Bill Caldwell (vocals, guitar), Blake Woodfield (lead guitar), Jack Power (bass), and Charlie McCracken (drums).
Read More...
Gig Review: Turkey The Bird @ The Ministry of Folk, Auckland - 27/05/2023
27 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back up to Auckland Guide Centre in Mount Eden tonight for my second consecutive gig (Sol suggested it was a turkey sandwich as I am at Vader tomorrow) to see Taranaki’s finest, Turkey The Bird at The Ministry of Folk. Before that we of course had Hoop, who are Al Baxter (vocals, guitar, harmonica, banjo, mandolin), Nick Edgar (vocals, guitar, ukulele, flute, harmonica), Emily Allen (violin, viola), Glenn Coldham (bass) while tonight Gary Hunt was filling in for drummer Rusty Knox.
Read More...
This Silent Divide - Single Review: Beautiful Creature
25 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based melodic hard rock quartet This Silent Divide, entitled Beautiful Creature. I really enjoyed their Tall Stories EP, and they played a great gig at Dead Witch towards the end of last year, and this would have been recorded at about the same time.
Read More...
Gig Review: Emily Rice @ Your Local Coffee Roasters, Pukekohe - 24/05/2023
24 May 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this week I had a message from Emily Rice asking me if I lived in South Auckland. When I responded I did, she asked if I would be interested in coming along to an event she was putting on in a coffee shop in Pukekohe to celebrate the release of her new single, Warenoa.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • TOO SWEET
    Hozier
  • BEAUTIFUL THINGS
    Benson Boone
  • LOSE CONTROL
    Teddy Swims
  • LIKE THAT
    Future And Metro Boomin feat. Kendrick Lamar
  • END OF BEGINNING
    Djo
  • I LIKE THE WAY YOU KISS ME
    Artemas
  • WE CAN'T BE FRIENDS (WAIT FOR YOUR LOVE)
    Ariana Grande
  • STICK SEASON
    Noah Kahan
  • TEXAS HOLD 'EM
    Beyonce
  • LEAVEMEALONE
    Fred Again.. And Baby Keem
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem