28 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grumblewood - Album Review: Stories of Strangers

25 Apr 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

A friend of mine in Cyprus put me onto this Wellington quartet who are signed to an English label, so I checked in with a Norwegian prog reviewer I work with to see if he had heard of them, and when he responded in the negative, I did not feel quite so bad. But I must confess to taking it personally if there is a progressive rock band in this part of the world of which I am unaware, given that I have spent more than 30 years singing the praises of the genre and bands within it. To find one releasing a debut as fine as this on my own doorstep yet again shows just deep the talent pool is here in Aotearoa for those prepared to spend the time and investigate.

Many bands within the prog scene have been influenced by the likes of Pink Floyd, Genesis, Gentle Giant or ELP, while others have made brave leaps into fusion or Canterbury, but there are few who have gone back to the late Sixties and investigated in early Jethro Tull and Uriah Heep and taken that as a starting point. Grumblewood have even moved forward a couple of years to bring in Horslips, but they have decided on the style of music they want to pursue, and they have developed their own form of prog folk with these bands as a base. Recorded in their analogue studio, I would have expected nothing less as this is music which belongs in the live environment or on vinyl, nowhere else.

The band comprise Gav Bromfeld (vocals, flute, acoustic guitar, piano),  Salvatore Richichi (guitars, mandolin, mandola, banjo), Morgan Jones (bass, bouzouki, harpsichord) and Phil Aldridge (drums, percussion, backing vocals). It is very easy to say that if there is a flute then they must sound like Jethro Tull if they are playing prog, but even if the flute had been missing, I would still have said that these guys make me think of ‘Benefit’, so long before that band became more commercial. There is also that freedom I associate with very early Uriah Heep, before they also became a major band, while there are also those Horslips elements, although they are approaching folk more from the English style than the Celtic. Some may remember Red Jasper, who made quite a name for themselves in the 90’s scene, but Grumblewood are earthier and far more grounded, bringing in rock guitars as opposed to metal.

I would expect them to be somewhat heavier in the live environment, and I do wonder if the band will continue as they are or if they will expand as there are too many instruments for that many hands. But in the studio, they make full use of what is available, so while drums/guitar/bass/flute/vocals tend to be the mainstay of the band, the use of small touches of banjo or bouzouki here and there really does make a difference. Often it is the highly melodic bass and drums that provide the platform, with guitars coming in here and there, with flute also providing quick bursts of melody (much cleaner and with less vocal ad libs than Anderson). It is the bass which really sets the scene, as Morgan has a wonderful touch and obviously sees his role more of a lead musician than a foundation, which allows the rest to play in a quite different manner. Vocally Gav does have Ian Anderson elements, but there is also plenty of Charles O'Connor, as his voice is somewhat deeper, and he is less vocally flamboyant.

There will be those who will argue that Grumblewood are a tremendously regressive band as opposed to progressive, yet that is true about many, and they are pursuing a particular sub-genre of prog that is not often approached these days, so they really are putting themselves out on a limb and I commend them for it. I look forward to catching these guys at a gig when they make it up to Auckland, but until then I am going to keep playing and enjoying this superb debut.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Grumblewood

Grumblewood are a quartet that hail from in and around Wellington, New Zealand. Inspired by the electric folk and progressive rock movements of the early 70s, their music draws from folk tradition and blends it with a bit of baroque, a bit of jazz, and a lot of rock.

The band formed in late 2016 and have been building a repertoire of inventive songs and a reputation for impressive performances ever since. Much of 2018 and 2019 were spend in their home-built analogue studio and the resulting recordings led to the band being signed by UK progressive rock label Gravity Dream in 2020.

Grumblewood’s debut album Stories of Strangers was released in November 2020 and features eight tales of fortune and fable, daring and demise. It was recorded, mixed, and mastered using only vintage analogue equipment and production techniques for that authentic early 70's sound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Grumblewood

Releases

Stories of Strangers
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Plum Green - Album Review: Somnambulist
25 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Born in a squat in England, raised in New Zealand, and presently residing in Melbourne, here we have the latest release from dream folk artist Plum Green. I have not previously come across any of her other albums, but somehow, I can see I need to undertake some investigations as this is a very special album indeed.
Read More...
Diehards of Deep Dish - Album Review: Traditional Speciality Guaranteed
25 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is a long history of band members using pseudonyms, with Ramones probably being the most famous, and here we have a band who use pseudonyms for their pseudonyms, so we have Cheese (Joey Provolone), Tomato (Ryley Base), Wheat (Beef Richards), Mushrooms (Mattzarella Gibson) and Herbs (Herbie Handcooked). I thought Cafe Fistfight had probably taken the foodie elements to the extreme with songs such as King Hit Quiche, but here we have six songs all aimed at the pizza lovers among us.
Read More...
Power The Light - Single Review: Snowing
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Power The Light is Max Roskilly, an 18-year-old musician who is based in Auckland , and has been self-releasing music for the last four years already, including the album Blueprints a while back. This is his second single in recent months, following on from Skys where he showed an interest more in krautrock than in is normal indie-jazz style.
Read More...
Single Review: Glass Throne
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Glass Throne are an Auckland-based power trio comprising Justin Robinson (lead vocals, bass, guitar), Owen McKibbin (guitar, organ, backing vocals) and Daniel Cutfield (drums, percussion, backing vocals). I have managed to catch them play live a few times over the last year, and what always strikes me is just how different they are to the rest of the local scene, coming through as a mix of classic Seventies hard rock, progressive and modern alt rock.
Read More...
On Tick - Single Review: Nothing New
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Tick is the brainchild of brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar), and was formed from the ashes of their previous musical outfit, Evil Tomato, who began as a band in 2012. They came across 5-string bassist Matt Hammond when they heard the demoes for Black Sands, which he not only produced but played on, and he joined forces to work with them on the album and to allow them to play in the Ding Dong Battle of the Bands.
Read More...
Ravenhall - EP Review: The Coming Storm
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Ravenhall were formed by guitarist Joe Ravenhall and singer Chris Brebner in 2015. They were both already veterans of the Auckland scene, and wanted to perform music which concentrated on the power of acoustic guitar, wonderful vocals, plus some gentle electronic backing, and that is certainly what we have here.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem