12 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grumblewood - Album Review: Stories of Strangers

25 Apr 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

A friend of mine in Cyprus put me onto this Wellington quartet who are signed to an English label, so I checked in with a Norwegian prog reviewer I work with to see if he had heard of them, and when he responded in the negative, I did not feel quite so bad. But I must confess to taking it personally if there is a progressive rock band in this part of the world of which I am unaware, given that I have spent more than 30 years singing the praises of the genre and bands within it. To find one releasing a debut as fine as this on my own doorstep yet again shows just deep the talent pool is here in Aotearoa for those prepared to spend the time and investigate.

Many bands within the prog scene have been influenced by the likes of Pink Floyd, Genesis, Gentle Giant or ELP, while others have made brave leaps into fusion or Canterbury, but there are few who have gone back to the late Sixties and investigated in early Jethro Tull and Uriah Heep and taken that as a starting point. Grumblewood have even moved forward a couple of years to bring in Horslips, but they have decided on the style of music they want to pursue, and they have developed their own form of prog folk with these bands as a base. Recorded in their analogue studio, I would have expected nothing less as this is music which belongs in the live environment or on vinyl, nowhere else.

The band comprise Gav Bromfeld (vocals, flute, acoustic guitar, piano),  Salvatore Richichi (guitars, mandolin, mandola, banjo), Morgan Jones (bass, bouzouki, harpsichord) and Phil Aldridge (drums, percussion, backing vocals). It is very easy to say that if there is a flute then they must sound like Jethro Tull if they are playing prog, but even if the flute had been missing, I would still have said that these guys make me think of ‘Benefit’, so long before that band became more commercial. There is also that freedom I associate with very early Uriah Heep, before they also became a major band, while there are also those Horslips elements, although they are approaching folk more from the English style than the Celtic. Some may remember Red Jasper, who made quite a name for themselves in the 90’s scene, but Grumblewood are earthier and far more grounded, bringing in rock guitars as opposed to metal.

I would expect them to be somewhat heavier in the live environment, and I do wonder if the band will continue as they are or if they will expand as there are too many instruments for that many hands. But in the studio, they make full use of what is available, so while drums/guitar/bass/flute/vocals tend to be the mainstay of the band, the use of small touches of banjo or bouzouki here and there really does make a difference. Often it is the highly melodic bass and drums that provide the platform, with guitars coming in here and there, with flute also providing quick bursts of melody (much cleaner and with less vocal ad libs than Anderson). It is the bass which really sets the scene, as Morgan has a wonderful touch and obviously sees his role more of a lead musician than a foundation, which allows the rest to play in a quite different manner. Vocally Gav does have Ian Anderson elements, but there is also plenty of Charles O'Connor, as his voice is somewhat deeper, and he is less vocally flamboyant.

There will be those who will argue that Grumblewood are a tremendously regressive band as opposed to progressive, yet that is true about many, and they are pursuing a particular sub-genre of prog that is not often approached these days, so they really are putting themselves out on a limb and I commend them for it. I look forward to catching these guys at a gig when they make it up to Auckland, but until then I am going to keep playing and enjoying this superb debut.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Grumblewood

Grumblewood are a quartet that hail from in and around Wellington, New Zealand. Inspired by the electric folk and progressive rock movements of the early 70s, their music draws from folk tradition and blends it with a bit of baroque, a bit of jazz, and a lot of rock.

The band formed in late 2016 and have been building a repertoire of inventive songs and a reputation for impressive performances ever since. Much of 2018 and 2019 were spend in their home-built analogue studio and the resulting recordings led to the band being signed by UK progressive rock label Gravity Dream in 2020.

Grumblewood’s debut album Stories of Strangers was released in November 2020 and features eight tales of fortune and fable, daring and demise. It was recorded, mixed, and mastered using only vintage analogue equipment and production techniques for that authentic early 70's sound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Grumblewood

Releases

Stories of Strangers
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Beastwars with Earth Tongue and Demons of Noon @ Powerstation, Auckland - 08/05/2021
09 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I was a little concerned when I made my way to the Powerstation just 15 minutes before the doors were due to open, as there was no-one else there! A quick check of the billboard confirmed I was in the right place on the right date, but possibly this was somewhat indicative of the poor weather combined with so many great gigs on tonight.
Read More...
Emily Rice - EP Review: Auhua
06 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Over the last few months Emily Rice has been building up to the release of this EP, and of the six songs included on Auaha (which means to shape, create, form, fashion), four have already been released as singles, and I have reviewed three of them myself, so the EP feels already very much like an old friend, but for anyone yet to come across Emily and her work then this is a wonderful place to start. I first came across Emily and her husband in the wonderful folk duo Aro, but here her music is far more dance oriented as she brings in lots of different styles such as soft jazz, RnB, dub, and even a little touch of folk, but always with her wonderful vocals front and centre.
Read More...
Living State - Single Review: One Sided
04 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Whenever I hear anyone bemoaning the state of music on the radio, I tell them to get out to places like Ding Dong and actually live and breathe what is really going on in the scene, not what some people just want to tell you. Last Saturday I was there at yet another gig, and while I was having a chat with one of the musicians a guy came up and joined in.
Read More...
Stealphish - Single Review: Auri
04 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Cafe Fistfight guitarist Josh Barker in his alter ego as Stealphish. The only other person involved on this recording is his wife Nicole who provides piano for the first 35 seconds of the nearly 7-minute-long song.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Water Went Away
03 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Proud Coromandel boy Dan Sharp is back with his latest EP, Water Went Away, and I can only concur with Corinne’s review of his last EP, Slack Tide, in that we really need an album! This collection of five songs loosely follows through the various stages of a breakup and the significant life changes that happen as part of that such as moving to a new house, moving town, being unable to access certain things, wondering what was going to happen next etc.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pencarrow @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/05/2021
02 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I have lost count of how many times I have been to Ding Dong in the last year, I think it is somewhere between “lots” and “loads”, so consequently it is starting to feel very much like a place where every barman knows my name (and what I drink). I have been looking forward to catching Pencarrow since I came across their debut album Growth In The Absence of Light which was released last year.
Read More...
Gig Review: BOTB Winners Tour with Big Tasty & guests @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 30/04/2021
01 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Back off to the Anthology Lounge for a 4-band bill, which I was really looking forward to. It was going to be the first time I had seen Cafe Fistfight in a while, I had heard good things about The Minnehahas (and I know drummer Neo from White Noise Mafia), I had reviewed the album by The RVMES while this was the last night of the tour for BOTB winners Big Tasty so it was all set for a great session.
Read More...
JoshDannMusic - Single Review: Just For A Moment
29 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Josh Dann is a Hamilton-based multi-instrumentalist whose musical journey started at the age of eleven when he was inspired to pick up an instrument when he heard someone playing a clarinet. Since then, he has also taken up other instruments such as saxophone, piano and bass, and his latest single finds him playing all instruments apart from drums, which are provided by Luke Rodgers.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • BODY
    Russ Millions And Tion Wayne
  • YOUR POWER
    Billie Eilish
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem