25 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Grumblewood - Album Review: Stories of Strangers

25 Apr 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

A friend of mine in Cyprus put me onto this Wellington quartet who are signed to an English label, so I checked in with a Norwegian prog reviewer I work with to see if he had heard of them, and when he responded in the negative, I did not feel quite so bad. But I must confess to taking it personally if there is a progressive rock band in this part of the world of which I am unaware, given that I have spent more than 30 years singing the praises of the genre and bands within it. To find one releasing a debut as fine as this on my own doorstep yet again shows just deep the talent pool is here in Aotearoa for those prepared to spend the time and investigate.

Many bands within the prog scene have been influenced by the likes of Pink Floyd, Genesis, Gentle Giant or ELP, while others have made brave leaps into fusion or Canterbury, but there are few who have gone back to the late Sixties and investigated in early Jethro Tull and Uriah Heep and taken that as a starting point. Grumblewood have even moved forward a couple of years to bring in Horslips, but they have decided on the style of music they want to pursue, and they have developed their own form of prog folk with these bands as a base. Recorded in their analogue studio, I would have expected nothing less as this is music which belongs in the live environment or on vinyl, nowhere else.

The band comprise Gav Bromfeld (vocals, flute, acoustic guitar, piano),  Salvatore Richichi (guitars, mandolin, mandola, banjo), Morgan Jones (bass, bouzouki, harpsichord) and Phil Aldridge (drums, percussion, backing vocals). It is very easy to say that if there is a flute then they must sound like Jethro Tull if they are playing prog, but even if the flute had been missing, I would still have said that these guys make me think of ‘Benefit’, so long before that band became more commercial. There is also that freedom I associate with very early Uriah Heep, before they also became a major band, while there are also those Horslips elements, although they are approaching folk more from the English style than the Celtic. Some may remember Red Jasper, who made quite a name for themselves in the 90’s scene, but Grumblewood are earthier and far more grounded, bringing in rock guitars as opposed to metal.

I would expect them to be somewhat heavier in the live environment, and I do wonder if the band will continue as they are or if they will expand as there are too many instruments for that many hands. But in the studio, they make full use of what is available, so while drums/guitar/bass/flute/vocals tend to be the mainstay of the band, the use of small touches of banjo or bouzouki here and there really does make a difference. Often it is the highly melodic bass and drums that provide the platform, with guitars coming in here and there, with flute also providing quick bursts of melody (much cleaner and with less vocal ad libs than Anderson). It is the bass which really sets the scene, as Morgan has a wonderful touch and obviously sees his role more of a lead musician than a foundation, which allows the rest to play in a quite different manner. Vocally Gav does have Ian Anderson elements, but there is also plenty of Charles O'Connor, as his voice is somewhat deeper, and he is less vocally flamboyant.

There will be those who will argue that Grumblewood are a tremendously regressive band as opposed to progressive, yet that is true about many, and they are pursuing a particular sub-genre of prog that is not often approached these days, so they really are putting themselves out on a limb and I commend them for it. I look forward to catching these guys at a gig when they make it up to Auckland, but until then I am going to keep playing and enjoying this superb debut.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Grumblewood

Grumblewood are a quartet that hail from in and around Wellington, New Zealand. Inspired by the electric folk and progressive rock movements of the early 70s, their music draws from folk tradition and blends it with a bit of baroque, a bit of jazz, and a lot of rock.

The band formed in late 2016 and have been building a repertoire of inventive songs and a reputation for impressive performances ever since. Much of 2018 and 2019 were spend in their home-built analogue studio and the resulting recordings led to the band being signed by UK progressive rock label Gravity Dream in 2020.

Grumblewood’s debut album Stories of Strangers was released in November 2020 and features eight tales of fortune and fable, daring and demise. It was recorded, mixed, and mastered using only vintage analogue equipment and production techniques for that authentic early 70's sound.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Grumblewood

Releases

Stories of Strangers
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Claemus - Album Review: Daydream
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When I heard that Hutt Valley band Claemus had released their debut album I was immediately intrigued, as I came across the single Hedonist a few months ago, and given the number of influences and styles they had managed to ram into 5 minutes what could they do with a full album? These guys have managed to secure support slots with bands as diverse as P.
Read More...
Kevin Posey - EP Review: The Story of Francis
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Oklahoma native Kevin Posey lives in Auckland these days, and throughout his musical career he has investigated different types and styles of music, and for this EP he has moved into yet another area, as what we have here is classical music that has been inspired by Halloween and psychological thrillers. Some, such as Fog Forest No.
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: I'm Ready
21 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is Jolandi Ford’s third single since moving to Aotearoa from her native South Africa, and right from the first note one can why she has already been making a dent in international Country music charts. Although her voice is lighter in some ways, with a nice twang, her approach is quite reminiscent to the more rock-based approach of the likes of Shania Twain.
Read More...
Eurenza - EP Review: Good Luck... You're Gonna Need It
19 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Eurenza were originally formed seven years ago as Timeless, but eventually decided to go with a more uncommon name, and now have delivered their first five-track EP. Interestingly, much of this was recorded some time ago in preparation for an album, but they instead decided to go with the strongest tracks instead and cut it back.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Bring You Down
17 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Sam Bartells is back with his new single Bring You Down, which finds him taking quite a different approach to Where We'll Go, which also featured Mema Wilda. Whereas he normally sits quite happily within alt country, here we see him using that as a base and then moving in a much rockier direction.
Read More...
Jenny Mitchell - Single Review: Trouble Finds A Girl with Tami Neilson
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Auckland Folk Festival earlier this year was an embarrassment of riches, with so many great Kiwi artists playing multiple sets, and I spent the weekend trying to soak in as much as possible. There is no doubt that one of the highlights was Jenny Mitchell, who with her sisters Nicola and Maegan, provided warm and emotional country music in a style which seemed very much at odds with her age.
Read More...
Bianca Rae - Single Review: Flower
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when the music world is very small indeed, which is why earlier this year I found myself at The Portland Public House in Auckland to see a singer-songwriter, having been put in contact by a fellow reviewer who is in the UK. Even though Bianca Rae was the support, and everything was running late, she refused to let anything get to her, and I thoroughly enjoyed her set.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Green Cones
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from the single Pay, which I reviewed a few months back, Blue River Baby (BRBB) are back with the second single from their second album, which is due next year. We find them moving much more into a dub style, with Ree Thomson’s wonderfully clear vocals very much the centre of attention.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem