28 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Silas Futura - EP Review: Pluto

21 Apr 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The new EP Pluto from Silas Futura feels like a tip of the hat to Hip-Hop, with its roots coming from Jazz and all the breaks that bought together that style.

On the opening track Care, the time signature plays games with you but that is fine because you won't really notice. It's smooth and sets up the rest of the EP and what to expect sonically. But what you actually get is really a tour through hip-hop that is infused with funk.

There is plenty of offer here that appeals to me. A couple of things being the way the recording sounds, the instrumentation and the feel that comes from each cut. By about the 3rd track, the EP really knows what it wants to sound like yet keeps offering surprises like on Best Side and then going into Breathe. It is an EP that would sound absolutely incredible live.

Overall, the quality of musicianship here paired with the wonderful cadence, flow and delivery of the rhymes here make this an EP that you can either stick on in the background and everyone would groove to, or even better, sit back and listen to with full awareness.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Silas Futura

Silas McClintock, A.K.A. Silas Futura grew up in the sleepy town of Warkworth, North of Tamaki Makaurau, Aotearoa. Homeschooled alongside his siblings by his Mother, Silas was given an unconventional upbringing, where he was exposed to music by both his parents at an early age. His first experiences with performance were formed here, busking outside the local supermarkets with friends.

In 2016, he began taking music seriously under the name, Bobandii. The ‘Bobandii’ project was heavily influenced by Hip-Hop & Rap, and Silas continued to make projects under that name until late 2019. Over time, Silas found himself moving towards Jazz, Funk, Soul and RnB influences.

With a love for Sci-Fi, he began experimenting with a fictional character - a Plutonian based in a future where humans have populated the solar system. The same systematic problems that we experience in today's culture are prevalent in Silas' fictional world, and inequality has become an even more overwhelming force. For Silas, this created a safe space to challenge present day issues within the world and himself. Over time, he gained enough confidence to integrate his own truth and personal story into this new sound. For Silas, a move in this direction was a move toward transparency and authenticity for himself as an artist, and where Silas Futura fully emerged.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Silas Futura

Releases

Pluto
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Cking - Single/Video Review: No Snakes Feat. Dilz
21 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Cking is the Brisbane-based, New Zealand-bred rapper who’s eclectic catalogue of hits has seen him share the stage with everyone from T-Pain to Kerser, and now, he’s linked up with fellow NZ emcee Dilz for a hard-hitting banger, No Snakes. Cking and Dilz each come lyrically strapped with passionate and emotive verses, matching the energy of the rapid-fire, earth-rattling production alongside them.
Read More...
Dallas Harvey - Single Review: Patience
20 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland City’s up and coming Hip-Hop artist Dallas Harvey is a breath of fresh air with his honest lyricism, piecing his life together through story-telling and music. Mentored by the likes of Church from Church & AP, Chris RL and Melodownz, Dallas has built a well-versed understanding of self throughout his development at Te Karanga Navigators songwriting and production sessions.
Read More...
Ms.Take - Single Review: Maybe That's Just What I Am
11 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The dystopian Trap Jam Maybe That's Just What I Am is the second official single from Ms.Take, a follow up to 2018's Silver & Gold, and a 2020 lockdown collaboration with Melbourne-based artist F.
Read More...
Y$O - EP Review: Young And Slept On
05 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O. Note that down.
Read More...
Louis Ross - Single Review: Here To Help
27 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Local Tauranga DJ and Producer Louis Ross has created a new song Here to Help to bring awareness to mental health issues ahead of Mental Health Awareness Week. After losing his father and Grandma within a few months of each other and navigating his way through loss and grief, Louis is combining his own mental health struggles with his love of music to help others.
Read More...
BrokeBoi Ace - Single Review: Watered Down Dreamz
15 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Oh man. I like this.
Read More...
Sam V - Single/Video Review: Wired
10 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Sam V's newest track Wired is another demonstration of how Sam keeps refining his sound. His vision has been getting more focused over time, based on his previous tracks like Cotton Candy which is actually a Y$O track, and Up Up Down.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Strange Fruits
08 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
InDuna's approach to Hip-Hop/Rap is something that listeners should pay attention to. It fits into what kind of feels as almost progressive in regards to the styles it compasses.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem