19 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hawkins - Album Review: Hawkins

21 Apr 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Yep. I knew that voice immediately.

Hawkins debut album simply called Hawkins is a true love letter to the music that Victor Hawkins-Sulfa has grown up with and loves dearly. You can tell. Every song here is filled with incredible detail, both from a musical standpoint in regards to the instrumentation, but also to the nuance and production quality. To try and pigeon hole his style for the sake of genre would be an insult. For example, we get belting ballads at times, and then on the track Can't Leave It Alone, it's like a tribute to the style that Kimbra really owns on her song Can't Into My Head.

Overall, there is so much here to digest that it requires a few listens to really appreciate the sheer amount of love for songwriting. What Have You Done, while simple with its guitar backing allows for Victor to sing in so many ways, perfectly captured and reproduced in the recording. The dynamics really bring the music to life.  This is my favourite track on the album for so many reasons, but I don't want to tell you why. I want you to experience it.

And that is what I remember about Victor. I got to hear and see him perform at the University of Auckland.  And to be honest, it makes me want to get back to hearing and seeing his music live again. That is how I immediately knew that voice. It's so unique, full of passion and honesty. I can feel it all over this album.

I highly recommend this album.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Hawkins

Hawkins is no stranger to the stage. Having spent the best part of the last 15 years wowing audiences across Aotearoa with his unmistakable and incomparable voice, he is now embarking on a new and exciting journey with the release of his debut full-length album.

Hawkins, who is of Maori, Pasifika, European and African descent, went to school in Papatoetoe and spend his childhood between the south Auckland suburb and Taumarunui in the King Country.

Growing up in a musical family, Hawkins’ path in music was paved from an early age. “As a kid, music was my escapism. I fell in love with the concepts and stories conveyed through song,” he says.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hawkins

Releases

Hawkins
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

D.Matthews - Single Review: Melanin Skin
29 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Melanin Skin is a new single from Auckland-based Nigerian singer-songwriter, D.Matthews (aka David Matthews) who has curated his own brand of energetic calm Afrobeat/Afropop.
Read More...
Silas Futura - EP Review: Pluto
21 Apr 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new EP Pluto from Silas Futura feels like a tip of the hat to Hip-Hop, with its roots coming from Jazz and all the breaks that bought together that style.On the opening track Care, the time signature plays games with you but that is fine because you won't really notice.
Read More...
Alders - Single Review: Hounds
23 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Alders, Hounds, is quite a fun time alright! With a feel that seems inspired by the likes of Smash Mouth's Astro Lounge, The Dandy Warhols and 60's psychedelic pop-rock.
Read More...
Aidan Fine - Single Review: CLV
21 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Quick fire rapid lyrics. That’s what I like here.
Read More...
Swerve City @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 13/03/2021
14 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
It's a packed house. That's for sure.
Read More...
Keeley Shade - Single Review: On My Mind
11 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
On My Mind is a perfect example of how simple ideas can become fleshed out to provide the listener an experience worth repeating.Keeley Shade, a Canadian-born New Zealand-based singer-songwriter is releasing her debut single On My Mind.
Read More...
James Loan - EP Review: The Loan To Society
10 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
James Loan is a new young Rap/Drill artist that at only age 16 has just released his EP, The Loan To Society. I commend this effort.
Read More...
JAN - Single Review: Wud?
06 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Wud? is a new track from JAN featuring Anna Bennetto and Sam Higham.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • I N T E R L U D E
    J. Cole
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem