4 Aug 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Sidewinder - Single Review: Sirens

19 Apr 2021 // A review by David McGurk

"It feels like I’m dying" is a heavy statement to open your band’s first recorded song with; the lyric hangs momentarily in a swamp of muted guitar before the big opening riff of Sirens confirms that heaviness is what Sidewinder are all about. Singer Jason Curtis unleashes a throaty “Heyeah” as a fuzz of guitar somewhere between grunge and stoner rock hammers down. I’m a sucker for a grotty riff, and you can practically hear the grime on the guitar strings.

This is not sensible music - it’s balls-to-the-wall black jeans and sticky floors music. I’ve spent enough nights in Valhalla to recognise the sounds and smells Wellington’s heavy rock scene, and Sidewinder fit neatly in. Sirens proves that these five lads are off to a beefy start. There are echoes of Alice in Chains and Kyuss in the mix. There is also a touch of Wellington’s Beastwars present in the big choruses – not surprising since both acts have recorded with engineer James Goldsmith.

Radio-friendly structure is always smart, as is the case here, but occasionally it’s nice to hear a slightly left-field aspect of the composition deviating from the established rules. In one such unexpected diversion there is an almost nu-metal moment of a gated delayed guitar just before the first verse kicks in. I hope that I’ll hear the band breaking more of these structural norms as they release more music. The riffs, rhythm and hooks are there already.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Sidewinder

Formed in October 2020, Sidewinder are a new combination of experienced Wellington based musicians. They play a groove laden brand of bluesy desert rock with a grungy, southern rock twist.

Their energetic live shows have been very well received by fans and fellow musicians alike.

Early 2021 Sidewinder have been in the studio recording their first set of singles and will be releasing them with accompanying tours over the course of the year.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Sidewinder

Releases

There are no releases to display for Sidewinder.

Other Reviews By David McGurk

Gig Review: Wax Chattels @ San Fran, Wellington - 18/06/2021
20 Jun 2021 // by David McGurk
Starting almost right on time – not quite as precise as the militant time slots enforced at the now-closed ‘Puppies’ but closer than you would normally expect in Wellington – Soft Plastics took the stage. It took me a little while to get it.
Read More...
Keeley Shade - EP Review: Give Me Time
27 May 2021 // by David McGurk
While researching this review I was baffled to see that Keeley Shade’s Facebook page only had ~160 likes. I find it hard to understand why somebody with this much talent doesn’t command legions of fans, but I expect that her gorgeous new 5-track EP Give Me Time will win her a few more.
Read More...
The Flaming Bridges - EP Review: Water/Sand
09 May 2021 // by David McGurk
It only took two weeks for Matt Schobs to write and record Water/Sand, a collection of sombre folk songs that walk a line between past defeats and unknown futures. It’s Schobs’ second release under the name The Flaming Bridges and was written at the point where his life as steam punk in Oamaru collapsed and, in his own words, “lay in ruins.
Read More...
Hummucide - Single Review: Exothermic Feat. Luca Sturny
06 May 2021 // by David McGurk
Hummucide’s 2020 self-titled EP was a collection of older pieces written by the group in high school. It highlighted the quality of the musicianship but felt more like a collection of reigned-in jam sessions than precise compositions.
Read More...
View All Articles By David McGurk

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem