19 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dr.Reknaw - Gig Review: Dr.Reknaw @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 16/04/2021

19 Apr 2021 // A review by Lou Clement

Epic eight-piece, Dr.Reknaw, took to the stage at Anthology Lounge on a wet Friday evening for their only Auckland gig. They are on their Rektified tour, debuting their first album of the same title. Anthology Lounge was sold out, and first up was support act Strangely Arousing.

Shortly after I arrived, Strangely Arousing broke into a trumpet solo. I would usually eschew brass, perhaps I'm ignorant, but it’s not an instrument that lulls the mind, it sticks out. However, in this band’s hands and with their blend of genres, it was positively resplendent, joyful and radiated across the sweaty crowd who bounced and danced in exuberant unison. What an act they were, the crowd was positively buzzing.

We eagerly awaited the arrival of Dr.Reknaw, one by one they filtered on, until the orchestral-like-ensemble had filled the small stage. All dressed in lab coats, we were immediately reassured. It seemed like musicians with authority were ready to hold our hands and 'rektify' all that might be wrong. It was an almighty noise, clattering, jostling notes, transcending genres we were in the safe hands of Dr.Reknaw.

Poor puns aside, the band stand out for their solos, particularly their guitarist, who stood in the back corner but who absolutely stood out when given the spotlight. The lyricists were sultry, seductive and added to the performative punch of a multifaceted musical endeavour that hopefully will go for strength to strength. I'm definitely an advocate for Dr.Reknaw after this performance.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

Rektified
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Earthly Delights
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Lou Clement

OddJive - Album Review: Hell Yeah Nah
31 May 2021 // by Lou Clement
Multi-genre mining act OddJive released their second album in May 2021, and the release is accompanied by vibrant, beautiful artwork by Alex Hoare. Titled Hell Yeah Nah, it is birthed by the five members of the band and promoted as a work created with the ongoing support of friends and family.
Read More...
Gig Review: Merk @ Cassette 9, Auckland - 15/05/2021
18 May 2021 // by Lou Clement
Merk is Mark Perkins and he played alongside four accompanying musicians for this his first headline tour, celebrating the recent release of his second album Infinite Youth.The first date of his tour was at Auckland’s Cassette 9, nestled above Vulcan Lane on a busy Saturday night.
Read More...
Dr.Reknaw - Album Review: Rektified
14 Apr 2021 // by Lou Clement
Dr.Reknaw are an eight-piece psychedelic group who happily straddle genres: funk, soul, hip-hop and dub.
Read More...
Something Zesty - Album Review: Funk’t Up
06 Mar 2021 // by Lou Clement
Something Zesty is a musical project from solo-artist Iain Chamberlain and Funk’t Up, released in early 2021, is his debut album. It offers a mix of easy going funk riffs and enjoyable guitar-infused tracks overlaid with urban vocals.
Read More...
Single Review: Cherry Blind
16 Dec 2020 // by Lou Clement
Cherry Blind's new single; a pace, energy and a dash of screamo. I recently attended a punk-weekender: two days of what seemed like seven minute sets, where there were really only fans and no bystanders and bands that moved from one song to the next as quickly as the flip of a pancake.
Read More...
Gig Review: Avantdale Bowling Club @ Hollywood Avondale, Auckland - 23/10/2020
25 Oct 2020 // by Lou Clement
Multi-genre bending Avantdale Bowling Club played to a sold out crowd, breaking in, what seemed like the first long weekend in a very long time, at them Hollywood Avondale. Their most recent release, earlier in 2020 was LIVE, it does what it says on the tin.
Read More...
Gig Review: Racing @ Whammy Bar, Auckland - 31/07/2020
02 Aug 2020 // by Lou Clement
Racing took to the stage on the penultimate date of their Flashback tour. The four-date stop off comes ahead of their highly-anticipated second album release.
Read More...
Yumi Zouma - Album Review: Truth or Consequences
30 Mar 2020 // by Lou Clement
Yumi Zouma are a four-piece band who formed in New Zealand and have seen international success with their brand of dreamy beach pop – effortlessly upbeat and post-party feels. It’s music that I can always put on my playlist repeat loop.
Read More...
View All Articles By Lou Clement

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem