25 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Oh Sweet Nothings - Single Review: Shinbone

15 Apr 2021 // A review by Bethany Mountford

Poneke based Oh Sweet Nothings' new track Shinbone is exciting from the start. It is the first release to follow their debut EP Emergency Procedures, released in 2019.  

The big anticipatory and crunchy intro sets the song up well with piqued interest and volume turned up. It feels like something brewing that you wish you’d known about way earlier, like a tsunami warning. The start of the verse is dark and heavy and becomes somewhat washy around a minute in. It seemed like the brittle beginnings eroded to form this softer, blurry sound.

I wish this track had more crunch but maybe if it did, the existing crunch wouldn’t be so satisfying.  

The drums are tight and consistent throughout. The lyrics are hard to decipher above the echo which makes for a pleasant, unspecific haze. Lead singer Aeron Glasgow Keene says, “it’s the feeling of waiting for the ‘right time’ to start, while navigating the accompanying existential dread and artistic self-doubt,”. More specifically, the song contains the notion of living with a big dream in a small country on the edge of the world.

I can’t wait to see the video too.  

The single release at Valhalla on April 17, 2021 (with support from Androgynous Lemon) will be a gig worth going to!

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Oh Sweet Nothings

Oh Sweet Nothings are a Wellington-based indie/post-alternative/post-post-punk 3-sometimes-4-piece band, known for their whimsical and off-kilter approach to song-writing, as well as their erratic live performances.

Having spent many years lurking at the fringes of the Wellington underground scene, OSN are currently on the rise up out of obscurity and fast becoming prominent members of the music community.

Their debut EP, Emergency Procedures, due for release on October 17th, is the result of refining 4 years of chaotic bedroom jam sessions into a coherent sneak peak into a surreal and overblown auditory world, inhabited by dark truths and repressed desires.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Oh Sweet Nothings

Releases

The Math
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Emergency Procedures
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Bethany Mountford

Lunavela - Single Review: Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend
21 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I'm not gonna lie; Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend was stuck in my head for a solid week after I listened to it for the first time – so be warned. Perhaps the reason it stuck so solidly in my head was that I kept finding myself in the painfully mundane and tricky situations that it laments.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Africa
10 Sep 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
One thing is for sure. Wellington is not warm enough to do this song justice.
Read More...
Samuel Gaskin - Single/Video Review: Reckoning
31 Aug 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Reckoning is a new single and video release from Samuel Gaskin that follows in the wake of his stage production by the same name. New Zealand born and now based in Melbourne, Gaskin intertwines his own roots and the roots of his current placing in this video, with a cast of 20 First Nations Aboriginal and Maori performers.
Read More...
GiGi Genie - Single Review: The Phoenix
19 Aug 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Wow! I knew this track would be something else before I even listened to it.
Read More...
EP Review: Bluey Green
08 Jul 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
July 9, 2021, sees the first ever release of Bluey Green – the self-titled EP. As I sometimes do with reviews, I dived right into this EP before reading about, or even having heard of Bluey Green, and nothing could have been a more fitting description than the wavering, reflective shine of the ocean that the name alone evokes.
Read More...
Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons - Album Review: Everything Is As It Shouldn't Be
21 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
Everything Is As It Shouldn’t Be is the latest release from Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons, and boy it is a wild ride. The album takes self-proclaimed inspiration from “Bob-Dylan, Talking Heads, Claude Debussy, Velvet Underground and Radiohead,” so I went in with eclectic expectations.
Read More...
Gig Review: Oh Sweet Nothings @ Valhalla, Wellington - 06/06/2021
09 Jun 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
I’m not sure what I expected, but last Sunday’s Oh Sweet Nothings album release party painted a very interesting scene at Valhalla. The following day, Monday, was to be Queen’s birthday bank holiday and town was consequently busier than the usual Sunday, littered with drunkards and litter.
Read More...
Renée Therése - Single Review: The Train Man
22 Apr 2021 // by Bethany Mountford
The Train Man is the third single from the album Better With Friends by Renée Therése, due to be released in May. The song tells the tale of a passionate train driver, dutiful and modest, a real working-class man.
Read More...
View All Articles By Bethany Mountford

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem