8 Dec 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The RVMES - Album Review: Lifetime

14 Apr 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

The RVMES (pronounced “rooms”) are back with a ten-track release entitled Lifetime, following from their 9-track self-titled EP in 2019, plus numerous singles. Here we have a band who are determined not to sit within any particular genre, and while much of what they perform could fall under the banners of indie, alternative, pop and/or psychedelic, they bring much more than that into the mix. They commence with the title cut, a staccato slice of psych pop which also brings in classic Split Enz, and one can really imagine the Finn brothers having fun with this. Then they go into What You’re Thinking, which is Seventies soul with some disco influences which also hits alt rock, and I was starting to get quite confused as to what they were trying to achieve. A few more numbers in and I finally got my head around it all, in that what they are trying to do is exactly what they want which means the album is a mix of many different styles and genres as they refuse to conform. I jumped over to Bandcamp to see if they had given the album some tags, and I was able to see they describe it as “alternative, alternative indie rock, indie alternative rock, indie pop rock, soul, blues, gypsy jazz, psychedelic and rock 'n' roll” (“Auckland” is not a musical genre, wonder what that would sound like?). From this we can discern they are three times alternative and thrice indie, but nowhere do they reference just how annoyingly catchy they are on songs like Self Control, which has really twee tongue in cheek lyrics, yet one cannot help but joining in on the “oohs” on the chorus.

The first time I played the album I was fairly sure I was not a fan, on the second it was starting to warm on me, and by the third time through I knew that this was actually a load of fun. This is not music to be taken overtly seriously but is about creating a good time vibe and making the listener smile even if they are not really sure they want to. Singer/guitarist Edwin Judd grounds every song, while musically the band goes off on different tangents, with his vocals sometimes the only item which keeps the album feeling as such. These guys do not take themselves at all seriously, they create the party vibe and want everyone to get down with what they are doing and enjoying themselves, and isn’t that really what music is supposed to be about? Album closer Big Bam Boom has silly hooks, a daft chorus, but it is all wrapped in a solid psychedelic poptastic bow so again the listener just wants to join in.

This is a fun album, and I hope this is a strong indication of how they sound in concert as I am really looking forward to catching them in a few weeks’ time when they are playing with BOTB winners Big Tasty, Cafe Fistfight and The Minnehahas. That should be some night, and after a few plays I have to admit this is some album.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The RVMES

The RVMES (pronounced 'The Rooms') are a fiercely independent alternative band from Auckland known for an energy filled live show and pure dedication to their craft. Basing the essence of their band around capturing multiple genres within their songs, they have sculpted and honed a sound that is truly unique and theirs.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The RVMES

Releases

Simple Things
Year: 2022
Type: Album
Lifetime
Year: 2021
Type: Album
The RVMES
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Thinking Foxes - Single Review: Bleached
07 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Thinking Foxes are an Auckland-based alternative rock trio who are new to me, comprising Gabriel Parkins Craig (vocals, guitar), Luca Garcia Ferrari (bass), and Noah Page (drums). Bleached is their debut single and based on this I am somewhat surprised to have not seen them on the circuit, or even come across their name, as this is polished and full of confidence and never sounds as if it is their first release.
Read More...
James Kohler - Single Review: Lights Out
07 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As a rule, I read press releases after I have been listening to the music, but as well as Lisa sending me this to review, I was also sent it today by the PR company and I read that email before I realised it was on my list. However, my interest was already piqued as James Kohler is described as an “independent prog artist”.
Read More...
Downfall of Humanity - Single Review: War Cry
05 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Given the age of these guys, it is somewhat difficult to realise that this line-up has been together since 2009 when Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals) joined forces with Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums). In 2021 they released the excellent Deceit EP, and here at the end of 2022 they are back with their latest single, War Cry which has just blown me away.
Read More...
Gig Review: LIIT @ Morningside 605, Auckland - 3/12/2022
04 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often I can say I am at a venue for the first time, but this is indeed the first time I have attended the small but perfectly formed venue which is Morningside 605. I had made my way over to this side of Auckland, and had to park miles away due to Billy Joel playing at Eden Park on the same night, to catch the infamous LIIT and have a party.
Read More...
KEV'S TOP 10's - 2022
02 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year, as a bit of fun, I put together my Top 10’s of NZ music for the year. I may well have created an issue for myself though, as more than a few have asked when the 2022 version is coming out, so here it is in time for the last ever MNZ newsletter in its current form.
Read More...
Single Review: Lana Paige - Deluded
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
When the mighty Seas of Conflict released their latest single, Consume, it featured the rock vocals of Lana Paige, who I have previously seen perform as frontwoman for Dogtooth Amethyst, who recently changed their name to Enclosures. I sent Lana the review, and it was only when chatting with her that I realised she had released a single earlier in the year, so of course the only thing to do is listen to it and then write a review.
Read More...
Blindspott - EP Review: Volume. II
01 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the second instalment of Blindspott’s next album, Volumes. There are going to be 12 tracks in total, and when they released Volume.
Read More...
Gig Review: Lazy Fifty @ Paraoa Brewing, Whangaparaoa - 24/11/2022
24 Nov 2022 // by Kev Rowland
For my only gig this week, not only am I out on a school night, but I have struggled all the way from South Auckland up to Whangaparaoa, and I must admit it has been years since I have been here. Tonight, Australian trio 19-Twenty are in town, but to be honest I am here for the support band, Lazy Fifty whose last album, 2021: A Lazy Odyssey, I reviewed a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • MADE YOU LOOK
    Meghan Trainor
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • RICH FLEX
    Drake And 21 Savage
  • UNDER THE INFLUENCE
    Chris Brown
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • MISS YOU
    Oliver Tree And Robin Schulz
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
  • CUFF IT
    Beyonce
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem