16 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The RVMES - Album Review: Lifetime

14 Apr 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

The RVMES (pronounced “rooms”) are back with a ten-track release entitled Lifetime, following from their 9-track self-titled EP in 2019, plus numerous singles. Here we have a band who are determined not to sit within any particular genre, and while much of what they perform could fall under the banners of indie, alternative, pop and/or psychedelic, they bring much more than that into the mix. They commence with the title cut, a staccato slice of psych pop which also brings in classic Split Enz, and one can really imagine the Finn brothers having fun with this. Then they go into What You’re Thinking, which is Seventies soul with some disco influences which also hits alt rock, and I was starting to get quite confused as to what they were trying to achieve. A few more numbers in and I finally got my head around it all, in that what they are trying to do is exactly what they want which means the album is a mix of many different styles and genres as they refuse to conform. I jumped over to Bandcamp to see if they had given the album some tags, and I was able to see they describe it as “alternative, alternative indie rock, indie alternative rock, indie pop rock, soul, blues, gypsy jazz, psychedelic and rock 'n' roll” (“Auckland” is not a musical genre, wonder what that would sound like?). From this we can discern they are three times alternative and thrice indie, but nowhere do they reference just how annoyingly catchy they are on songs like Self Control, which has really twee tongue in cheek lyrics, yet one cannot help but joining in on the “oohs” on the chorus.

The first time I played the album I was fairly sure I was not a fan, on the second it was starting to warm on me, and by the third time through I knew that this was actually a load of fun. This is not music to be taken overtly seriously but is about creating a good time vibe and making the listener smile even if they are not really sure they want to. Singer/guitarist Edwin Judd grounds every song, while musically the band goes off on different tangents, with his vocals sometimes the only item which keeps the album feeling as such. These guys do not take themselves at all seriously, they create the party vibe and want everyone to get down with what they are doing and enjoying themselves, and isn’t that really what music is supposed to be about? Album closer Big Bam Boom has silly hooks, a daft chorus, but it is all wrapped in a solid psychedelic poptastic bow so again the listener just wants to join in.

This is a fun album, and I hope this is a strong indication of how they sound in concert as I am really looking forward to catching them in a few weeks’ time when they are playing with BOTB winners Big Tasty, Cafe Fistfight and The Minnehahas. That should be some night, and after a few plays I have to admit this is some album.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The RVMES

The RVMES (say it with us 'The Rooms' nice!) is a freshly formed band to the New Zealand scene and are reaching out as far as their little fingertips will reach to pluck the ripe apple of music and share it with everybody they can in New Zealand, and of course, beyond.

Taking everything into consideration from Psychedelic Blues, Gypsy Jazz, Rock'n'roll, Reggae, Soul and many more flavours, they weave together their songs with ultimate freedom and feel.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The RVMES

Releases

Lifetime
Year: 2021
Type: Album
The RVMES
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Jenny Mitchell - Single Review: Trouble Finds A Girl with Tami Neilson
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Auckland Folk Festival earlier this year was an embarrassment of riches, with so many great Kiwi artists playing multiple sets, and I spent the weekend trying to soak in as much as possible. There is no doubt that one of the highlights was Jenny Mitchell, who with her sisters Nicola and Maegan, provided warm and emotional country music in a style which seemed very much at odds with her age.
Read More...
Bianca Rae - Single Review: Flower
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There are times when the music world is very small indeed, which is why earlier this year I found myself at The Portland Public House in Auckland to see a singer-songwriter, having been put in contact by a fellow reviewer who is in the UK. Even though Bianca Rae was the support, and everything was running late, she refused to let anything get to her, and I thoroughly enjoyed her set.
Read More...
Blue River Baby - Single Review: Green Cones
14 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from the single Pay, which I reviewed a few months back, Blue River Baby (BRBB) are back with the second single from their second album, which is due next year. We find them moving much more into a dub style, with Ree Thomson’s wonderfully clear vocals very much the centre of attention.
Read More...
Downfall of Humanity - EP Review: Deceit
10 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
It is not often that a band can say they have had the same line-up for more than 10 years, but Auckland metal act Downfall of Humanity can claim just that. Daniel Carleton (lead vocals), Alex Carleton (guitars, backing vocals), Bryce Patten (guitars, backing vocals), Ben Pegman (bass) and Ben Bakker (drums) have a reputation for always delivering the goods, and I count myself lucky to have caught them a few times in the last year.
Read More...
The Rocky Bay Midnights - Album Review: Songs About People We Know
10 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The Rocky Bay Midnights are a Waiheke Island-based group who first started some three years ago when Meredith Wilkie (vocals, percussion) and Kyla Dyresen (keyboard/piano) were both independently looking for musicians, to work with, and decided to form a band together. It took quite a while for them to settle on the current line-up of Simon McDowell (drums), Dione Denize (bass) and Julion Wright (guitar, saxophone) and now they have just released their debut album.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: Obsessed
07 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although Iveta & Simone have been around for a few years, this single is the first time I have come across them. When it commenced, I felt we were in for some sort of electronic dance music, but I soon realized that in many ways they remind me much more of the Eighties band Yazoo.
Read More...
Shihad - Album Review: Old Gods
07 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt that Shihad are the Kiwi rock band who should have broken America 20 years ago, and if it wasn’t for a series of unfortunate events such as the attack on the Twin Towers, which caused the band to change their name (Shihad being too close to Jihad, but while Pacifier may have seemed a good idea on paper, it wasn’t and they eventually switched back), or accidently upsetting virtually every record label at a showcase gig, then they would have been. The first time I saw Shihad was at Western Springs opening for AC/DC, and there is no doubt that the guys were blown away by the reaction, as it seemed that although everyone was there for the main event, they were all diehard Shihad fans as well, singing along to every song.
Read More...
Vera Ellen - Album Review: It's Your Birthday
07 Oct 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Vera Ellen (Girl Friday, Maple Syrup) is back in Wellington after some time in Los Angeles, where she wrote most of the material which can now be found on her debut for Flying Nun Records. Written over the space of a few years, the album captures a time in Vera’s early Twenties where she was going through extremes of emotions.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem