29 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

FYVEYES - Album Review: Elephant Room

12 Apr 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

FYVEYES, a young Hawkes Bay trio were formed by Harry Champion (guitar, lead vocals) with Harry Young (bass) and Harper Champion (drums) to play some gigs which had already been booked by Harry C prior to his previous band breaking up. The Champion brothers had already been in a band together called Elephant Room and loved the idea of picking out an elephant in the room when you are in a room full of elephants, so this time around they used it as an album title. When I said the band were young, at the time of recording only Harry C had a full-time job and the other two were still in high school! This meant it took a year to actually record the album, but it was finally released in November last year and I am somewhat surprised it has not garnered more attention.

The band may be young, but it is obvious they have been studying their craft, as from the sound one would believe they have been honing their skills for some time, not still at school. The obvious point of reference is Queens of the Stone Age, yet they do not stick definitively within that stoner vibe, but add other elements to it as well, to create something which is both incredibly heavy and intensely commercial. Get By was released as a single, and one can understand why as it is incredibly catchy, with unaccompanied vocals at times, loads of space within the music and even some syncopation. There is a lot going on in the 4 ½ minutes, and one can easily imagine Josh Homme and Dave Grohl grinning all the way through this. I did read an interview where Harry C was asked what local songs he thought would fit next to this on a playlist, to which has answered Skinny Hobos Jacked Like The Ripper, Dead Favours On Your Own and Achilles Complex Shut It, and one can hear why they feel like Skinny Hobos in particular would be a great fit as there is a very similar vibe.

They have a knack of building songs around raw riffs, with the bass coming in and out  to provide additional effects, and always with plenty of space in the music so that songs like Wasted have a slight touch of psychedelia about them, as if the guys have been listening to the likes of Blue Cheer as well as mixing a little doom into the commercial stoner groove. Manhattan starts life as a full-on trip, and then the guys shake themselves out of it and suddenly we are on for a fast ride with the concentration on Harry’s vocals and guitar. Here is an album from three guys who are mature way beyond their years and are definitely a band to keep an eye on. Nice to see this album is available on CD as well as digital, as many bands these days seem to concentrate just on the digital route, but there are plenty of us who still like the physical product.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About FYVEYES

FYVEYES are a hard rock band from Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. The band formed in early 2019 and recorded their debut album Elephant Room at The Porch Studios in Hamilton with producer Regan John McKinnon during the summer of 2019, and was released 20th November 2020, a full year after the recording.

The band formed in early 2019 and recorded their debut album Elephant Room during the summer of 2019. Eleven of the tracks were recorded at The Porch Studios in Hamilton with producer Regan John McKinnon, while the track You Don’t Know was recorded at Roundhead Studios in Auckland, NZ, with Producer Simon Gooding. Elephant Room was released on 20th November 2020, a full year after the recording.

FYVEYES carry a raw, bold and hard-hitting rock n’ roll sound with shared influences such as Queens Of The Stone Age, Soundgarden and Royal Blood behind them, as well as many more individual musical influences that make each member’s musicianship unique from the other.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for FYVEYES

Releases

Elephant Room
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Plum Green - Album Review: Somnambulist
25 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Born in a squat in England, raised in New Zealand, and presently residing in Melbourne, here we have the latest release from dream folk artist Plum Green. I have not previously come across any of her other albums, but somehow, I can see I need to undertake some investigations as this is a very special album indeed.
Read More...
Diehards of Deep Dish - Album Review: Traditional Speciality Guaranteed
25 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is a long history of band members using pseudonyms, with Ramones probably being the most famous, and here we have a band who use pseudonyms for their pseudonyms, so we have Cheese (Joey Provolone), Tomato (Ryley Base), Wheat (Beef Richards), Mushrooms (Mattzarella Gibson) and Herbs (Herbie Handcooked). I thought Cafe Fistfight had probably taken the foodie elements to the extreme with songs such as King Hit Quiche, but here we have six songs all aimed at the pizza lovers among us.
Read More...
Power The Light - Single Review: Snowing
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Power The Light is Max Roskilly, an 18-year-old musician who is based in Auckland , and has been self-releasing music for the last four years already, including the album Blueprints a while back. This is his second single in recent months, following on from Skys where he showed an interest more in krautrock than in is normal indie-jazz style.
Read More...
Single Review: Glass Throne
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Glass Throne are an Auckland-based power trio comprising Justin Robinson (lead vocals, bass, guitar), Owen McKibbin (guitar, organ, backing vocals) and Daniel Cutfield (drums, percussion, backing vocals). I have managed to catch them play live a few times over the last year, and what always strikes me is just how different they are to the rest of the local scene, coming through as a mix of classic Seventies hard rock, progressive and modern alt rock.
Read More...
On Tick - Single Review: Nothing New
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Tick is the brainchild of brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar), and was formed from the ashes of their previous musical outfit, Evil Tomato, who began as a band in 2012. They came across 5-string bassist Matt Hammond when they heard the demoes for Black Sands, which he not only produced but played on, and he joined forces to work with them on the album and to allow them to play in the Ding Dong Battle of the Bands.
Read More...
Ravenhall - EP Review: The Coming Storm
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Ravenhall were formed by guitarist Joe Ravenhall and singer Chris Brebner in 2015. They were both already veterans of the Auckland scene, and wanted to perform music which concentrated on the power of acoustic guitar, wonderful vocals, plus some gentle electronic backing, and that is certainly what we have here.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem