13 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

FYVEYES - Album Review: Elephant Room

12 Apr 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

FYVEYES, a young Hawkes Bay trio were formed by Harry Champion (guitar, lead vocals) with Harry Young (bass) and Harper Champion (drums) to play some gigs which had already been booked by Harry C prior to his previous band breaking up. The Champion brothers had already been in a band together called Elephant Room and loved the idea of picking out an elephant in the room when you are in a room full of elephants, so this time around they used it as an album title. When I said the band were young, at the time of recording only Harry C had a full-time job and the other two were still in high school! This meant it took a year to actually record the album, but it was finally released in November last year and I am somewhat surprised it has not garnered more attention.

The band may be young, but it is obvious they have been studying their craft, as from the sound one would believe they have been honing their skills for some time, not still at school. The obvious point of reference is Queens of the Stone Age, yet they do not stick definitively within that stoner vibe, but add other elements to it as well, to create something which is both incredibly heavy and intensely commercial. Get By was released as a single, and one can understand why as it is incredibly catchy, with unaccompanied vocals at times, loads of space within the music and even some syncopation. There is a lot going on in the 4 ½ minutes, and one can easily imagine Josh Homme and Dave Grohl grinning all the way through this. I did read an interview where Harry C was asked what local songs he thought would fit next to this on a playlist, to which has answered Skinny Hobos Jacked Like The Ripper, Dead Favours On Your Own and Achilles Complex Shut It, and one can hear why they feel like Skinny Hobos in particular would be a great fit as there is a very similar vibe.

They have a knack of building songs around raw riffs, with the bass coming in and out  to provide additional effects, and always with plenty of space in the music so that songs like Wasted have a slight touch of psychedelia about them, as if the guys have been listening to the likes of Blue Cheer as well as mixing a little doom into the commercial stoner groove. Manhattan starts life as a full-on trip, and then the guys shake themselves out of it and suddenly we are on for a fast ride with the concentration on Harry’s vocals and guitar. Here is an album from three guys who are mature way beyond their years and are definitely a band to keep an eye on. Nice to see this album is available on CD as well as digital, as many bands these days seem to concentrate just on the digital route, but there are plenty of us who still like the physical product.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About FYVEYES

FYVEYES are a hard rock band from Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. The band formed in early 2019 and recorded their debut album Elephant Room at The Porch Studios in Hamilton with producer Regan John McKinnon during the summer of 2019, and was released 20th November 2020, a full year after the recording.

The band formed in early 2019 and recorded their debut album Elephant Room during the summer of 2019. Eleven of the tracks were recorded at The Porch Studios in Hamilton with producer Regan John McKinnon, while the track You Don’t Know was recorded at Roundhead Studios in Auckland, NZ, with Producer Simon Gooding. Elephant Room was released on 20th November 2020, a full year after the recording.

FYVEYES carry a raw, bold and hard-hitting rock n’ roll sound with shared influences such as Queens Of The Stone Age, Soundgarden and Royal Blood behind them, as well as many more individual musical influences that make each member’s musicianship unique from the other.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for FYVEYES

Releases

Elephant Room
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Beastwars with Earth Tongue and Demons of Noon @ Powerstation, Auckland - 08/05/2021
09 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I was a little concerned when I made my way to the Powerstation just 15 minutes before the doors were due to open, as there was no-one else there! A quick check of the billboard confirmed I was in the right place on the right date, but possibly this was somewhat indicative of the poor weather combined with so many great gigs on tonight.
Read More...
Emily Rice - EP Review: Auhua
06 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Over the last few months Emily Rice has been building up to the release of this EP, and of the six songs included on Auaha (which means to shape, create, form, fashion), four have already been released as singles, and I have reviewed three of them myself, so the EP feels already very much like an old friend, but for anyone yet to come across Emily and her work then this is a wonderful place to start. I first came across Emily and her husband in the wonderful folk duo Aro, but here her music is far more dance oriented as she brings in lots of different styles such as soft jazz, RnB, dub, and even a little touch of folk, but always with her wonderful vocals front and centre.
Read More...
Living State - Single Review: One Sided
04 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Whenever I hear anyone bemoaning the state of music on the radio, I tell them to get out to places like Ding Dong and actually live and breathe what is really going on in the scene, not what some people just want to tell you. Last Saturday I was there at yet another gig, and while I was having a chat with one of the musicians a guy came up and joined in.
Read More...
Stealphish - Single Review: Auri
04 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Cafe Fistfight guitarist Josh Barker in his alter ego as Stealphish. The only other person involved on this recording is his wife Nicole who provides piano for the first 35 seconds of the nearly 7-minute-long song.
Read More...
Dan Sharp - EP Review: Water Went Away
03 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Proud Coromandel boy Dan Sharp is back with his latest EP, Water Went Away, and I can only concur with Corinne’s review of his last EP, Slack Tide, in that we really need an album! This collection of five songs loosely follows through the various stages of a breakup and the significant life changes that happen as part of that such as moving to a new house, moving town, being unable to access certain things, wondering what was going to happen next etc.
Read More...
Gig Review: Pencarrow @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 01/05/2021
02 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I have lost count of how many times I have been to Ding Dong in the last year, I think it is somewhere between “lots” and “loads”, so consequently it is starting to feel very much like a place where every barman knows my name (and what I drink). I have been looking forward to catching Pencarrow since I came across their debut album Growth In The Absence of Light which was released last year.
Read More...
Gig Review: BOTB Winners Tour with Big Tasty & guests @ Anthology Lounge, Auckland - 30/04/2021
01 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Back off to the Anthology Lounge for a 4-band bill, which I was really looking forward to. It was going to be the first time I had seen Cafe Fistfight in a while, I had heard good things about The Minnehahas (and I know drummer Neo from White Noise Mafia), I had reviewed the album by The RVMES while this was the last night of the tour for BOTB winners Big Tasty so it was all set for a great session.
Read More...
JoshDannMusic - Single Review: Just For A Moment
29 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Josh Dann is a Hamilton-based multi-instrumentalist whose musical journey started at the age of eleven when he was inspired to pick up an instrument when he heard someone playing a clarinet. Since then, he has also taken up other instruments such as saxophone, piano and bass, and his latest single finds him playing all instruments apart from drums, which are provided by Luke Rodgers.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • BODY
    Russ Millions And Tion Wayne
  • YOUR POWER
    Billie Eilish
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem