26 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

FYVEYES - Album Review: Elephant Room

12 Apr 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

FYVEYES, a young Hawkes Bay trio were formed by Harry Champion (guitar, lead vocals) with Harry Young (bass) and Harper Champion (drums) to play some gigs which had already been booked by Harry C prior to his previous band breaking up. The Champion brothers had already been in a band together called Elephant Room and loved the idea of picking out an elephant in the room when you are in a room full of elephants, so this time around they used it as an album title. When I said the band were young, at the time of recording only Harry C had a full-time job and the other two were still in high school! This meant it took a year to actually record the album, but it was finally released in November last year and I am somewhat surprised it has not garnered more attention.

The band may be young, but it is obvious they have been studying their craft, as from the sound one would believe they have been honing their skills for some time, not still at school. The obvious point of reference is Queens of the Stone Age, yet they do not stick definitively within that stoner vibe, but add other elements to it as well, to create something which is both incredibly heavy and intensely commercial. Get By was released as a single, and one can understand why as it is incredibly catchy, with unaccompanied vocals at times, loads of space within the music and even some syncopation. There is a lot going on in the 4 ½ minutes, and one can easily imagine Josh Homme and Dave Grohl grinning all the way through this. I did read an interview where Harry C was asked what local songs he thought would fit next to this on a playlist, to which has answered Skinny Hobos Jacked Like The Ripper, Dead Favours On Your Own and Achilles Complex Shut It, and one can hear why they feel like Skinny Hobos in particular would be a great fit as there is a very similar vibe.

They have a knack of building songs around raw riffs, with the bass coming in and out  to provide additional effects, and always with plenty of space in the music so that songs like Wasted have a slight touch of psychedelia about them, as if the guys have been listening to the likes of Blue Cheer as well as mixing a little doom into the commercial stoner groove. Manhattan starts life as a full-on trip, and then the guys shake themselves out of it and suddenly we are on for a fast ride with the concentration on Harry’s vocals and guitar. Here is an album from three guys who are mature way beyond their years and are definitely a band to keep an eye on. Nice to see this album is available on CD as well as digital, as many bands these days seem to concentrate just on the digital route, but there are plenty of us who still like the physical product.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About FYVEYES

FYVEYES are a hard rock band from Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. The band formed in early 2019 and recorded their debut album Elephant Room at The Porch Studios in Hamilton with producer Regan John McKinnon during the summer of 2019, and was released 20th November 2020, a full year after the recording.

The band formed in early 2019 and recorded their debut album Elephant Room during the summer of 2019. Eleven of the tracks were recorded at The Porch Studios in Hamilton with producer Regan John McKinnon, while the track You Don’t Know was recorded at Roundhead Studios in Auckland, NZ, with Producer Simon Gooding. Elephant Room was released on 20th November 2020, a full year after the recording.

FYVEYES carry a raw, bold and hard-hitting rock n’ roll sound with shared influences such as Queens Of The Stone Age, Soundgarden and Royal Blood behind them, as well as many more individual musical influences that make each member’s musicianship unique from the other.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for FYVEYES

Releases

Elephant Room
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Michael Signal - Single Review: Magnetism
25 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Now, I must confess to being as much a fan of short song as I am of long ones and given how much I listen to Napalm Death that is probably a good thing. But all short songs I know tend to fall into one of two camps, in that they are either complete in their own right (and are generally brutal), or are introductory tasters for a longer piece of music and I cannot help but feel that what we have here is the latter and my only complaint is that it stops after 90 seconds and I feel somewhat bereft.
Read More...
Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
Guy Hobson - Album Review: Latitude
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Guy Hobson is a Christchurch-based composer and performer who specialises in instrumental music for film and was featured most notably on one by Force Five Films about the unveiling of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic Spaceship Two SS2. He is a classically trained pianist who describes his music as Ambient, hypnotic and alt/modern classical, bringing in influences from classical, jazz, blues, and funk.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew
19 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for.
Read More...
Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem