17 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

FYVEYES - Album Review: Elephant Room

12 Apr 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

FYVEYES, a young Hawkes Bay trio were formed by Harry Champion (guitar, lead vocals) with Harry Young (bass) and Harper Champion (drums) to play some gigs which had already been booked by Harry C prior to his previous band breaking up. The Champion brothers had already been in a band together called Elephant Room and loved the idea of picking out an elephant in the room when you are in a room full of elephants, so this time around they used it as an album title. When I said the band were young, at the time of recording only Harry C had a full-time job and the other two were still in high school! This meant it took a year to actually record the album, but it was finally released in November last year and I am somewhat surprised it has not garnered more attention.

The band may be young, but it is obvious they have been studying their craft, as from the sound one would believe they have been honing their skills for some time, not still at school. The obvious point of reference is Queens of the Stone Age, yet they do not stick definitively within that stoner vibe, but add other elements to it as well, to create something which is both incredibly heavy and intensely commercial. Get By was released as a single, and one can understand why as it is incredibly catchy, with unaccompanied vocals at times, loads of space within the music and even some syncopation. There is a lot going on in the 4 ½ minutes, and one can easily imagine Josh Homme and Dave Grohl grinning all the way through this. I did read an interview where Harry C was asked what local songs he thought would fit next to this on a playlist, to which has answered Skinny Hobos Jacked Like The Ripper, Dead Favours On Your Own and Achilles Complex Shut It, and one can hear why they feel like Skinny Hobos in particular would be a great fit as there is a very similar vibe.

They have a knack of building songs around raw riffs, with the bass coming in and out  to provide additional effects, and always with plenty of space in the music so that songs like Wasted have a slight touch of psychedelia about them, as if the guys have been listening to the likes of Blue Cheer as well as mixing a little doom into the commercial stoner groove. Manhattan starts life as a full-on trip, and then the guys shake themselves out of it and suddenly we are on for a fast ride with the concentration on Harry’s vocals and guitar. Here is an album from three guys who are mature way beyond their years and are definitely a band to keep an eye on. Nice to see this album is available on CD as well as digital, as many bands these days seem to concentrate just on the digital route, but there are plenty of us who still like the physical product.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About FYVEYES

FYVEYES are a hard rock band from Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. The band formed in early 2019 and recorded their debut album Elephant Room at The Porch Studios in Hamilton with producer Regan John McKinnon during the summer of 2019, and was released 20th November 2020, a full year after the recording.

The band formed in early 2019 and recorded their debut album Elephant Room during the summer of 2019. Eleven of the tracks were recorded at The Porch Studios in Hamilton with producer Regan John McKinnon, while the track You Don’t Know was recorded at Roundhead Studios in Auckland, NZ, with Producer Simon Gooding. Elephant Room was released on 20th November 2020, a full year after the recording.

FYVEYES carry a raw, bold and hard-hitting rock n’ roll sound with shared influences such as Queens Of The Stone Age, Soundgarden and Royal Blood behind them, as well as many more individual musical influences that make each member’s musicianship unique from the other.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for FYVEYES

Releases

Elephant Room
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blitz Metal Fest @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 12/06/2021
13 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Well, today was a first for me, coming to Ding Dong in the daylight! This was because it was time for Metal Blitz, a 13-band event being held which was planned to run for 10 hours but we all thought was probably going to take longer.
Read More...
Gatekeepers - Single Review: Always a Rebel, Never a Rogue
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Gatekeepers may be a new name to most of you, but this New Plymouth quartet have managed to secure the opening slot in Hamilton for the Devilskin and Kora show, so they have already started to gain some attention and based on this single one can hear why. The band was only formed earlier this year by guitarist/singer Jeremy Donoghue, rhythm guitarist Sean Phillips and bassist Mat Pipe, since when they have been writing and recording tracks before sending them to the UK to be mixed by Adam Wain.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Lake of Eyes
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Adrian Drew and his band of merry men are back with the third single from their forthcoming album and given what I have heard to date I am really looking forward to that when it comes out. While Adrian provides guitar and vocals, the band is now firmly settled with David Crowhen (bass) Undercut, Craig van Kan (drums), The Couch, and lead guitarist Adam Morton-Mason, These Fine Galleons.
Read More...
Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mudbelly @ 12 Bar, Christchurch - 29/05/2021
30 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
In the middle of a red alert weather warning, I trekked from Oxford into Christchurch to attend Mudbelly’s album launch. It has been a while since I last went to a gig down here, but I have been to some real killers in the past (Sepultura, Death Angel and Blindfolded And Led To The Woods at Canterbury University’s The Foundry will long stick in my mind), so was looking forward to this.
Read More...
Lorenzo Hazelwood - Single Review: Same Mistake
28 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Lorenzo Hazlewood is probably best known as front man for Auckland hard rock band Close To The Bone, but he also released some solo singles last year in slightly different fashion, and now he has returned with his first for 2021, Same Mistake. This is reminiscent in some ways of classic ballad-style grunge like good Alice In Chains or Soundgarden, with his vocals very much to the fore.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem