28 Jan 2023
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking
  • Articles »
  • Reviews »
  • Written By Wolves - Gig Review: Written By Wolves @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 09/04/2021

Written By Wolves - Gig Review: Written By Wolves @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 09/04/2021

11 Apr 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Tonight was going to be a few firsts for me, including that this was going to be my first time at Ding Dong for a sell-out gig, as well as the first time I had seen Written By Wolves in concert. For the latter, I had been told I was a WBW virgin, while a certain photographer commented he must be a WBW slut!

Before the gig itself started, Lauren Borhani (wife of WBW guitarist Bahador) was in the DJ booth, getting the crowd really going long before Coridian came onstage. I took the opportunity to have a catch up with singer Michael Murphy before the show, as I was intrigued why one of our top bands was playing Ding Dong, as they have massively outgrown the venue. In short, the reason they were there that night was they wanted to support the venue, which has been struggling in recent years. The local scene has still not got over the loss of the King’s Arms, and if Ding Dong were to go it would be another nail in the coffin of the rock scene. As Mikey said to me, he has a young son and if he wants to play music when he grows up where can he start to learn if places like Ding Dong are no longer available? We covered a lot of different topics in that conversation, and although I had already only heard incredibly positive things about the man, actually speaking to him had a huge impact on me, and I can see why so many view him as one of the most genuine people in the scene.

Lauren finished her set with Dragon's April Sun In Cuba, and it was time for Coridian to take the stage. When I say stage, I mean each member of the band had about three square feet in which to stand. Written By Wolves have an unusual line-up in that as well as having a drummer, they also have a keyboard/percussionist who takes up at least as much room as a drum kit, which alongside Coridian’s own amps meant there was not exactly a lot of space. Mind you, if anyone thought that was going to stop the boys from giving their all they would be rather mistaken. I have been fortunate enough to see Coridian a few times in the last year, and if there is one word to describe their performance, it has to be “intense”. They may start slow, as they did tonight with Mike Raven picking out some notes for the beginning of Algorithm with plenty of echo, but he was soon joined by his brothers Nick (bass) and Kris (drums) as they really cranked it up, and then of course there is Dity. I am not sure what there is left to say about a man who gives everything each and every time he plays, with great vocals combined with seamless endless energy as he jumped up and down on the spot like a coiled spring, becoming at one with the sound. Lauren had warmed up the crowd, and they were ripe for Coridian to take to the next level, which they did with ease.

Dunes was another highlight, with the band rooted but so into the music, taking everyone with them on the journey of emotional hard driven rock while Dity continued his effort to expend his energy, but failing. Seed II is one of their more emotional numbers, and there were plenty of arms in the audience waving in time. The guitar bites, while the bass and drums are locked with the vocals over the top. Wicked Game was brought into the set a little earlier than normal, and the crowd reacted when it was announced as the next single: Chris Isaak never thought it could sound like this. Everyone joined in the chorus and while it is quite different to the rest of the material somehow it really works with an arrangement which is punctuated by some powerful drums. Throughout the set I was continually impressed on how Coridian somehow manage to weave space into their music so there are times when it feels quite airy, and then they shut it down and compress it into something quite different indeed. Reflections contained masses of power and emotion, and then they were into Seed and it was all over. At that point I was already more than happy – I have only previously seen Coridian as a headline, and tonight they may have been physically constrained, but they were not going to let that prevent them from delivering a show deserving of that status.

Lauren got back up into the booth, which for those of you who have not been into Ding Dong since it was remodelled is situated in the right-hand wall, with an opening onto the crowd below. More of that later. There wasn’t too long to wait though, and soon, Written By Wolves were making their way to the stage. The line-up is singer Michael Murphy, guitarists Davie Wong and Bahador Borhani, with Karl Woodhams on drums and Oli Lyons on keyboards, percussion, vocals. They use some backing tracks to fill in bits and pieces of sound, but this is all about the five guys putting their all into the show. They were playing the rock stage at Homegrown last month, and here they were back in everyone’s favourite dive, but while they may have not had the same amount of space they are normally used to, this was all about a night for friends and family, all in the cause of Ding Dong. They kicked things off properly with Any Second, and immediately everyone was in the groove, both onstage and off. The guitars were creating a buzzsaw sound, the drums were pounding through, and then there is Mikey. Not only does he have a great voice, but he has to be one of the best frontmen I have come across, really working the crowd, and driving up the intensity. Just the second number in and it already felt that tonight was something very special indeed, with an audience and band feeding off each other and taking everything to a totally different level.

Let It Burn was just the third number of the set, but as all the crowd knew the vocals Mikey just let them get on with it. Every band member’s face kept moving from concentration to massive smiles and back again, as they knew this was some experience. For Tell Me What You’re Running From?, Mikey got the whole crowd to jump in time and I swear the whole floor moved – it must have been quite an experience for anyone in the bar downstairs. During the set there were times when they allowed the pace to drop a little, but only so they could come back heavier and more powerful, fully understanding the need for dynamics. Mikey was doing whatever he could to keep pushing the crowd, while Bahador kept throwing shapes, and everyone putting their all into the night. They kicked into Follow Me less than halfway through the set and somehow the crowd got even more insane! By now I was frantically taking notes but knowing there was no way I could capture this night on paper, you really had to be there. They were stopping on a dime, adding that little bit of space to reset, and then crunching again and going off at pace. The audience sang along with To Tell You The Truth, and just when I was thinking they must have finally topped the energy levels they punched into Master of Puppets and it really took off. During this song Oli at times hung off the lighting rig at the side of the stage or stood on top of his drum pads while he added additional vocals, daring the crowd to go even harder.

They had to slow it down at this point to allow everyone to catch their breath, and Bahador even came off stage to get some drinks from the bar, but soon it was time for Oh No, with everyone singing and somehow lifting the levels even more. After this Mikey told the crowd how everyone here was special, and how important it was to support venues like Ding Dong, then telling us the band had bought everyone a shot to celebrate at which point trays of drinks were brought out. Mikey also made the point that this was for those who wanted it, and that no-one should feel pressured to have a drink if they did not want one, and for everyone to remain sensible. It may seem like a small thing, but firstly the generosity and feeling part of the WBW family made me feel lucky to be there, but that statement about being sensible also really hit home.

We all sang Happy Birthday to Bahador, and then it was onto the last song of the set, Elastic Heart. At one point Mikey ran from the stage into the DJ booth and then perched on the edge singing to the crowd below, really pushing hard. Needless to say, the only way down was for him to jump and be caught by the crowd who relayed him back to the stage, and the show was over, or was it? I had been talking to Lauren earlier that night, and she told me the gentleman sat behind me was her 63-year-old dad, who is such a fan of My Chemical Romance’s The Black Parade that he has it tattooed on his forearm, and to watch for his reaction to the encore, which he did not know the band had learned. So, when WBW launched into Welcome to the Black Parade, I was not facing the stage but looking the other way, and to see his face go from one of wonderment, to recognition and then to sheer delight was simply wonderful. As he shouted to anyone who would listen, “They nailed it, they absolutely nailed it!”

The band finally ended the set, at which point Mikey announced the band had now put $1000 behind the bar, to support Ding Dong and for everyone who wanted to stay and have a party with them. He sat on the stage, drenched with sweat, having given his all, but along with others more than happy to chat and give people hugs. I later walked out into the cold air of Wyndham Street in something of a daze, knowing that this was way more than just a gig, it was a real event. When the set finished, the woman next to me looked at me and said, “Welcome to the wolfpack”. I just can’t wait to be part of that pack again.


Photos courtesy of Morgan Creative
Coridian Gallery
Written By Wolves Gallery

 

About Written By Wolves

Written By Wolves are a fresh and progressive, cinematic rock band and one of the most exciting new rock acts to come from New Zealand in recent years.

Having announced themselves on the world stage with their debut release, Secrets in 2019 they then combined with some of the biggest names in Rock Music in 2021 to release The Collab Project, an EP and mental health initiative aimed at giving their fans, friends and followers a platform to talk about their mental health and a reminder that no matter what they are going through they do not have to do it alone. Featuring Sonny Sandoval of P.O.D, Kellin Quinn of Sleeping With Sirens, Trenton Woodley of Hands Like Houses and Sydney Rae White of The Wild Things, the EP has received critical acclaim, millions of streams and has delighted fans world wide.

Renowned for their highly energetic live show, the band have already shared the stage with international heavyweights such as Machine Gun Kelly, Limp Bizkit, Pendulum, Sublime With Rome, Suicidal Tendencies, Hed PE, Falling In Reverse, Escape The Fate, We The Kings, Four Year Strong, Stevie Stone, Kehlani and have recently completed back-to-back tours with two of New Zealand’s biggest Rock bands - Devilskin and Blindspott.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Written By Wolves

Releases

The Collab Project // Secrets
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Secrets
Year: 2019
Type: Album
Prologue
Year: 2018
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Midnight Green & Kazia @ The Thirsty Dog, Auckland - 21/01/2022
21 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
After being blasted the previous night at Dead Witch, tonight I was at The Thirsty for what promised to be a very different affair indeed, with two soul/jazz/pop bands. Beforehand I was talking to the bar manager who told me that soon they will be closing for renovations, after which they will open up with the stage in a different place, and it promises to be much improved, so I am really looking forward to seeing the end results.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Rising Tide @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 20/01/2023
20 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Back to Dead Witch tonight for my first time seeing The Rising Tide who were up from Palmerston North in support of their excellent new EP, The Hope We Die For. They had also invited a few other bands who I have seen before, namely Brawler NZHC who I saw supporting Xile, plus favourites Unwanted Subject and Pale Flag who were both at the Downfall of Humanity release show.
Read More...
Gig Review: Music In Parks - Helensville @ Helensville River Reserve, Auckland - 15/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Each Summer, the Auckland Council put on a series of free outdoor concerts in different places around the city, and today was the second this year, and definitely had a country flavour with Keith Pereira, Louis Jarlov and Sam Bartells. Not only are the shows free, but they all take place in the afternoon, so this gig was set to take place between 1 and 4!
Read More...
Gig Review: Ovus @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 14/01/2023
15 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Having spent an incredible two weeks at home on South Island, it was now back up to Auckland and it was soon back into the live scene with my first gig at Dead Witch for 2023. Tonight was going to be interesting as I recently reviewed Ovus’s EP, Lucid, and it would be the first time I had seen Afterlight since they changed their name from Antebellum.
Read More...
Adam McGrath - Album Review: Dear Companions
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Due to many reasons, I have been somewhat late to the underground NZ scene but over the last few years have been fortunate enough to meet some incredible people, see some amazing performances, and hear some wonderful music. All of these come together in one man, Adam McGrath, leader of The Eastern.
Read More...
Holy Crime - Single Review: Play Toy
08 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Holy Crime are a relatively new band from Auckland, comprising Benny Richards (guitar, vocals), Tom Anderson (bass, vocals), Jacob Stutton (guitar) and Mat Hinton (drums), with Play Toy being their debut single. Sometimes, just sometimes, one hears a song and immediately a smile comes across the face and it stays there right until the end and that is the case with this one with its unabashed influences of The Darkness and Eighties glam rock.
Read More...
The Rising Tide - EP Review: The Hope We Die For
05 Jan 2023 // by Kev Rowland
Palmerston North deathcore band The Rising Tide had a great 2022, touring for the first time in six years and here we are now with their latest EP which is being released in time for a quick nationwide tour which sees them playing Auckland, New Plymouth, Wellington, and Christchurch. They may call themselves deathcore, but to be honest they probably have more in common with “straight” death based on these three songs, although there is a lot going on.
Read More...
EP Review: Chasing Titans
28 Dec 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP by Auckland-based metalcore trio Chasing Titans who were formed in 2018 and comprise Adrian Govender (guitar, vocals), Sylvester Porizakova (bass, vocals), and Torrance Kam (drums). The name is inspired by the original Greek Titans and reflects the philosophy of never giving up on one’s biggest dreams and striving for greatness.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FLOWERS
    Miley Cyrus
  • KILL BILL
    SZA
  • ESCAPISM.
    RAYE feat. 070 Shake
  • UNHOLY
    Sam Smith And Kim Petras
  • SURE THING
    Miguel
  • PEOPLE
    Libianca
  • I'M GOOD (BLUE)
    David Guetta And Bebe Rexha
  • CREEPIN'
    Metro Boomin, The Weeknd And 21 Savage
  • ANTI-HERO
    Taylor Swift
  • MESSY IN HEAVEN
    venbee And goddard.
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem