13 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Veils - Gig Review: The Veils @ Dive, Dunedin - 08/04/2021

10 Apr 2021 // A review by Darryl Baser

Purple Pilgrims take to the stage. There's a round of polite applause after their first song, and half way through their second, I start to hear a very 4AD sound; think Cocteau Twins, circa the Iceblink Luck period. The Purple Pilgrims sound is lush textured music overlaid with a chorus of voices which sounds as though it is coming from two singers.

I love seeing bands like this, playing downbeat tunes with full commitment. The crowd, clearly waiting for the main attraction idly chatters over some of the most gentle, passionate and beautiful music played live in this town for ages. Shame on y'all, your lives are less interesting than this music.

Beautifully programmed beats and strings dance around plodding baselines. Purple Pilgrims’ music is dark, brooding, ethereal, and beautiful. About four or five songs, the backing track tempo breaks the 100bpm mark and it's got my toes tapping. I'm not wearing ear plugs, but the mix, particularly the instrumentation is muddy and sounding almost devoid of high mid-range frequencies. I'm reliably informed the sound has more clarity nearer the PA, in front of the around 200 people standing, now waiting for The Veils to take the stage.

The Veils walk onto the stage at 9:25pm, accompanied by a swinging version of Nina Simone's Sinnerman.

When their first two tunes Not Yet and Calliope are played, the full-capacity crowd is a sea of bobbing heads in front of me.  Finn Andrews is in his customary black brimmed hat, synonymous with the band's image throughout its career.

Their third song Advice For Young Mothers to Be is well received by the crowd, who are from a varied demographic.

The following song Pan is dirtier and faster, with more heads bobbing. With the fifth song, A Birthday Present, Finn admits "we're not really playing them in order." A Birthday Present is a more downbeat song, sounding like they were influenced by U2, around the Angel of Harlem period.

Finn Andrews then announces song 7, Under The Folder Branches. This is a gentle lullaby which holds 95% of the crowd's attention.

Nux Vomica is the next track played. For the uninitiated it’s an up-tempo number, loud and brutal, reminiscent for me of early Nick Cave, in the Birthday Party years.

Finn introduces the tenth song by saying "I've been looking forward to playing this", and the band launches into Jesus For The Jugular. It's got a fabulous amount of space, and it's a clear crowd favourite.

It was to be the last song of the set, "Thank you Dunedin, we we're going to go off and come back on, but we might just carry on," Finn Andrews said.

There's great lyrics in the first encore song, Swimming With Crocodiles; "Hold me like a child, you swollen crocodiles. Hold me under until I drown".

Their second encore song is "a song about birds", and unsurprisingly, it’s called Birds.

Finn Andrews says The Veils’ third encore is, "a new song from a soon to be released album, which could be a while, we're in no hurry". It’s called No Limit of Stars.

The beautiful tune Axolotl signals the end of their performance. Finn's voice suits this song so much. For me, this is the highlight from the whole night.

 

About The Veils

Fantastic local wunderkind Finn Andrews & his band The Veils have been lauded internationally for their outstanding debut album 'The Runaway Found'. Heralded as one of the best debut albums ever, 'The Runaway Found' has captured the hearts & minds of many, thanks to Finn's clever & contagious songwriting & his undeniable star factor.

After the success of first single 'The Tide That Left & Never Came Back' [peaking at #2 on the NZ rock radio chart, remaining on the radio charts for almost three months & playlisted on ZM, The Rock & The Edge, as well as the b-Nets, Kiwi FM & other smaller regional stations] The Veils now drop their second NZ single, the storming album opener 'The Wild Son'.

The personnel who constituted The Veils for the debut album – 'The Runaway Found', released February 2004 - split up 2 months after the record's release. He returned from London (where he was born, in 1983) to New Zealand (where he'd moved during his teens) and recruited new musicians with the vow, "We must make things as terrifying and exciting as can".

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Veils

Releases

Time Stays, We Go
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Troubles of The Brain
Year: 2011
Type: EP
Sun Gangs
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Nux Vomica
Year: 2006
Type: Album
The Runaway Found
Year: 2004
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Vann Dizon - Single/Video Review: Let You Go
08 May 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Wow. Beautifully written, lyrics with heart, the composition is top form, and the production sets this song as a potential chart topper.
Read More...
Jiahu Symbols - Single Review: Northern Exposure
17 Apr 2021 // by Darryl Baser
An interesting song, Jiahu Symbols' Northern Exposure opens with a guitar swathed in chorus, maybe a little tremolo, with a couple of bars before the song crashes into life. The verse structure is played a couple of times, before Andrew Murray-Brown begins singing.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ Mornington Tap House, Dunedin - 25/03/2021
27 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
The opening act Marlin's Dreaming slide into a well-chosen opening number. Opening with gently strummed chords, and a drum machine, which the drummer synced with well when he came in.
Read More...
The Infinity Chamber - Single Review: No Honey (Anymore)
22 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
For those of you who aren’t amongst the 1340 subscribers to his YouTube, or the nearly 47,000 who follow his Facebook page, The Infinity Chamber is Dylan Paul Ware. PC, or Pre-Covid, he travelled in the true style of a troubadour, spending time in many countries across Europe, which is kind of documented in one of the lyrics in the song; "…it’s just my old guitar and me..
Read More...
Gig Review: Crowded House & Reb Fountain @ Dunedin Town Hall, Dunedin - 11/03/2021
12 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
The exquisite Reb Fountain opens up with Hawks and Doves, and it's game on right from the get go. Sliding into the second tune, Fountain's dramatic songwriting style really suits opening this sell-out show at Dunedin's Town Hall.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Mr. Slice
27 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Straight Outta Blenheim, noisy angular post-punk band Big Scout have released an addictive new song, Mr. Slice.
Read More...
Loud Ghost - Album Review: All In A Day
06 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Loud Ghost are a self-described "Rock n Roll trio from Auckland, New Zealand." It’s been 4 years since the first Loud Ghost record, and band members say they’re looking forward to getting All In A Day out and available to the public.
Read More...
James Hunter - EP Review: You
21 Jan 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • BODY
    Russ Millions And Tion Wayne
  • YOUR POWER
    Billie Eilish
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem