18 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Veils - Gig Review: The Veils @ Dive, Dunedin - 08/04/2021

10 Apr 2021 // A review by Darryl Baser

Purple Pilgrims take to the stage. There's a round of polite applause after their first song, and half way through their second, I start to hear a very 4AD sound; think Cocteau Twins, circa the Iceblink Luck period. The Purple Pilgrims sound is lush textured music overlaid with a chorus of voices which sounds as though it is coming from two singers.

I love seeing bands like this, playing downbeat tunes with full commitment. The crowd, clearly waiting for the main attraction idly chatters over some of the most gentle, passionate and beautiful music played live in this town for ages. Shame on y'all, your lives are less interesting than this music.

Beautifully programmed beats and strings dance around plodding baselines. Purple Pilgrims’ music is dark, brooding, ethereal, and beautiful. About four or five songs, the backing track tempo breaks the 100bpm mark and it's got my toes tapping. I'm not wearing ear plugs, but the mix, particularly the instrumentation is muddy and sounding almost devoid of high mid-range frequencies. I'm reliably informed the sound has more clarity nearer the PA, in front of the around 200 people standing, now waiting for The Veils to take the stage.

The Veils walk onto the stage at 9:25pm, accompanied by a swinging version of Nina Simone's Sinnerman.

When their first two tunes Not Yet and Calliope are played, the full-capacity crowd is a sea of bobbing heads in front of me.  Finn Andrews is in his customary black brimmed hat, synonymous with the band's image throughout its career.

Their third song Advice For Young Mothers to Be is well received by the crowd, who are from a varied demographic.

The following song Pan is dirtier and faster, with more heads bobbing. With the fifth song, A Birthday Present, Finn admits "we're not really playing them in order." A Birthday Present is a more downbeat song, sounding like they were influenced by U2, around the Angel of Harlem period.

Finn Andrews then announces song 7, Under The Folder Branches. This is a gentle lullaby which holds 95% of the crowd's attention.

Nux Vomica is the next track played. For the uninitiated it’s an up-tempo number, loud and brutal, reminiscent for me of early Nick Cave, in the Birthday Party years.

Finn introduces the tenth song by saying "I've been looking forward to playing this", and the band launches into Jesus For The Jugular. It's got a fabulous amount of space, and it's a clear crowd favourite.

It was to be the last song of the set, "Thank you Dunedin, we we're going to go off and come back on, but we might just carry on," Finn Andrews said.

There's great lyrics in the first encore song, Swimming With Crocodiles; "Hold me like a child, you swollen crocodiles. Hold me under until I drown".

Their second encore song is "a song about birds", and unsurprisingly, it’s called Birds.

Finn Andrews says The Veils’ third encore is, "a new song from a soon to be released album, which could be a while, we're in no hurry". It’s called No Limit of Stars.

The beautiful tune Axolotl signals the end of their performance. Finn's voice suits this song so much. For me, this is the highlight from the whole night.

 

About The Veils

Fantastic local wunderkind Finn Andrews & his band The Veils have been lauded internationally for their outstanding debut album 'The Runaway Found'. Heralded as one of the best debut albums ever, 'The Runaway Found' has captured the hearts & minds of many, thanks to Finn's clever & contagious songwriting & his undeniable star factor.

After the success of first single 'The Tide That Left & Never Came Back' [peaking at #2 on the NZ rock radio chart, remaining on the radio charts for almost three months & playlisted on ZM, The Rock & The Edge, as well as the b-Nets, Kiwi FM & other smaller regional stations] The Veils now drop their second NZ single, the storming album opener 'The Wild Son'.

The personnel who constituted The Veils for the debut album – 'The Runaway Found', released February 2004 - split up 2 months after the record's release. He returned from London (where he was born, in 1983) to New Zealand (where he'd moved during his teens) and recruited new musicians with the vow, "We must make things as terrifying and exciting as can".

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Veils

Releases

Time Stays, We Go
Year: 2013
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Troubles of The Brain
Year: 2011
Type: EP
Sun Gangs
Year: 2009
Type: Album
Nux Vomica
Year: 2006
Type: Album
The Runaway Found
Year: 2004
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Michael Llewellyn - Album Review: Oh My Darling
14 Oct 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Even though the press for Michael Llewellyn’s Oh My Darling album describe it as "a break up album in its purest", it seems he may have worked through some of the heartache and misery by the time he recorded it. It begins with the up-tempo Doolie, which sounds like a new romance beginning, full of love and hope.
Read More...
Montgomery - Single Review: Lonely, Only
17 Sep 2021 // by Darryl Baser
George Manning AKA Montgomery releases Lonely, Only today, and, oh my gosh, it’s a hauntingly beautiful song. In a world where for many artists their next single release has to be even more of a banger than their last, Montgomery’s Lonely, Only is packed full of heart and gentle charm.
Read More...
Gig Review: PRINS @ Dog With Two Tails, Dunedin - 31/07/2021
01 Aug 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Solo guy Alex Dykes opens up the evening using a kick drum trigger for a regular thump, an acoustic guitar, and a voice which is well-worn beyond his years. As he begins playing those who were hanging out in the cafe come through.
Read More...
Miss Leading - Album Review: Minor Thing
23 Jul 2021 // by Darryl Baser
When reviewing albums by artists you’ve never heard of can be a lottery, sometimes you don’t quite ‘get’ the album, and sometimes you’re like ‘wow’. Minor Thing by Miss Leading is totally in the ‘wow’ category.
Read More...
Gig Review: Drax Project @ Dunedin Town Hall, Dunedin - 02/06/2021
04 Jul 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Auckland based singer AACACIA was onstage and singing with her band as many people walked in at 7:25pm ahead of the advertised start time. In 2019 AACACIA posted a clip asking to play support to Drax Project, and last night she did.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - Single Review: Baby Bedside
23 May 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are many things which can derail a musician’s career, although Reuben Hudson’s reasoning may be a little less common than most. He had kidney transplant surgery in 2020.
Read More...
Vann Dizon - Single/Video Review: Let You Go
08 May 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Wow. Beautifully written, lyrics with heart, the composition is top form, and the production sets this song as a potential chart topper.
Read More...
Jiahu Symbols - Single Review: Northern Exposure
17 Apr 2021 // by Darryl Baser
An interesting song, Jiahu Symbols' Northern Exposure opens with a guitar swathed in chorus, maybe a little tremolo, with a couple of bars before the song crashes into life. The verse structure is played a couple of times, before Andrew Murray-Brown begins singing.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem