11 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Elidi - Single Review: Witches Brew

06 Apr 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Christchurch quintet Elidi are back with their latest single, released just in time for their South Island gigs with Pull Down the Sun in April, before they head out on a NZ-wide tour with Stonehurst in a few months’ time. They describe themselves as progressive, but before you start thinking these guys are Genesis or Pink Floyd clones, understand they are talking progressive in its truest sense, which is blending together different styles and types of music into something which refuses to sit sedately within any particular sub-genre and instead goes wherever it leads, being taken on a journey in the same way as the listener.

Singer Dan Russell is quite happy to be melodic for the most part, yet he can also rip it up when he needs to, in a style not too dissimilar to David Draiman, although in a slightly different register. Witches Brew may start quietly with picked guitars, but it does not stay that way for too long, and even though this song is only 3:30 long, it feels very much like an epic. If ever a song was made to have a video recorded in the Alps then this is it, as this is music to be played under the wide open skies, not constrained by four walls. Even when twin guitarists Richie Jehan and Jack Orr are tempted to move into Meshuggah-style djent at the end of the first verse they pull back, knowing the time is not quite right, but when they hit the chorus for the second time everybody piles in, with Troy Cameron attempting to keep some semblance of normality while ahead of him the guitarists are in freefall and down-tuned mayhem and behind him Steve Howden is attempting to destroy his cymbals and drums at the same time. I can imagine that when this is played live it is a lot longer, as there is the impression they are only just getting warmed up, and the final section could be two or three times the length.

Tool are an obvious influence, while Disturbed, Black Sabbath, Karnivool, System of a Down, Meshuggah and many others get thrown into the cauldron of the Witches Brew, and if this is what the single is like I can’t wait for a full album.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Elidi

Formed in 2016 and based in Christchurch, Elidi have been turning heads with their heavy Tool and Deftones influence and Karnivool like vocals. They are currently planning for a single release and NZ/Australia tour, to promote their debut EP titled Sin, recorded and produced by Sam K Sproull, Jon Grace, and music legend Tom Larkin at Homesurgery Recordings, Melbourne, Australia.

Heavy, driving, progressive rock, with moments of introspective contemplation, Elidi explores diverse musical and lyrical groove-oriented themes with an ear to the ground and an eye to the sky.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Elidi

Releases

There are no releases to display for Elidi.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Album Review: The New Blue - Pixie Williams Reimagined
06 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Before starting on the music on this tribute album, we first need to understand who Pixie Williams was and the impact she had on NZ music. Pixie was the first wahine Maori vocalist to reach number one on the New Zealand singles chart, with the song Blue Smoke in 1949.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/03/2021
02 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight was always going to be interesting, as this was the first time myself and my eldest daughter had been to a concert together for more than 16 years. The last time was for Bowling For Soup, and one of her achievements that night was reducing the average age of the audience, something she did again this evening.
Read More...
Bridge Burner - Album Review: Disempath
30 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from 2018’s Null Apostle, Auckland’s Bridge Burner are back with their second album, Disempath. Featuring guitarist Josh Hughes (Vassafor, Graves), vocalist Ben Read (ex-Ulcerate, In Dread Response), bassist Gary Brown, drummer Louis Malloy (ex-Anabyss) and guitarist Maxwell Gravelle (ex-Hexis, Setentis), here we have a group who are determined to push their music and their listeners to the very limits.
Read More...
Blindfolded and Led to the Woods - Album Review: Nightmare Withdrawals
25 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I first came across Christchurch-based band Blindfolded and Led to the Woods some four years back when they released their second album, Modern Adoxography. It had a huge impact on me, and I described it as having a musical foundation built upon brutal death metal, elements of demented grindcore and bizarre sci-fi tones weaving their way into the complex structures, resulting in an engaging and damaging listening experience.
Read More...
The Wake Up - Single Review: House of Cards
23 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Back in October I reviewed Palmerston North outfit The Wake Up's latest single, Worthy, which introduced new bassist Nathan Charles, and now here they are back with the seventh single of their career, and this time around they have a new guitarist in Trent Fairhurst. It sounds as if he has made an immediate impact as this is much heavier than their last one, and drummer Caleb Hickmott says, “it is the demon love child of Devilskin, Billie Eilish and Motley Crue”.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre, Cherry Blind & White Noise Mafia @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/03/2021
22 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Saturday night it was back to The Tuning Fork, at an ungodly hour as this was an All Ages show. It was only from looking at White Noise Mafia’s Facebook page in the afternoon that I realised they were going to be onstage at 7:15pm, so if I had not seen that I would have missed their complete set!
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Earth Beat Festival, Kaipara - 18/03/2021
20 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I have been trying to catch up with In The Shallows for ages, but even though they have been touring nationally, I have somehow managed to always be in another part of the country so kept missing them. We were going to meet up at Spirit Festival a few weeks back, but thanks to COVID that was postponed, and then I heard they would be playing at another Auckland festival, so I contacted Danni and we agreed Earth Beat was going to be the one.
Read More...
Soul Circle - Single Review: Y.O.U.
19 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Soul Circle describe themselves as a group of musicians dedicated to making music that touches the soul, and at least in this instance include Rhonda Hofmans (vocals), Chris Fish (guitars, keyboards, noises) and MPhatic (bass). The cover credits this release as featuring Moofish and Mphatic, so I really not much the wiser as to who Soul Circle actually are.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem