18 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bridge Burner - Album Review: Disempath

30 Mar 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Following on from 2018’s Null Apostle, Auckland’s Bridge Burner are back with their second album, Disempath. Featuring guitarist Josh Hughes (Vassafor, Graves), vocalist Ben Read (ex-Ulcerate, In Dread Response), bassist Gary Brown, drummer Louis Malloy (ex-Anabyss) and guitarist Maxwell Gravelle (ex-Hexis, Setentis), here we have a group who are determined to push their music and their listeners to the very limits. Nine songs in 26 minutes, their debut for American label Hibernation Release shows the Auckland-based band in a very angry frame of  mind indeed. Their mix of D-beat, crust, death metal, hardcore, punk and even some black metal is packed full of passion as they rail against the world.

The band members have come together from different areas of extreme music, and here they combine all those elements into one metallic nightmarish onslaught. Josh manages to restrain his grind influences for the most part, but there are indeed times such as on Anodyne Existence where they just let rip. I was fortunate to catch these guys alongside Josh’s other band, Graves, last year and at the time I said it was the first time I experienced volume being used as a weapon. Those two bands are complementary but for the most part very different indeed, as while Graves are far more straightforward, here we have an extreme band really mixing it up, so that each number is quite different, often with multiple sections contained in songs which are generally less than 3 minutes long. There is a real understanding of the need for dynamics, so there are times when they slow it down, others when the onslaught is quite muted, providing room for Ben to vent his rage, while at others it is incredibly passionate, and everyone is piling the needles deep into the red. Closer Abyssal takes the band deep into black metal territory, and if the whole album had been like this, with the guys wearing some decorative corpse paint then we would be talking about it in a very different manner indeed. That is one of the real delights of this release, in that although it is always at the extreme end of metal there is no attempt to stay in just one sub-genre, but instead they go where the music takes them, bringing together whatever elements feel right at the time.

Drummer Louis often sounds as if he is frantically on his own, providing multiple different patterns within the same number, as bassist Gary tends to lock in with the guitars, providing a really heavy triple threat with Josh and Maxwell. One of the times I played the album I concentrated just on the drumming, as it is exhilarating to hear so much going on behind the kit, with a drummer bringing in double bass pedals, or frantic rolls around the kit, but always in total sync with what is going on in front of him. Louis is providing a platform which then allows the bass and guitars to create merry hell in an incredibly tight approach which refuses to stay still and conform to what anyone might expect. Riffs come and go, melodic patterns change, they interweave, and then often everything changes. In Flaying God’s Children there are a few total melodic changes in a song which is less than 4 minutes long which are totally unexpected and take the number to a whole new level.

Earlier this week I reviewed the latest album by Christchurch-based band Blindfolded and Led To The Woods, and here we have another extreme metal release which is also pushing boundaries. I gave that album 5 *’s, and it would be wrong of me not to do the same here, as while quite different this is also another significant release from Aotearoa. Play it loud. Very loud.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

Releases

Disempath
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Null Apostle
Year: 2018
Type: Album
Mantras of Self Loathing
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
Kev's Top 10's - 2021
20 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
2021 has been a strange year, of that there has been no doubt whatsoever, but although everyone in Auckland is champing at the bit to be let out into the real world, it is probably best to remind ourselves that until we went into lockdown in August we were the envy of the world with festivals, plenty of beer, and the country being totally open (apart from the borders). At that time, I had been to more than 30 gigs, and was on course to hit 50 for the year, never thinking for a minute that August would be the last time I saw a band play live.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - Album Review: The Finished Touch
19 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is a direct continuation of the work displayed by Samantha on the Fly Bird Fly EP which came out a few months ago, except this time around she has managed to secure the services of drummers Mars Slater Vitai and Olive Konai, who between them share the duties on this 16-track 39-minute-long album. They fit in well with the ethos and spirit of Samantha, not attempting to bring in any finesse of polish, but instead keeping to the very lo-fi and naïve approach demonstrated by the singer/guitarist.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem