24 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Blindfolded and Led to the Woods - Album Review: Nightmare Withdrawals

25 Mar 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I first came across Christchurch-based band Blindfolded and Led to the Woods some four years back when they released their second album, Modern Adoxography. It had a huge impact on me, and I described it as having a musical foundation built upon brutal death metal, elements of demented grindcore and bizarre sci-fi tones weaving their way into the complex structures, resulting in an engaging and damaging listening experience. Not long after that, Sepultura made the decision to play a Student Union gig in the city (I kid you not), and as support they not only had the mighty Death Angel, but BALTTW opened the evening. The mix of death-influenced metal combining with thrash and groove made for an unforgettable night and is still one of my favourite gigs. Needless to say, when I heard it was time for the third album, I prepared myself for quite an onslaught, and I was not disappointed.

Callum Gay of Wellington-based Spook The Horses provides guest vocals on Lucid Visitations, but surely the coup for the band must be the appearance of none other than legendary Nile founder Karl Sanders who provides his delicate touch to the single Atop The Wings Of A Magpie. When it comes to extreme music there are few with such a track record of leading the way and breaking new grounds within the scene, and he said that when he first heard the track,  he felt it was “bursting with feeling and atmosphere [and] a real sense of disorientation, despair, fear of the unknown, and a loss of humanity”. Quite a statement, but there again this is quite an album. Since the last release they have parted company with Jared Morgan, who has been replaced by Ben Atkinson of Athenic, but everyone else in the band has been there since the beginning more than a decade ago, and it shows.

For those who do not normally listen to this style of music it would be easy to discount it as yet another death metal album, but what we have here is an incredible sense of maturity which adds to the sheer depth and breadth of this release. When they are at full pelt then the music is driving and powerful, and it is easy to look past the complex patterns coming from the drums, the rough buzzsaw bass, or the twin guitars which lock in as one and mix together multiple different death and black metal styles, with wonderful growls from singer Stace Fifield. But what makes this album stand out from so many is the use of dynamics which make the light seem out of place and the darker material even heavier; there are so many different sections and tempos within the songs themselves, and the more one is really prepared to pay attention the more there is to discover. Lemmy famously once sang “Only way to feel the noise, Is when it's good and loud”, and while in many ways it can be argued that is the only way to get the best from Nightmare Withdrawals, this is actually a Progressive Death album that is musically all over the place and consequently this can even be played at more ‘normal’ volumes, even though it is incredibly intense.

The band feel this is a “coming of age” album for them, and I can certainly understand that viewpoint as it is mature and solid. Anyone who has been living in Christchurch within the last ten or so years has been through some pretty harrowing experiences, and the band have channelled these feelings into the album, but have also recognised that not everything results in aggression and that there are also times for self-reflection and beauty alongside the pain. This is an album which is going to find them gaining a great deal of fans outside of Aotearoa, and deservedly so. All we have to do now is wait for the tour, but until then this is going to stay on repeat as extreme music rarely gets better than this.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Blindfolded and Led to the Woods

Blindfolded and Led to the Woods formed from the dissolving band Sacrament which featured members J-rad (guitars, vocals) Stuart (guitars, vocals) and Tim on drums. Just before the end of Sacrament, Jazz also joined the band on 3rd guitar, changing their sound dramatically. Once the decision was made to end Sacrament once and for all Stuart began writing the first songs for Blindfolded.

After getting down half a set the band decided to recruit a vocalist, and the songs were becoming too complex for J-Rad and Stuart to continue singing over, so the decision was made to ask friend, Stace Fifield to join. He accepted and immediately gave the band a new feel and sound with his black metal high screams and brutal low growls. The band played thier first show at Als Bar on April 9th, 2010. At this show Stuart was approached by Nick Smith, and he made the offer to play bass for Blindfolded. The band talked it over and decided to give him a shot... Nick learned the whole set in 9 days and went on to play his first show with the band, nailing the performance securing his place as bass player for Blindfolded and Led to the Woods.

In the next stage of BALTTW Jazz was relieved of his duties in the band, and they continued to advance as a 5 piece, travelling the country destroying crowds young and old. 2011 saw Blindfolded and led to the woods sign to Swimming with sharks records USA, not bad for some drunken dudes from CHCH, New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Blindfolded and Led to the Woods

Releases

Nightmare Withdrawals
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Modern Adoxography
Year: 2017
Type: Album
My Vaseline Diaries
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem