8 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Blindfolded and Led to the Woods - Album Review: Nightmare Withdrawals

25 Mar 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

I first came across Christchurch-based band Blindfolded and Led to the Woods some four years back when they released their second album, Modern Adoxography. It had a huge impact on me, and I described it as having a musical foundation built upon brutal death metal, elements of demented grindcore and bizarre sci-fi tones weaving their way into the complex structures, resulting in an engaging and damaging listening experience. Not long after that, Sepultura made the decision to play a Student Union gig in the city (I kid you not), and as support they not only had the mighty Death Angel, but BALTTW opened the evening. The mix of death-influenced metal combining with thrash and groove made for an unforgettable night and is still one of my favourite gigs. Needless to say, when I heard it was time for the third album, I prepared myself for quite an onslaught, and I was not disappointed.

Callum Gay of Wellington-based Spook The Horses provides guest vocals on Lucid Visitations, but surely the coup for the band must be the appearance of none other than legendary Nile founder Karl Sanders who provides his delicate touch to the single Atop The Wings Of A Magpie. When it comes to extreme music there are few with such a track record of leading the way and breaking new grounds within the scene, and he said that when he first heard the track,  he felt it was “bursting with feeling and atmosphere [and] a real sense of disorientation, despair, fear of the unknown, and a loss of humanity”. Quite a statement, but there again this is quite an album. Since the last release they have parted company with Jared Morgan, who has been replaced by Ben Atkinson of Athenic, but everyone else in the band has been there since the beginning more than a decade ago, and it shows.

For those who do not normally listen to this style of music it would be easy to discount it as yet another death metal album, but what we have here is an incredible sense of maturity which adds to the sheer depth and breadth of this release. When they are at full pelt then the music is driving and powerful, and it is easy to look past the complex patterns coming from the drums, the rough buzzsaw bass, or the twin guitars which lock in as one and mix together multiple different death and black metal styles, with wonderful growls from singer Stace Fifield. But what makes this album stand out from so many is the use of dynamics which make the light seem out of place and the darker material even heavier; there are so many different sections and tempos within the songs themselves, and the more one is really prepared to pay attention the more there is to discover. Lemmy famously once sang “Only way to feel the noise, Is when it's good and loud”, and while in many ways it can be argued that is the only way to get the best from Nightmare Withdrawals, this is actually a Progressive Death album that is musically all over the place and consequently this can even be played at more ‘normal’ volumes, even though it is incredibly intense.

The band feel this is a “coming of age” album for them, and I can certainly understand that viewpoint as it is mature and solid. Anyone who has been living in Christchurch within the last ten or so years has been through some pretty harrowing experiences, and the band have channelled these feelings into the album, but have also recognised that not everything results in aggression and that there are also times for self-reflection and beauty alongside the pain. This is an album which is going to find them gaining a great deal of fans outside of Aotearoa, and deservedly so. All we have to do now is wait for the tour, but until then this is going to stay on repeat as extreme music rarely gets better than this.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Blindfolded and Led to the Woods

Blindfolded and Led to the Woods formed from the dissolving band Sacrament which featured members J-rad (guitars, vocals) Stuart (guitars, vocals) and Tim on drums. Just before the end of Sacrament, Jazz also joined the band on 3rd guitar, changing their sound dramatically. Once the decision was made to end Sacrament once and for all Stuart began writing the first songs for Blindfolded.

After getting down half a set the band decided to recruit a vocalist, and the songs were becoming too complex for J-Rad and Stuart to continue singing over, so the decision was made to ask friend, Stace Fifield to join. He accepted and immediately gave the band a new feel and sound with his black metal high screams and brutal low growls. The band played thier first show at Als Bar on April 9th, 2010. At this show Stuart was approached by Nick Smith, and he made the offer to play bass for Blindfolded. The band talked it over and decided to give him a shot... Nick learned the whole set in 9 days and went on to play his first show with the band, nailing the performance securing his place as bass player for Blindfolded and Led to the Woods.

In the next stage of BALTTW Jazz was relieved of his duties in the band, and they continued to advance as a 5 piece, travelling the country destroying crowds young and old. 2011 saw Blindfolded and led to the woods sign to Swimming with sharks records USA, not bad for some drunken dudes from CHCH, New Zealand.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Blindfolded and Led to the Woods

Releases

Nightmare Withdrawals
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Modern Adoxography
Year: 2017
Type: Album
My Vaseline Diaries
Year: 2014
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Oliver Birch - Album Review: Burning Daylight
05 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This is the debut album from Auckland musician, Oliver Birch, although older versions of many of the songs contained within have already been made available as singles. When the album started with the lengthy keyboard chords and feedback intro I thought it would fall into krautrock, but instead it quickly changed into a psychedelic experimental art rock number with emotionally charged vocals and an outright refusal to conform to any expectations.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Velvet Butterfly
03 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Black Velvet Butterfly are a one-man band from Auckland featuring James Castady-Kristament. I was intrigued to be sent this as when I looked on their Bandcamp page it said, “It may just well be the coolest thing you’ve heard in the Goth scene since Type O Negative.
Read More...
Bill Angus and the Mighty Ways - Album Review: All Night Before the World Began
01 Aug 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bill had a musical career in England before deciding to do something different, and returned to his roots when he started working in New Zealand. This is his third album.
Read More...
Gig Review: Antagonist A.D. @ Galatos, Auckland - 30/07/2022
31 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Once more into the breach dear friends, as I made my way into the city for the third night in a row. I knew this was going to be the most dramatic gig of the week and was one I had been looking forward to for months.
Read More...
Gig Review: Reb Fountain @ Town Hall, Auckland - 29/07/2022
30 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back into central Auckland for the second consecutive evening, this time to see an artist for whom I have great admiration for the first time, and whose latest album, Iris, was rightfully in my Top Ten of 2021. Until last month it had been years since I had been in Auckland Town Hall for a gig, but here I was again, this time for one of the series of Auckland Elemental events, and I could see lighting gantries across much of the venue so knew we were in for quite some night.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 28/07/2022
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Down to the Tuning Fork on a school night, whatever next?! Mind you, it was for a special occasion as Capital Theatre were back in town and it has been way too long since I last saw them play (thanks Covid).
Read More...
Infinity Ritual - EP Review: Infinity Ritual
28 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut EP from New Plymouth trio Adam Colless (guitars, vocals), Jason Karam (bass, vocals, mellotron) and Mark Thomas (drums and percussion). The four songs, 23 minutes in length, show a band who are bringing together groove metal with stoner, displaying plenty of bottom end with rich distortion.
Read More...
Sea Mouse - EP Review: Evil Heart
27 Jul 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is a time in many music lover’s lives when they finally fall into the caress of the blues. Everyone has their own genre they prefer, but the best blues is that which really calls to the listener on an emotional level, and for me that means two very different strands, and my favourite depends on what I am feeling like on any particular day.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem