27 Jan 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Wake Up - Single Review: House of Cards

23 Mar 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Back in October I reviewed Palmerston North outfit The Wake Up's latest single, Worthy, which introduced new bassist Nathan Charles, and now here they are back with the seventh single of their career, and this time around they have a new guitarist in Trent Fairhurst. It sounds as if he has made an immediate impact as this is much heavier than their last one, and drummer Caleb Hickmott says, “it is the demon love child of Devilskin, Billie Eilish and Motley Crue”. My initial reaction was to think that this was just something to say to get people wondering what was going on, but the more I think about it the more I think he may just have hit the nail on the head.

This is commercial pop punk, with plenty of rock, but the keyboards take the edge off at times, while Laura McGaffin’s vocals contain a sense of naivety and honesty which really fits the overall sound. The guitars are often kept quite in the background, but Nathan lets the band get on with it for complete sections, only bringing in the bass on the chorus or at set points, which gives the song a quite distinctive feel. This leaves Laura out at the front, and it is only during the bridge and chorus that everyone is playing and providing that additional support. In many ways, this is a quite basic and repetitive song, but the arrangement is clever, drawing attention to different elements, while the change in pace 2/3 of the way through works really well. Allowing Laura to sing a line without any backing is also a nice touch, as it breaks the buzzsaw riffing and provides the dynamics which are required.

I can really imagine these guys going down a storm at the Ding Dong and I hope they make a trip up to Auckland soon, as I really would like to catch them at a gig. This is another really enjoyable single, and I look forward to their debut EP which will be available later this year.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Wake Up

Both Drummer Caleb and Guitarist Chris met in 2015 when both local bands were going to compete on XFactor NZ, but after a short appearance on telly neither band won, and they went back home to Palmy... only for both to then bump into each other, drink a hot cuppa, record furiously, hone their skills on their instruments and take on the newly appointed singer Laura fresh from Music school, With at least a albums worth of songs already recorded, they set to release a single each upcoming month for 2019!

With a truck load of influences behind each of the 3 members in the band a few stand out in the imaginary musical venn diagram, Such as Paramore, Fall Out Boy & Pink
But don't let that hide the eclectic mix of other artists that inspired their songs along the way.
Truly songs built to remind you of that great summer time vibe, bringing a smile to your face.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Wake Up

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Wake Up.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Melanie - EP Review: ABCD
25 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Since releasing their debut EP back in 2018, Auckland pop/punk outfit Melanie have been making quite a name for themselves in the old-fashioned way of doing things, namely playing anywhere and everywhere, and having total belief in themselves and their music. When I first saw them, I was impressed that here was an unsigned band who had invested in having their debut album pressed in vinyl and had a few different t-shirts available as well as some other merch including stickers.
Read More...
Gig Review: Checaine & After Forever @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 22/01/2022
23 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
As normal I got in early to the venue, then soon left again to have a beer up the road with the guys from Checaine. I was mightily impressed as they had brought a bus up from Hamilton with a load of fans onboard – one way of guaranteeing playing in a strange town in front of a friendly crowd.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blindfolded and Led To The Woods @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 15/01/2022
16 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I have been looking forward to tonight for ages, as Auckland went into lockdown in August with all gigs being cancelled until just before Christmas, and even then, that was with limited attendance. This means that tonight was going to be my first gig in five months, and given that I covered more than 30 in the first part of the year, that was some cold turkey.
Read More...
Fool's Lagoon - Single Review: Bizarre
13 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Bizarre is the debut single from Auckland-based quintet Fool’s Lagoon. Mark, Connor, Joe, Matt and Joshua have created a bright and summery indie pop jangler which is heavily guitar-based yet is somehow light and airy throughout.
Read More...
Powder Chutes - EP Review: Sweet Noise Pollution
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There is always that little hint of concern when reading a press release for a new EP and realise it contains a quote from yours truly for the single which was taken from it. How would they take it this time around if I panned this release?
Read More...
Tall Folk - Album Review: Wiser
11 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
2021 was a wonderful musical adventure for me as I threw myself into the NZ music scene, and towards the end of the year I realised that with nearly 200 reviews of local music I really should work out my Top 10 singles, EP’s, albums and gigs (check out https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Pass The Peas - EP Review: Pop
06 Jan 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This three-track EP is the latest release from Poneke-based quintet Pass The Peas, who describe their music as Wasabi spicy Rock n' Roll, whatever that means. To my ears it means they play mid-paced alternative pop rock with a strong concentration on the gravelly and emotional vocals of Kurt with loads of space within the arrangements, which are well-produced.
Read More...
Black Sands - Single Review: Apocalypse of Eden
22 Dec 2021 // by Kev Rowland
To my mind this single is long overdue, as I have been lucky enough to catch these guys play live a few times this year and they always put on an amazing show. Comprising Cameron Owens (guitars), Ruaidri Keens (guitars), Matt Hammond (bass) and James Trimmer (drums) they are one of those very rare breeds, a hard-hitting metal act with no need for a singer.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOWN UNDER
    Luude feat. Colin Hay
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • FINGERS CROSSED
    Lauren Spencer-Smith
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem