20 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Wake Up - Single Review: House of Cards

23 Mar 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Back in October I reviewed Palmerston North outfit The Wake Up's latest single, Worthy, which introduced new bassist Nathan Charles, and now here they are back with the seventh single of their career, and this time around they have a new guitarist in Trent Fairhurst. It sounds as if he has made an immediate impact as this is much heavier than their last one, and drummer Caleb Hickmott says, “it is the demon love child of Devilskin, Billie Eilish and Motley Crue”. My initial reaction was to think that this was just something to say to get people wondering what was going on, but the more I think about it the more I think he may just have hit the nail on the head.

This is commercial pop punk, with plenty of rock, but the keyboards take the edge off at times, while Laura McGaffin’s vocals contain a sense of naivety and honesty which really fits the overall sound. The guitars are often kept quite in the background, but Nathan lets the band get on with it for complete sections, only bringing in the bass on the chorus or at set points, which gives the song a quite distinctive feel. This leaves Laura out at the front, and it is only during the bridge and chorus that everyone is playing and providing that additional support. In many ways, this is a quite basic and repetitive song, but the arrangement is clever, drawing attention to different elements, while the change in pace 2/3 of the way through works really well. Allowing Laura to sing a line without any backing is also a nice touch, as it breaks the buzzsaw riffing and provides the dynamics which are required.

I can really imagine these guys going down a storm at the Ding Dong and I hope they make a trip up to Auckland soon, as I really would like to catch them at a gig. This is another really enjoyable single, and I look forward to their debut EP which will be available later this year.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About The Wake Up

Both Drummer Caleb and Guitarist Chris met in 2015 when both local bands were going to compete on XFactor NZ, but after a short appearance on telly neither band won, and they went back home to Palmy... only for both to then bump into each other, drink a hot cuppa, record furiously, hone their skills on their instruments and take on the newly appointed singer Laura fresh from Music school, With at least a albums worth of songs already recorded, they set to release a single each upcoming month for 2019!

With a truck load of influences behind each of the 3 members in the band a few stand out in the imaginary musical venn diagram, Such as Paramore, Fall Out Boy & Pink
But don't let that hide the eclectic mix of other artists that inspired their songs along the way.
Truly songs built to remind you of that great summer time vibe, bringing a smile to your face.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Wake Up

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Wake Up.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
Channeled - EP Review: Perception
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
As I have said previously, 2020 was a breakthrough year for Channeled, as Ben Ruegg recorded the second album and formed an operational live band to make it more than just a studio project. They made it through to the final of the Ding Dong Lounge Battle of the Bands and set up a headline show at the same venue with Cafe Fistfight and Mariner as support to celebrate the release of I Heard Penelope Sing, but then disaster struck with Ben being rushed to hospital following a Grand Mal seizure.
Read More...
Empress - EP Review: Trash Dynasty
10 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Empress were formed by guitarist/singer Lora Thompson and drummer Craig Gilliver after the demise of their previous project, Cheshire Grimm with whom they toured the length of NZ, played with international acts and local superstars, as well as releasing material along the way. The lead track from this EP, Sailing the Seas of Grease, was actually released towards the end of 2020 but it has taken until now for their six-track 23-minute-long debut EP to made available.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem