11 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Alders - Single Review: Hounds

23 Mar 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

The new track from AldersHounds, is quite a fun time alright! With a feel that seems inspired by the likes of Smash Mouth's Astro Lounge, The Dandy Warhols and 60's psychedelic pop-rock. It sounds absolutely killer. For a solo project, there is a lot happening here which goes to show the care to detail.

Sonically, it ebbs and flows. The instruments that accompany the track jump in and out where needed, like a synth to push a hook, the electric organ to fill up the harmony. On top of this, you get the stabbing guitars that are perfectly mixed. And the vocals sound fantastic for this style.

Overall, a great track that has a clear vision of what it wants to achieve and does it in style.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Alders

Alders is the solo project of New Zealand based songwriter and producer Mitch Alderlieste.

Blending his soaring husky vocals with rhythmic guitars, moody piano lines and subtle synths, Alders takes inspiration from the rock, pop, alternative and indie genres to produce a fresh, well rounded take on modern music.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Alders

Releases

There are no releases to display for Alders.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Aidan Fine - Single Review: CLV
21 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Quick fire rapid lyrics. That’s what I like here.
Read More...
Swerve City @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 13/03/2021
14 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
It's a packed house. That's for sure.
Read More...
Keeley Shade - Single Review: On My Mind
11 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
On My Mind is a perfect example of how simple ideas can become fleshed out to provide the listener an experience worth repeating.Keeley Shade, a Canadian-born New Zealand-based singer-songwriter is releasing her debut single On My Mind.
Read More...
James Loan - EP Review: The Loan To Society
10 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
James Loan is a new young Rap/Drill artist that at only age 16 has just released his EP, The Loan To Society. I commend this effort.
Read More...
JAN - Single Review: Wud?
06 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Wud? is a new track from JAN featuring Anna Bennetto and Sam Higham.
Read More...
Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm
26 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: The Good Things
18 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The Good Things is the latest LP from the 10-piece live hip-hop band Raw Collective from Wellington. The album is quite something that showcases the versatility of the group's ability to swing from different styles of hip-hop, funk and soul.
Read More...
Fire For Glory - EP Review: Life Of The Party
16 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yeah, bro. Get that punk-pop/rock vibe.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem