27 Jul 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Thunderground - Album Review: Thunderground

18 Mar 2021 // A review by Paul Goddard

Headphones in, let's go.

So the drummer keeps beat, guitars wail and scream, the singer.... blah blah blah.... nah fuck that!

I am out on my bike cycling through a cold English countryside after 6 months of lockdown with another 4 months to go until BOJO and his crowd of out of touch, privileged cronies decide we can get back to some form of normality and maybe actually go to see a live gig again.

My Kiwi friends, you don't know how lucky you are.

I am pissed off and right now as I head up a fucking stupidly steep hill the noise hitting my skull is making me smile like a demented lunatic.

I need this today, the self-titled album from Thunderground is an adrenaline rush, a glimpse of what is to come once we can travel again and get out.

I throw caution and safety to the wind as I look sideways while heading at breakneck speed down the other side of the hill not wanting the familiarity of verse, chorus, verse, chorus, break, chorus I am fused into the punked-up blues of 11:11 with the beat matching my racing pulse.

Heading into town, the quiet streets and park benches where old people who have been vaccinated gather whilst the youth stay home in front of the PS5. It's a stark contrast to what is happening in my head.

My mind transports me to a sweaty bar, maybe Ding Dong Lounge? This music in my ears turns into a gig, I am happy, the energy is high and the music is racing. I have never seen Thunderground but in my mind this gig is awesome. It's what I need right now.

This is why music is so important.

Today Thunderground gave me what I needed and they will do it again and again on each listen. If you like your music to have energy, attitude and be just the right side of noisy and melodic then you need to add Thunderground to your playlist.

As I head back to the refrain of "I need to get home" from the excellently titled Street King Showdown, it reminds me of the last gig I went to which was Frank Carter and the Rattlesnakes.

I miss live music but being able to discover bands like Thunderground will keep me going until then.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Thunderground

Thunderground are a punk/metal band based in Auckland. They are known for their catchy and hard-hitting tunes. Their shows are hectic and get the crowd moshing.

Their debut single Confident Liar will be out on 26 November 2020.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Thunderground

Releases

Thunderground
Year: 2020
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

FRE3DOM - Single Review: Back To The Beginning
12 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Looking back to move forward. Musicians have done this from the beginning.
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Seas of Fallen Concern
21 Jan 2021 // by Paul Goddard
I like to be transported. Moved to a different place.
Read More...
Manzo - Single Review: Working Class Hero (John Lennon Cover)
05 Dec 2020 // by Paul Goddard
In 1946 John Lennon almost became a Kiwi. His estranged father took him to Blackpool with the intention of heading over with John to start a new life in NZ.
Read More...
The Avondale Spiders - Single Review: Black Magik Pills
05 Nov 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Do you miss anything at the moment?The world is in a crazy place and it is easy to not want to look forward when the future doesn’t look so bright.
Read More...
Coffin Club - Single Review: Gaslight
08 Oct 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Gaslight (or rather Gaslighting) has become a bit of a buzz word recently and sits perfectly as the title for this short sharp shock of fuzzed up punk from Auckland three piece Coffin Club.Unlike a real Gaslight, this song is no slow burner.
Read More...
The Response - Single Review: All Of My Flaws
24 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Smooth.A word that sounds just as good as it looks.
Read More...
EP Review: Dick Raine and Dick’s Guns
08 Sep 2020 // by Paul Goddard
Lockdowns are shit. A few months ago, we didn’t even know what a lockdown was nor social distancing and let’s face it the world is pretty fucked at the moment.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Nothing Ever Happens
25 Aug 2020 // by Paul Goddard
There are ear worms.Then there is this little snaky bastard of a tune from Big Scout.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BEGGIN'
    Måneskin
  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • AIN'T S**T
    Doja Cat
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem