28 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Saddleblasters - Single Review: Aupouri Ange

16 Mar 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

There cannot be many acts who can say they kept The Beatles off the number one slot in their heyday, but when John Grenell aka John Hore released Encore back in 1965, he did just that, outselling Help! and going into the charts straight at number one. Over the years he has had a huge impact on the country scene in New Zealand, even having a number one hit single in the Nineties with his cover of Jim Reeves’ Welcome To Our World. The Saddleblasters are John, along with cowboy singer-songwriter Neil Hersey and music producer Dave Maybee, and they have toured the length and breadth of the country repeatedly, recording songs in different sessions in different studios, many of which were promptly lost to time. However, due to the interest of a new record label they have revisited the old sessions and have uncovered 25 songs recorded mostly between 1989 to 2006, which are going to be released over two albums, with the single Aupouri Angel being the lead number.

There was not a great amount of music played in my house when I was growing up, although as a teenager I used to steal my dad’s jazz albums and teach myself about a very strange genre indeed, but my nan was a huge lover of country music in general, and Jim Reeves in particular. This meant that when I went to her house as a fairly young boy, I was able to play her records, and taught myself about a style of music I never heard anywhere else. As soon as I put this on, I was reminded of those days, not that The Saddleblasters sound like Jim Reeves, but there is something about their style which is so very far removed indeed from alt-country and modern styles. There is no rush, no need to push through the song, just harmony vocals, a solid rhythm section, some guitars, and the use of a harmonica at the right time. This is a song that is ageless, full of dust and experience, nothing fancy, just the guys doing what they have done so many times on stage. It would not surprise me to be told this is a one-take live performance and that the guys sat down afterwards, had a beer, and reflected on a job well done.

There is incredible depth and gravitas with this, no funky dance moves, or slick videos, it is all about musicians telling their story, taking us back in time as if they had actually lived it. It feels raw, it feels real, and very special indeed.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Saddleblasters

The Saddleblasters are a cowboy-country outfit consisting of singer John (Hore) Grenell, cowboy singer-songwriter Neil Hersey and music producer Dave Maybee.

The Saddleblasters have performed with American country music supergroup “The Highwaymen” (Willie Nelson, Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings & Kris Kristofferson).

John Grenell of The Saddleblasters had a New Zealand number one hit record in the 90’s with the Jim Reeves song Welcome To Our World. The song was heavily featured nationally in a Toyota vehicle TV advertising campaign, and produced by American superstar country singer Emmylou Harris’s musical director Wayne Goodwin.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Saddleblasters

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Saddleblasters.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Plum Green - Album Review: Somnambulist
25 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Born in a squat in England, raised in New Zealand, and presently residing in Melbourne, here we have the latest release from dream folk artist Plum Green. I have not previously come across any of her other albums, but somehow, I can see I need to undertake some investigations as this is a very special album indeed.
Read More...
Diehards of Deep Dish - Album Review: Traditional Speciality Guaranteed
25 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is a long history of band members using pseudonyms, with Ramones probably being the most famous, and here we have a band who use pseudonyms for their pseudonyms, so we have Cheese (Joey Provolone), Tomato (Ryley Base), Wheat (Beef Richards), Mushrooms (Mattzarella Gibson) and Herbs (Herbie Handcooked). I thought Cafe Fistfight had probably taken the foodie elements to the extreme with songs such as King Hit Quiche, but here we have six songs all aimed at the pizza lovers among us.
Read More...
Power The Light - Single Review: Snowing
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Power The Light is Max Roskilly, an 18-year-old musician who is based in Auckland , and has been self-releasing music for the last four years already, including the album Blueprints a while back. This is his second single in recent months, following on from Skys where he showed an interest more in krautrock than in is normal indie-jazz style.
Read More...
Single Review: Glass Throne
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Glass Throne are an Auckland-based power trio comprising Justin Robinson (lead vocals, bass, guitar), Owen McKibbin (guitar, organ, backing vocals) and Daniel Cutfield (drums, percussion, backing vocals). I have managed to catch them play live a few times over the last year, and what always strikes me is just how different they are to the rest of the local scene, coming through as a mix of classic Seventies hard rock, progressive and modern alt rock.
Read More...
On Tick - Single Review: Nothing New
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Tick is the brainchild of brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar), and was formed from the ashes of their previous musical outfit, Evil Tomato, who began as a band in 2012. They came across 5-string bassist Matt Hammond when they heard the demoes for Black Sands, which he not only produced but played on, and he joined forces to work with them on the album and to allow them to play in the Ding Dong Battle of the Bands.
Read More...
Ravenhall - EP Review: The Coming Storm
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Ravenhall were formed by guitarist Joe Ravenhall and singer Chris Brebner in 2015. They were both already veterans of the Auckland scene, and wanted to perform music which concentrated on the power of acoustic guitar, wonderful vocals, plus some gentle electronic backing, and that is certainly what we have here.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem