1 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Saddleblasters - Single Review: Aupouri Ange

16 Mar 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

There cannot be many acts who can say they kept The Beatles off the number one slot in their heyday, but when John Grenell aka John Hore released Encore back in 1965, he did just that, outselling Help! and going into the charts straight at number one. Over the years he has had a huge impact on the country scene in New Zealand, even having a number one hit single in the Nineties with his cover of Jim Reeves’ Welcome To Our World. The Saddleblasters are John, along with cowboy singer-songwriter Neil Hersey and music producer Dave Maybee, and they have toured the length and breadth of the country repeatedly, recording songs in different sessions in different studios, many of which were promptly lost to time. However, due to the interest of a new record label they have revisited the old sessions and have uncovered 25 songs recorded mostly between 1989 to 2006, which are going to be released over two albums, with the single Aupouri Angel being the lead number.

There was not a great amount of music played in my house when I was growing up, although as a teenager I used to steal my dad’s jazz albums and teach myself about a very strange genre indeed, but my nan was a huge lover of country music in general, and Jim Reeves in particular. This meant that when I went to her house as a fairly young boy, I was able to play her records, and taught myself about a style of music I never heard anywhere else. As soon as I put this on, I was reminded of those days, not that The Saddleblasters sound like Jim Reeves, but there is something about their style which is so very far removed indeed from alt-country and modern styles. There is no rush, no need to push through the song, just harmony vocals, a solid rhythm section, some guitars, and the use of a harmonica at the right time. This is a song that is ageless, full of dust and experience, nothing fancy, just the guys doing what they have done so many times on stage. It would not surprise me to be told this is a one-take live performance and that the guys sat down afterwards, had a beer, and reflected on a job well done.

There is incredible depth and gravitas with this, no funky dance moves, or slick videos, it is all about musicians telling their story, taking us back in time as if they had actually lived it. It feels raw, it feels real, and very special indeed.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About The Saddleblasters

The Saddleblasters are a cowboy-country outfit consisting of singer John (Hore) Grenell, cowboy singer-songwriter Neil Hersey and music producer Dave Maybee.

The Saddleblasters have performed with American country music supergroup “The Highwaymen” (Willie Nelson, Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings & Kris Kristofferson).

John Grenell of The Saddleblasters had a New Zealand number one hit record in the 90’s with the Jim Reeves song Welcome To Our World. The song was heavily featured nationally in a Toyota vehicle TV advertising campaign, and produced by American superstar country singer Emmylou Harris’s musical director Wayne Goodwin.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for The Saddleblasters

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Saddleblasters.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Dark Divinity - Single Review: Left For Dead
30 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Formed in 2017 by drummer Ian Moir, melodic death metal act Dark Divinity have been through quite a lot in the last five years, as not only have they supported the likes of At The Gates, The Haunted, The Black Dahlia Murder and Psycroptic but have already released an EP, some singles and have of course been running the gamut of line-up changes. The most recent of these has seen the departure of singer Jolene Tempest and the return to a male singer in Jesse Wheeler, with the line-up completed by guitarist/bassist Paul Stewart and guitarist Jiji Aligno.
Read More...
Tryonics - Album Review: Fragmented
29 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. It is completely a one-man affair as Hap not only provided all the music and vocals but also recorded and mixed it as well.
Read More...
Anxiety Club - Single Review: Carousel
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the latest single from Wellington-based Anxiety Club, taken from the forthcoming album Old Dreams, but anyone expecting more of their guitar-led music is going to be in for quite a surprise as there has been a major shift in their sound, caused by circumstance as much as by design. Like many bands unable to perform or tour over the pandemic, they used the downtime to focus on new songs, but that was not their only issue.
Read More...
Capital Theatre - Album Review: A Hero's Journey
24 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in March last year I made my way to the Tuning Fork to catch a three-band bill, one of whom was Capital Theatre. At that point I had not heard any of their material, so was mightily impressed to discover they had recorded a concept album for their debut with Mike Clink (Guns ‘n’ Roses, Megadeth etc) in America, and that night they were playing it in sequence.
Read More...
Sam Bartells - Single Review: Good Intentions
23 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Last year I saw Sam Bartells at The Tuning Fork with a full band, and then a few weeks ago he was playing acoustically at a tiny venue in Ponsonby with just a keyboard player for support (what an incredible night that was). In some ways his latest single is a combination of those two very different facets, as the central core of his music is always his acoustic and vocals.
Read More...
South for Winter - EP Review: Acoustic Sessions
22 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Earlier this year I agreed to review a concert of the Nashville-based husband and wife duo of Nick Stone (vocals, guitar) and Dani Cichon (vocals, mandolin), without previously having heard any of their music and it is fair to say I was blown away. I was fortunate enough to see them on two consecutive nights, and the mix of Dani’s pure, clear vocals with Nick’s more classical tones was something to behold.
Read More...
Recitals - Single Review: Rock Dove
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Recitals are a 7-piece band based in both Te Whanganui-A-Tara (Wellington) and Tamaki Makaurau (Auckland) and comprise Xanthe Rook (bass, vocals), Tharushi Bowatte (trumpet), Carla Camilleri (keyboards, vocals), Olivia Wilding (cello), Christian Dimick (guitar, vocals), Josh Finegan (drums), and Sam Curtiss (guitar). Even before playing the first single from their debut album Orbit I (released at the end of August on Flying Nun Records) I was intrigued by the line-up as it is unusual to find both a trumpeter and cellist in the same band, and having now listened to the single I am still intrigued, but now it is because I am wondering what the album is like.
Read More...
Matt Joe Gow - Album Review: Break, Rattle and Roll
19 Jun 2022 // by Kev Rowland
After touring and playing numerous festivals in support of Seven Years, Matt returned to the studio in 2018 to record the follow-up, Break, Rattle and Roll. Released to wide acclaim, it went one better than his previous release and was awarded Best Country Album in the 2019 Music Victoria Awards.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
  • STICKY
    Drake
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem