27 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Max Merritt & The Meteors - Album Review: i can dream

16 Mar 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

There is no doubt that Max Merritt is a Kiwi icon, seen as one of the region’s most important musicians to come out of the Fifties, with his impact on soul, rock and R'n'B meaning he was inducted into both the ARIA Hall of Fame and the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame. Sadly, he was diagnosed with a rare auto immune disease in 2007, and died in Los Angeles, California, on 24th September 2020, at the age of 79. Prior to his death he had been working on his first new album for some forty years, i can dream (all in lower case),

The album comprises three different recording periods, with five songs recorded in Los Angeles between 2011 and 2020, another two recorded in 2018 at a different studio, plus ten songs recorded in Melbourne in 2002 for what was being described back then as being a new album. The result is something which actually sounds as if it was recorded at one period in time as opposed to being spread out, with the only real differentiation being the production. Overall, the production is very good, but there are also times when it really grates as auto tune has been used in certain places. This is one of my pet hates in the modern music scene, even more than my loathing of drum machines before they became decent, and in many ways, this has done a disservice to the end result, which is a really enjoyable album indeed, and I would much rather this had been left far rawer.

Max will probably always be best remembered for Slipping Away, a major hit in both Australia and New Zealand in 1975, and with this album we are definitely taken back to the Seventies. He has a wonderful voice, mellow and gentle and in many ways reminiscent of a more soulful Bob Seger from that period. Add in some wonderful songs, with great lyrics and hooks, lush backing vocals, and one can see the flares and platforms. There are times when he brings in a much stronger blues influence, and mixes up the accompaniment, including an accordion, slide guitar or brass, all of which makes this feel far more earthy and real. Sunbury is a real delight, a song out of time, as he sings about the 1972 Sunbury Festival where Max Merritt & the Meteors was one of the acts (they also played in 1973), and sings the line “if you remember Sunbury, you weren’t there!”

It is mellow, easy listening, yet also with an edge and one can certainly hear why he was such a major draw, as he just sounds totally relaxed and fully in control at all times. It is the type of album that can be played and enjoyed on first hearing yet the most it is played the more it becomes like a comfortable leather armchair, with the listener relaxing right in. The horns and piano on I Don’t Wanna Lose You are sublime, just right, with Max’s vocals right to the fore, bass and drums keeping it basic and Hammond providing some wonderfully dated chords. He can rock as well, with closer Candy Row having some real bite, with the brass over the top, and the hooks and edge right there. Max may no longer be with us, but hopefully this album will remind people of his legacy.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Max Merritt & The Meteors

Max Merritt was born in Christchurch on 30th April 1941 and by his early teenage years was engrossed in music, beginning guitar lessons at the age of twelve. By the mid-fifties, rock and roll had exploded around the world and Max was quite taken by the styles and sounds of Elvis Presley and Bill Haley.

Max left school in 1956 to serve an apprenticeship under his brick-laying father. Buying himself an electric guitar, he formed his first group, the Meteors, in 1956. The group was made up of friends Ross Clancy on saxophone, Ian Glass on bass, Peter Patene on piano and Pete Sowden on drums.

His mother Ilene became concerned seeing young people sitting around Cathedral Square on winter Sunday afternoons with nothing to do, so with the help of her family decided to hold Sunday dances. Also with the help of Kerridge-Odeon theatre manager Trevor King, a venue was set up. The Christchurch Teenagers Club held in the Railway Hall in Sydenham, became so popular that up to 900 youngsters attended the dances held between 1pm and 6pm. For a charge of two shillings and sixpence, dance-goers were treated to music provided by a teenage Max Merritt and the Meteors, while a buffet tea of scones, sandwiches and hot saveloys was served by Mrs Merritt and her daughter Pam.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Max Merritt & The Meteors

Releases

Been Away Too Long
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Live In Concert
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Very Best Of
Year: 2001
Type: Album
Back Home Live
Year: 1977
Type: Album
Out Of The Blue
Year: 1976
Type: Album
A Little Easier
Year: 1975
Type: Album
Stray Cats
Year: 1971
Type: Album
Max Merritt And The Meteors
Year: 1970
Type: Album
Shake
Year: 1966
Type: EP
Max Merritt's Meteors
Year: 1965
Type: Album
Good Golly Max Merritt
Year: 1964
Type: EP
Giddy Up Max
Year: 1964
Type: EP
C'mon Let's Go
Year: 1960
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Plum Green - Album Review: Somnambulist
25 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Born in a squat in England, raised in New Zealand, and presently residing in Melbourne, here we have the latest release from dream folk artist Plum Green. I have not previously come across any of her other albums, but somehow, I can see I need to undertake some investigations as this is a very special album indeed.
Read More...
Diehards of Deep Dish - Album Review: Traditional Speciality Guaranteed
25 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is a long history of band members using pseudonyms, with Ramones probably being the most famous, and here we have a band who use pseudonyms for their pseudonyms, so we have Cheese (Joey Provolone), Tomato (Ryley Base), Wheat (Beef Richards), Mushrooms (Mattzarella Gibson) and Herbs (Herbie Handcooked). I thought Cafe Fistfight had probably taken the foodie elements to the extreme with songs such as King Hit Quiche, but here we have six songs all aimed at the pizza lovers among us.
Read More...
Power The Light - Single Review: Snowing
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Power The Light is Max Roskilly, an 18-year-old musician who is based in Auckland , and has been self-releasing music for the last four years already, including the album Blueprints a while back. This is his second single in recent months, following on from Skys where he showed an interest more in krautrock than in is normal indie-jazz style.
Read More...
Single Review: Glass Throne
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Glass Throne are an Auckland-based power trio comprising Justin Robinson (lead vocals, bass, guitar), Owen McKibbin (guitar, organ, backing vocals) and Daniel Cutfield (drums, percussion, backing vocals). I have managed to catch them play live a few times over the last year, and what always strikes me is just how different they are to the rest of the local scene, coming through as a mix of classic Seventies hard rock, progressive and modern alt rock.
Read More...
On Tick - Single Review: Nothing New
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Tick is the brainchild of brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar), and was formed from the ashes of their previous musical outfit, Evil Tomato, who began as a band in 2012. They came across 5-string bassist Matt Hammond when they heard the demoes for Black Sands, which he not only produced but played on, and he joined forces to work with them on the album and to allow them to play in the Ding Dong Battle of the Bands.
Read More...
Ravenhall - EP Review: The Coming Storm
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Ravenhall were formed by guitarist Joe Ravenhall and singer Chris Brebner in 2015. They were both already veterans of the Auckland scene, and wanted to perform music which concentrated on the power of acoustic guitar, wonderful vocals, plus some gentle electronic backing, and that is certainly what we have here.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem