14 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Max Merritt & The Meteors - Album Review: i can dream

16 Mar 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

There is no doubt that Max Merritt is a Kiwi icon, seen as one of the region’s most important musicians to come out of the Fifties, with his impact on soul, rock and R'n'B meaning he was inducted into both the ARIA Hall of Fame and the New Zealand Music Hall of Fame. Sadly, he was diagnosed with a rare auto immune disease in 2007, and died in Los Angeles, California, on 24th September 2020, at the age of 79. Prior to his death he had been working on his first new album for some forty years, i can dream (all in lower case),

The album comprises three different recording periods, with five songs recorded in Los Angeles between 2011 and 2020, another two recorded in 2018 at a different studio, plus ten songs recorded in Melbourne in 2002 for what was being described back then as being a new album. The result is something which actually sounds as if it was recorded at one period in time as opposed to being spread out, with the only real differentiation being the production. Overall, the production is very good, but there are also times when it really grates as auto tune has been used in certain places. This is one of my pet hates in the modern music scene, even more than my loathing of drum machines before they became decent, and in many ways, this has done a disservice to the end result, which is a really enjoyable album indeed, and I would much rather this had been left far rawer.

Max will probably always be best remembered for Slipping Away, a major hit in both Australia and New Zealand in 1975, and with this album we are definitely taken back to the Seventies. He has a wonderful voice, mellow and gentle and in many ways reminiscent of a more soulful Bob Seger from that period. Add in some wonderful songs, with great lyrics and hooks, lush backing vocals, and one can see the flares and platforms. There are times when he brings in a much stronger blues influence, and mixes up the accompaniment, including an accordion, slide guitar or brass, all of which makes this feel far more earthy and real. Sunbury is a real delight, a song out of time, as he sings about the 1972 Sunbury Festival where Max Merritt & the Meteors was one of the acts (they also played in 1973), and sings the line “if you remember Sunbury, you weren’t there!”

It is mellow, easy listening, yet also with an edge and one can certainly hear why he was such a major draw, as he just sounds totally relaxed and fully in control at all times. It is the type of album that can be played and enjoyed on first hearing yet the most it is played the more it becomes like a comfortable leather armchair, with the listener relaxing right in. The horns and piano on I Don’t Wanna Lose You are sublime, just right, with Max’s vocals right to the fore, bass and drums keeping it basic and Hammond providing some wonderfully dated chords. He can rock as well, with closer Candy Row having some real bite, with the brass over the top, and the hooks and edge right there. Max may no longer be with us, but hopefully this album will remind people of his legacy.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Max Merritt & The Meteors

Max Merritt was born in Christchurch on 30th April 1941 and by his early teenage years was engrossed in music, beginning guitar lessons at the age of twelve. By the mid-fifties, rock and roll had exploded around the world and Max was quite taken by the styles and sounds of Elvis Presley and Bill Haley.

Max left school in 1956 to serve an apprenticeship under his brick-laying father. Buying himself an electric guitar, he formed his first group, the Meteors, in 1956. The group was made up of friends Ross Clancy on saxophone, Ian Glass on bass, Peter Patene on piano and Pete Sowden on drums.

His mother Ilene became concerned seeing young people sitting around Cathedral Square on winter Sunday afternoons with nothing to do, so with the help of her family decided to hold Sunday dances. Also with the help of Kerridge-Odeon theatre manager Trevor King, a venue was set up. The Christchurch Teenagers Club held in the Railway Hall in Sydenham, became so popular that up to 900 youngsters attended the dances held between 1pm and 6pm. For a charge of two shillings and sixpence, dance-goers were treated to music provided by a teenage Max Merritt and the Meteors, while a buffet tea of scones, sandwiches and hot saveloys was served by Mrs Merritt and her daughter Pam.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Max Merritt & The Meteors

Releases

Been Away Too Long
Year: 2012
Type: Album
Live In Concert
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Very Best Of
Year: 2001
Type: Album
Back Home Live
Year: 1977
Type: Album
Out Of The Blue
Year: 1976
Type: Album
A Little Easier
Year: 1975
Type: Album
Stray Cats
Year: 1971
Type: Album
Max Merritt And The Meteors
Year: 1970
Type: Album
Shake
Year: 1966
Type: EP
Max Merritt's Meteors
Year: 1965
Type: Album
Good Golly Max Merritt
Year: 1964
Type: EP
Giddy Up Max
Year: 1964
Type: EP
C'mon Let's Go
Year: 1960
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blitz Metal Fest @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 12/06/2021
13 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Well, today was a first for me, coming to Ding Dong in the daylight! This was because it was time for Metal Blitz, a 13-band event being held which was planned to run for 10 hours but we all thought was probably going to take longer.
Read More...
Gatekeepers - Single Review: Always a Rebel, Never a Rogue
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Gatekeepers may be a new name to most of you, but this New Plymouth quartet have managed to secure the opening slot in Hamilton for the Devilskin and Kora show, so they have already started to gain some attention and based on this single one can hear why. The band was only formed earlier this year by guitarist/singer Jeremy Donoghue, rhythm guitarist Sean Phillips and bassist Mat Pipe, since when they have been writing and recording tracks before sending them to the UK to be mixed by Adam Wain.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Lake of Eyes
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Adrian Drew and his band of merry men are back with the third single from their forthcoming album and given what I have heard to date I am really looking forward to that when it comes out. While Adrian provides guitar and vocals, the band is now firmly settled with David Crowhen (bass) Undercut, Craig van Kan (drums), The Couch, and lead guitarist Adam Morton-Mason, These Fine Galleons.
Read More...
Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mudbelly @ 12 Bar, Christchurch - 29/05/2021
30 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
In the middle of a red alert weather warning, I trekked from Oxford into Christchurch to attend Mudbelly’s album launch. It has been a while since I last went to a gig down here, but I have been to some real killers in the past (Sepultura, Death Angel and Blindfolded And Led To The Woods at Canterbury University’s The Foundry will long stick in my mind), so was looking forward to this.
Read More...
Lorenzo Hazelwood - Single Review: Same Mistake
28 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Lorenzo Hazlewood is probably best known as front man for Auckland hard rock band Close To The Bone, but he also released some solo singles last year in slightly different fashion, and now he has returned with his first for 2021, Same Mistake. This is reminiscent in some ways of classic ballad-style grunge like good Alice In Chains or Soundgarden, with his vocals very much to the fore.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem