14 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: NoMoreGaps

16 Mar 2021 // A review by Peter-James Dries

I sometimes wonder what would have happened if Kurt Cobain survived. Would he have kept making music and what would it sound like? We know his next album would have sounded more like R.E.M., but what would happen if he picked up some more modern influences and instruments?

Short one Rick Sanchez Portal Gun, we can glimpse the alternate universe where this happened through Hazza Making Noise’s new single NoMoreGaps.

In stark contrast to the schizophrenic, simultaneously Snoop Dogg and Grunge inspire Alkaline, or Soviet war anthem Boomers In Disguise, NoMoreGaps is 90’s alt-rock painted with a new-electro sheen. This track is what the world would have sounded like if They’d sent consumer-level DAWs back in time instead of velcro.

While retaining some of the eclectic eccentricity that is the Hazza Making Noise sound, it’s got everything you want and expect from a ‘real’ song, with its verse-chorus structure, and even one of those false endings that segue into a quiet section. Only this one builds into a swirling, atmospheric mescaline-induced trip, which is appropriate to the lyrics. It’s refreshing to see subject and object working together for a change, instead of the music and lyrics being independent entities.

While I haven’t heard the new EP (it isn't out yet), I can tell this track isn’t going to be some polyurethane time filler between solid rock. It is solid. Look for it behind a new Honda Accord advert in ten years, provided Hazza Making Noise make the name they deserve for themselves.

5 stars of 5. Fill your soul hole with vice, and listen to this song.

You can find Hazza Making Noise’s NoMoreGaps everywhere, but I prefer Bandcamp.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Hazza Making Noise

Harry Platt is a disillusioned architect and slightly average singer-songwriter/producer based in Auckland, releasing material under the irreverent pseudonym, Hazza Making Noise.

Originally hailing from Christchurch, outputs under the Hazza Making Noise name flirt around various guises of alternative rock. With an ever evolving catalogue of singles which display complete inability to maintain a consistent musical typology or aesthetic, his recent lyrical themes dabble in somewhat cliche "meaning of life" rhetoric as well as making sense of the consequences that differing technological innovations have on us both sociologically and as individuals. While currently pondering a conceptual EP project for 2019, he is also a sausage roll enthusiast.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Hazza Making Noise

Releases

There are no releases to display for Hazza Making Noise.

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

You, Me, Everybody - Album Review: Southern Sky
16 Feb 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Deep within the matryoshka doll that is the country genre is a bluegrass doll in cosplay. Sitting on the fire escape of a rundown apartment building, dry buck wheat stem between its teeth, and a rock band shirt, progressive bluegrass is the genre that ran away from its home in the Appalachians and fell in with a different crowd.
Read More...
Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground vol 1 - 3
27 Jan 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
It is an odd circumstance, to be in the position of reviewing reviews. Reviews are one person’s personal, subjective opinion.
Read More...
Scalper - Album Review: The Beast and The Beauty
20 Nov 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
I have reviewed more releases than I have patience to count. Many of the musicians I’ve heard have disappeared from my consciousness and the scene soon after, but there are a few that make such an impression that they stick with me.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Hit The # Key
24 Oct 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
“Little Green Men Harass Kentucky Farm Family”. A headline that captured the imaginations of a nation, coined the term for extra-terrestrial visitors, and inspiring Pokemon, films, and musicals.
Read More...
Diggy Dupe - Album Review: That's Me, That's Team
24 Sep 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Why is this considered underground, while American ear trash is this nation’s soundtrack? We’re so busy looking for an escape in a world that we aren’t a part of, that we neglect what is unique here at home.
Read More...
The Sixteenth - EP Review: The 16th EP
22 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When you work as a data quality analyst, you need something to unwind. I chose animation.
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: The Shrink
04 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Chameleons: Imposters of the reptile world. Imposter Syndrome: Chameleons of the music world.
Read More...
Torn Chorus - Single Review: Brave New World
14 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Lockdown was a true test of one’s fight-or-flight instinct, a show of one’s character. For some, it was an artist’s paradise.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem