11 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day

12 Mar 2021 // A review by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects. Day To Day is a winding reflection of the inner struggle of finding a place in the world where everything seems to be against you from the start. This is sure fire reminder of how complex systems of power have enslaved many to a life of inward struggles.

The first thing that strikes me about this song is its raw emotive opening that complements the song all the way from its tender opening to its crescendo. MARY.’s voice and demeanour set the perfect stage for the opportunity to lay back into a comfortable position with your favourite tipple, and fall into an almost meditative state to spend some introspective time with yourself.

This is a well thought out production with a very glamorous video to boot. the subtle R'n'B tone that permeates the song is a wonderful reminder of, when done right, a true mood enhancer. All the songs that I have come to remember through my tender years will give my life something extra, and I think this song certainly has the opportunity to be a part of my ever growing list.

If you are a fan of music, this is certainly well worth 3 minutes of your listening ears. If you are feeling a little sorrowful or have experienced some negative forces, this is well worth your listen. In fact, I highly recommend listening for any reason, it is a well harnessed song, with a wonderful voice to compliment.

This song gets a strong 3 out of 5 stars for me, it tickles my emotions and its lyrical content is sure to strike a chord with many of you who have experienced some sort of experience where you never feel like you have been given the opportunity to show what you really can give. Well done MARY. and I look forward to more music like this in the future.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About MARY.

Introducing MARY., the dreamy alter-ego of musician and songwriter Stef T. The self-produced musician and songwriter interlaces elements of electro-pop and RnB with a voice that enchants.

Naturally drawn to creating spacious and ethereal electro music that still maintains a hard edge allows MARY to keep conversational and raw lyrical content at the very heart of what she does, and this is just the opening chapter to her story, with more to come throughout 2021.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for MARY.

Releases

There are no releases to display for MARY..

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane
31 Jan 2021 // by Chris Chick
The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Palm Trees & Ciggies
08 Dec 2020 // by Chris Chick
If you were wondering what you Summer song was going to be for this year, the year of the 'what the hell just happened' Palm Trees and Ciggies could well be your winner to take you through to the next Winter. Any song that drops a humdinger of a ska/reggae beat is a sure fire way to get noticed by this reviewer, especially as the temperature starts to warm up and the stock of cold ones increases in the fridge.
Read More...
Miles Calder - Single Review: Take Me Back To How It Was
19 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I think I just found the band that I really want to jam with; Miles Calder's new song Take Me Back To How It Was is a sound that really does what it says on the tin, it takes you back to the way it was. This late 60's and 70's psychedelic number really softens the soul and enables one to really re-live by gone days that many of us did not even have the opportunity to experience.
Read More...
Imperial April - Single Review: Release Me
08 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
Imperial April are releasing their new single Release Me on 9 October 2020, and by golly it's an absolute corker, and I will not let anyone else say different. This song has so much going for it, from its production, to the wonderfully enchanting singing, to the 80's summer vibe that will just keep the summer of 2020 a positive time considering the rest of the garbage we have all had to deal with.
Read More...
Turkey The Bird - Single Review: Everybody Needs A Little Sunshine
01 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was promised a happy little number when handed this assignment, and I was not let down, I think happy might be an understatement, elated, ecstatic, maybe even nirvanic, which I believe is a word I just made up. This is a timely release what with summer banging on the door, a great reminder to us all to put a smile on our faces, and be thankful for the simple things in life, like a little sunshine, especially if you are on the West Coast of the South Island, according to the rumours.
Read More...
Jam Fish - Single Review: The Hermits Red Balloon
24 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Jam Fish’s new single The Hermit’s Red Balloon was released on the 14th August 2020. This song can only be described through golfing metaphors, the experience of listening to this song was like playing a shot beyond the horizon and hoping you make the green.
Read More...
Fornax Chemica - Album Review: Audio Vision
06 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Let’s get one thing straight right off the bat, creating, producing, and performing an album is a massive undertaking in itself. I am always impressed by any musician who is able to accomplish this, no matter the genre or the instruments they play (the more the better I say) this is why longevity within the music industry is not to be ignored when embracing all aspects of artists you love, and those you find hard to love.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem