19 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day

12 Mar 2021 // A review by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects. Day To Day is a winding reflection of the inner struggle of finding a place in the world where everything seems to be against you from the start. This is sure fire reminder of how complex systems of power have enslaved many to a life of inward struggles.

The first thing that strikes me about this song is its raw emotive opening that complements the song all the way from its tender opening to its crescendo. MARY.’s voice and demeanour set the perfect stage for the opportunity to lay back into a comfortable position with your favourite tipple, and fall into an almost meditative state to spend some introspective time with yourself.

This is a well thought out production with a very glamorous video to boot. the subtle R'n'B tone that permeates the song is a wonderful reminder of, when done right, a true mood enhancer. All the songs that I have come to remember through my tender years will give my life something extra, and I think this song certainly has the opportunity to be a part of my ever growing list.

If you are a fan of music, this is certainly well worth 3 minutes of your listening ears. If you are feeling a little sorrowful or have experienced some negative forces, this is well worth your listen. In fact, I highly recommend listening for any reason, it is a well harnessed song, with a wonderful voice to compliment.

This song gets a strong 3 out of 5 stars for me, it tickles my emotions and its lyrical content is sure to strike a chord with many of you who have experienced some sort of experience where you never feel like you have been given the opportunity to show what you really can give. Well done MARY. and I look forward to more music like this in the future.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About MARY.

Introducing MARY., the dreamy alter-ego of musician and songwriter Stef T. The self-produced musician and songwriter interlaces elements of electro-pop and RnB with a voice that enchants.

Naturally drawn to creating spacious and ethereal electro music that still maintains a hard edge allows MARY to keep conversational and raw lyrical content at the very heart of what she does, and this is just the opening chapter to her story, with more to come throughout 2021.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for MARY.

Releases

There are no releases to display for MARY..

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away
06 May 2022 // by Chris Chick
Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away. This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it.
Read More...
Trip Change - Single Review: Never Seen A Boy Like Me
24 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
It is not hard to know that I am fan of all music, I think the ability to pick up a musical instrument and compose a song is impressive. The intricacies of bringing many parts together and making the final product sound so good is beyond my capabilities.
Read More...
Kokomo - Album Review: A Little Something From The Attic
01 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
16 Blues songs to review was my mission if I chose to accept it, well naturally I did, otherwise you would not be reading this, but let me just tell you something, was I excited? Oh you can bet your bottom dollar I was.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two
01 Nov 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.
Read More...
Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem