26 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day

12 Mar 2021 // A review by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects. Day To Day is a winding reflection of the inner struggle of finding a place in the world where everything seems to be against you from the start. This is sure fire reminder of how complex systems of power have enslaved many to a life of inward struggles.

The first thing that strikes me about this song is its raw emotive opening that complements the song all the way from its tender opening to its crescendo. MARY.’s voice and demeanour set the perfect stage for the opportunity to lay back into a comfortable position with your favourite tipple, and fall into an almost meditative state to spend some introspective time with yourself.

This is a well thought out production with a very glamorous video to boot. the subtle R'n'B tone that permeates the song is a wonderful reminder of, when done right, a true mood enhancer. All the songs that I have come to remember through my tender years will give my life something extra, and I think this song certainly has the opportunity to be a part of my ever growing list.

If you are a fan of music, this is certainly well worth 3 minutes of your listening ears. If you are feeling a little sorrowful or have experienced some negative forces, this is well worth your listen. In fact, I highly recommend listening for any reason, it is a well harnessed song, with a wonderful voice to compliment.

This song gets a strong 3 out of 5 stars for me, it tickles my emotions and its lyrical content is sure to strike a chord with many of you who have experienced some sort of experience where you never feel like you have been given the opportunity to show what you really can give. Well done MARY. and I look forward to more music like this in the future.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About MARY.

Introducing MARY., the dreamy alter-ego of musician and songwriter Stef T. The self-produced musician and songwriter interlaces elements of electro-pop and RnB with a voice that enchants.

Naturally drawn to creating spacious and ethereal electro music that still maintains a hard edge allows MARY to keep conversational and raw lyrical content at the very heart of what she does, and this is just the opening chapter to her story, with more to come throughout 2021.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for MARY.

Releases

There are no releases to display for MARY..

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane
31 Jan 2021 // by Chris Chick
The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Palm Trees & Ciggies
08 Dec 2020 // by Chris Chick
If you were wondering what you Summer song was going to be for this year, the year of the 'what the hell just happened' Palm Trees and Ciggies could well be your winner to take you through to the next Winter. Any song that drops a humdinger of a ska/reggae beat is a sure fire way to get noticed by this reviewer, especially as the temperature starts to warm up and the stock of cold ones increases in the fridge.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem