22 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

FRE3DOM - Single Review: Back To The Beginning

12 Mar 2021 // A review by Paul Goddard

Looking back to move forward.

Musicians have done this from the beginning.

Using influences, stealing riffs, it has all been done before. Looking back can be a good thing if there is enough creativity and originality of thought to build something better, something new or at the very least make it sound like it’s your own.

Dunedin based Fre3dom have a sound reminiscent of the Brit pop era that spawned bands in the UK like Oasis and has gone on more recently to influence bands like Australia’s DMA’s.

Luckily Fre3dom do have the originality to wear these influences on their sleeves without sounding like a poor imitation to be cast away. Their latest single, Back To The Beginning is an instant soaring sing along anthem.

Musically, it’s something we have all heard before but the song structure manages to avoid many of the usual cliches. What really stands out though are the vocals of Dan Hawkins. He has a voice that has enough of an edge to take things to another level. It’s not forced and doesn’t grate and on the chorus we really see the potential start to shine.

There is a lot to like in this track and a lot going on. The production is excellent and the energy flows right from the opening chords to the final fade. It will stick in your head long after it’s over and even at 6 mins + it manages not to outstay it’s welcome.

Fre3dom deserve your attention and Back To The Beginning is a great place to start.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About FRE3DOM

FRE3DOM are a Independent Dunedin Indie Rock band drawing Influence's from Bands like The Stone Roses, Oasis, and U2. They formed in June 2020 and have been playing shows and festival dates around NZ. They have recorded singles and their first EP called Do You Know What I Mean? with producer Steve Harrop at Sublime Studios. These boys are young, loud , and say what needs to be said in a charming poetic way. With catchy lyrics and melodic hooks they are a fresh new band keeping it real and standing up for what they believe and produce exciting live shows around the country.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for FRE3DOM

Releases

There are no releases to display for FRE3DOM.

Other Reviews By Paul Goddard

Mojo Alice - Single Review: Sad Face
26 Apr 2022 // by Paul Goddard
If there is a phrase I can't stand right now it's "let's get ready for the new normal."Fuck that.
Read More...
Nuggiez - Single Review: The Creeps
08 Mar 2022 // by Paul Goddard
Zeitgeist.One of my favourite words.
Read More...
Saurian - Single Review: Ice Cream Man
18 Feb 2022 // by Paul Goddard
I am going to say it. This might be controversial but the best Ice Cream is a simple Vanilla Whip in a cone.
Read More...
Craig Payne - Album Review: A Long Time Coming
23 Dec 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Life's a journey.Different phases, ranging from feeling bulletproof to feeling paranoid to eventually feeling resigned to whatever happens.
Read More...
FRE3DOM - Single Review: On and On
20 Sep 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Who is pissed off right now? No?
Read More...
Captain Festus McBoyle's Travellin' Variety Show - Single/Video Review: Love Song 4 Lucy
06 Sep 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Sometimes we need a distraction, and a reminder of the basic core reasons as to why we exist.Sometimes, perhaps now more than ever, we need to be reminded of the simple joy that comes with being who we are and of the love that we share with other people.
Read More...
Album Review: Thunderground
18 Mar 2021 // by Paul Goddard
Headphones in, let's go.So the drummer keeps beat, guitars wail and scream, the singer....
Read More...
Dark Water - Single Review: Seas of Fallen Concern
21 Jan 2021 // by Paul Goddard
I like to be transported. Moved to a different place.
Read More...
View All Articles By Paul Goddard

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem