19 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Keeley Shade - Single Review: On My Mind

11 Mar 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

On My Mind is a perfect example of how simple ideas can become fleshed out to provide the listener an experience worth repeating.

Keeley Shade, a Canadian-born New Zealand-based singer-songwriter is releasing her debut single On My Mind. The piano that sets up the song, with a synth/piano note sitting on top grounding the melody is also metaphorical in its nature. The song is real and authentic with its acoustic and spacious sound. Internalizing her thoughts and feelings while staying grounded is one of the takeaways I get from this track. The music weaves, ebbs, and flows in a dynamic and rhythmic feel providing a canvas in which her vocals wonderfully sit. There is no belting here, instead, it's heartfelt sincerity that I appreciate and applaud. That's not to say that I have anything against belting vocals. Quite the contrary. It's the fact that Keeley understands how to sing her story and in a way that feels real.

And musically, the accompaniment is perfect. Piano, acoustic guitar, layered backing vocals, drums that switch around at times where needed; this is the sort of thoughtful popular music I would personally love to hear more of. It requires your attention, and giving it will reward the listener.

This is a fantastic track that I feel should be playlisted on radio stations, and if not, well, just follow her and go see her live, something that I must do personally now. Add this song to your playlist, listen and feel.

Excellent work here.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Keeley Shade

Keeley Shade is a Canadian-born New Zealand singer-songwriter based in Auckland.

Keeley grew up in Whangaparaoa, playing songs of Bon Iver and Daughter quietly in her bathroom. Now with more of a pop/rock flair, and backed by a band, she retains poetic songwriting and building dreamscape arrangements.

Just a couple years after finishing degrees in Fine Art and Music, Keeley has been working as a designer, television editor, and music video producer for NZ musicians. Now quite literally taking the stage herself, she’s coming in strong with a sonically exciting and heartfelt debut single On My Mind, that integrates her folk roots with a love for lush and abstract pop production.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Keeley Shade

Releases

Give Me Time
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Album Review: Fatal Attraction
31 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses.
Read More...
Partyboi Pan - Single Review: Mystical Barz
16 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Partyboi Pan is the founder of The Mason, a vision to upgrade the very idea of what parties are with the sole purpose of showcasing local passions and talents.His latest track Mystical Barz opens with a dialogue that really sets the mood for the track.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single/Video Review: Shame Shame
08 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Phil Stoodley, Shame Shame, is a fantastic track that is not only catchy but has such a vibe to it that you will be hitting repeat over and over. With a solid bass line propping up the main guitar riff, the drums hold it all together and allow for Phil's vocals to sit neatly in place, which by the way sound real and authentic.
Read More...
Old Salts - Single Review: Take a Breather
27 Jan 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Old Salts are an alternative rock band that are set to leave listeners buzzed with the release of their debut single Take a Breather.Citing influences as Primus and Them Crooked Vultures, you can definitely hear this in the way the song, not only sounds but how it is written and arranged.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem