27 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Keeley Shade - Single Review: On My Mind

11 Mar 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

On My Mind is a perfect example of how simple ideas can become fleshed out to provide the listener an experience worth repeating.

Keeley Shade, a Canadian-born New Zealand-based singer-songwriter is releasing her debut single On My Mind. The piano that sets up the song, with a synth/piano note sitting on top grounding the melody is also metaphorical in its nature. The song is real and authentic with its acoustic and spacious sound. Internalizing her thoughts and feelings while staying grounded is one of the takeaways I get from this track. The music weaves, ebbs, and flows in a dynamic and rhythmic feel providing a canvas in which her vocals wonderfully sit. There is no belting here, instead, it's heartfelt sincerity that I appreciate and applaud. That's not to say that I have anything against belting vocals. Quite the contrary. It's the fact that Keeley understands how to sing her story and in a way that feels real.

And musically, the accompaniment is perfect. Piano, acoustic guitar, layered backing vocals, drums that switch around at times where needed; this is the sort of thoughtful popular music I would personally love to hear more of. It requires your attention, and giving it will reward the listener.

This is a fantastic track that I feel should be playlisted on radio stations, and if not, well, just follow her and go see her live, something that I must do personally now. Add this song to your playlist, listen and feel.

Excellent work here.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Keeley Shade

Keeley Shade is a Canadian-born New Zealand singer-songwriter based in Auckland.

Keeley grew up in Whangaparaoa, playing songs of Bon Iver and Daughter quietly in her bathroom. Now with more of a pop/rock flair, and backed by a band, she retains poetic songwriting and building dreamscape arrangements.

Just a couple years after finishing degrees in Fine Art and Music, Keeley has been working as a designer, television editor, and music video producer for NZ musicians. Now quite literally taking the stage herself, she’s coming in strong with a sonically exciting and heartfelt debut single On My Mind, that integrates her folk roots with a love for lush and abstract pop production.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Keeley Shade

Releases

There are no releases to display for Keeley Shade.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Cking - Single/Video Review: No Snakes Feat. Dilz
21 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Cking is the Brisbane-based, New Zealand-bred rapper who’s eclectic catalogue of hits has seen him share the stage with everyone from T-Pain to Kerser, and now, he’s linked up with fellow NZ emcee Dilz for a hard-hitting banger, No Snakes. Cking and Dilz each come lyrically strapped with passionate and emotive verses, matching the energy of the rapid-fire, earth-rattling production alongside them.
Read More...
Dallas Harvey - Single Review: Patience
20 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland City’s up and coming Hip-Hop artist Dallas Harvey is a breath of fresh air with his honest lyricism, piecing his life together through story-telling and music. Mentored by the likes of Church from Church & AP, Chris RL and Melodownz, Dallas has built a well-versed understanding of self throughout his development at Te Karanga Navigators songwriting and production sessions.
Read More...
Ms.Take - Single Review: Maybe That's Just What I Am
11 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The dystopian Trap Jam Maybe That's Just What I Am is the second official single from Ms.Take, a follow up to 2018's Silver & Gold, and a 2020 lockdown collaboration with Melbourne-based artist F.
Read More...
Y$O - EP Review: Young And Slept On
05 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O. Note that down.
Read More...
Louis Ross - Single Review: Here To Help
27 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Local Tauranga DJ and Producer Louis Ross has created a new song Here to Help to bring awareness to mental health issues ahead of Mental Health Awareness Week. After losing his father and Grandma within a few months of each other and navigating his way through loss and grief, Louis is combining his own mental health struggles with his love of music to help others.
Read More...
BrokeBoi Ace - Single Review: Watered Down Dreamz
15 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Oh man. I like this.
Read More...
Sam V - Single/Video Review: Wired
10 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Sam V's newest track Wired is another demonstration of how Sam keeps refining his sound. His vision has been getting more focused over time, based on his previous tracks like Cotton Candy which is actually a Y$O track, and Up Up Down.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Strange Fruits
08 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
InDuna's approach to Hip-Hop/Rap is something that listeners should pay attention to. It fits into what kind of feels as almost progressive in regards to the styles it compasses.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem