27 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ezra Phoenix - Album Review: Ezra Phoenix

09 Mar 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Ezra Phoenix is the alter-ego of Solomon Esera, who began songwriting some ten years ago when he attended Excel School of Performing Arts in Auckland. Some of the seven songs on this his debut album stretch back nearly as far, all inspired by what has been happening in his life, telling the story as he connects with listeners to have a real conversation. Produced by Toby Lloyd, who fell in love with Ezra’s music when he first heard the demo for Oxygen Tank, one of the songs included here, they have combined together to create something which is very special indeed.

Ezra has a wonderful voice, delicate yet strong, high yet full of emotion, clear yet passionate, and he combines this with classic pop stylings and modern RnB in a way which is fresh, exciting, and welcoming. It is the vocals, combined with wonderful songs and arrangements, which really brings the listener along for the ride. The songs are arranged in away so that the listener is never really sure what is going to come next, as each number takes on a life its own, always with Ezra’s voice very much at the centre of everything. The accompaniment is incredibly layered, with a wide amount of space and separation, and while incredibly modern is also prepared to throw in acapella harmonies (just check out the wonderful DUY).

This is not a style of music I generally listen to yet is an album I have loved from beginning to end, and my only complaint is that it is too short! We have seven songs, a total running length of just 26 minutes, and I just wish it were much longer. Each song could easily be played on the radio, a hit in its own right. The last song on the album, Carry Me, is just multi-tracked Ezra and nothing else, reminding the listener of classic bands such as Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons. Ezra moves into falsetto with ease, and nothing is ever forced, ever rushed, always moving at its own pace. There is restraint within the album, the feeling every step is deliberate, yet it is also incredibly immediate. From the opening of Wait For You, to the very end of Carry Me, one knows that Ezra is a real star, and that this album is a real find. It is just up to everyone else to discover that now, which surely will not take long.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ezra Phoenix

Poneke-based artist Ezra Phoenix, a bird risen from the ashes, is here to confront and converse; Ezra wants to shake up certain communities and get people talking.

Ezra Phoenix (real name Solomon Esera) has been entertaining and performing most of his life, but only started exploring songwriting in 2011 when he attended a Performing Arts school in Auckland, New Zealand. His love for songwriting has since developed into the main tool of his expression, utilizing Pop and RnB vocals and acapella music.

Ezra released his first debut single Run With The Wild Ones in November 2020 to announce his arrival into this world. Not too long after followed his mission statement with Love My Brain, Boy in January 2021, which was also accompanied with an official music video directed by Ezra and captured by Filmmaker Lee Gingold.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ezra Phoenix

Releases

Ezra Phoenix
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Plum Green - Album Review: Somnambulist
25 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Born in a squat in England, raised in New Zealand, and presently residing in Melbourne, here we have the latest release from dream folk artist Plum Green. I have not previously come across any of her other albums, but somehow, I can see I need to undertake some investigations as this is a very special album indeed.
Read More...
Diehards of Deep Dish - Album Review: Traditional Speciality Guaranteed
25 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is a long history of band members using pseudonyms, with Ramones probably being the most famous, and here we have a band who use pseudonyms for their pseudonyms, so we have Cheese (Joey Provolone), Tomato (Ryley Base), Wheat (Beef Richards), Mushrooms (Mattzarella Gibson) and Herbs (Herbie Handcooked). I thought Cafe Fistfight had probably taken the foodie elements to the extreme with songs such as King Hit Quiche, but here we have six songs all aimed at the pizza lovers among us.
Read More...
Power The Light - Single Review: Snowing
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Power The Light is Max Roskilly, an 18-year-old musician who is based in Auckland , and has been self-releasing music for the last four years already, including the album Blueprints a while back. This is his second single in recent months, following on from Skys where he showed an interest more in krautrock than in is normal indie-jazz style.
Read More...
Single Review: Glass Throne
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Glass Throne are an Auckland-based power trio comprising Justin Robinson (lead vocals, bass, guitar), Owen McKibbin (guitar, organ, backing vocals) and Daniel Cutfield (drums, percussion, backing vocals). I have managed to catch them play live a few times over the last year, and what always strikes me is just how different they are to the rest of the local scene, coming through as a mix of classic Seventies hard rock, progressive and modern alt rock.
Read More...
On Tick - Single Review: Nothing New
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Tick is the brainchild of brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar), and was formed from the ashes of their previous musical outfit, Evil Tomato, who began as a band in 2012. They came across 5-string bassist Matt Hammond when they heard the demoes for Black Sands, which he not only produced but played on, and he joined forces to work with them on the album and to allow them to play in the Ding Dong Battle of the Bands.
Read More...
Ravenhall - EP Review: The Coming Storm
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Ravenhall were formed by guitarist Joe Ravenhall and singer Chris Brebner in 2015. They were both already veterans of the Auckland scene, and wanted to perform music which concentrated on the power of acoustic guitar, wonderful vocals, plus some gentle electronic backing, and that is certainly what we have here.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem