11 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ezra Phoenix - Album Review: Ezra Phoenix

09 Mar 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Ezra Phoenix is the alter-ego of Solomon Esera, who began songwriting some ten years ago when he attended Excel School of Performing Arts in Auckland. Some of the seven songs on this his debut album stretch back nearly as far, all inspired by what has been happening in his life, telling the story as he connects with listeners to have a real conversation. Produced by Toby Lloyd, who fell in love with Ezra’s music when he first heard the demo for Oxygen Tank, one of the songs included here, they have combined together to create something which is very special indeed.

Ezra has a wonderful voice, delicate yet strong, high yet full of emotion, clear yet passionate, and he combines this with classic pop stylings and modern RnB in a way which is fresh, exciting, and welcoming. It is the vocals, combined with wonderful songs and arrangements, which really brings the listener along for the ride. The songs are arranged in away so that the listener is never really sure what is going to come next, as each number takes on a life its own, always with Ezra’s voice very much at the centre of everything. The accompaniment is incredibly layered, with a wide amount of space and separation, and while incredibly modern is also prepared to throw in acapella harmonies (just check out the wonderful DUY).

This is not a style of music I generally listen to yet is an album I have loved from beginning to end, and my only complaint is that it is too short! We have seven songs, a total running length of just 26 minutes, and I just wish it were much longer. Each song could easily be played on the radio, a hit in its own right. The last song on the album, Carry Me, is just multi-tracked Ezra and nothing else, reminding the listener of classic bands such as Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons. Ezra moves into falsetto with ease, and nothing is ever forced, ever rushed, always moving at its own pace. There is restraint within the album, the feeling every step is deliberate, yet it is also incredibly immediate. From the opening of Wait For You, to the very end of Carry Me, one knows that Ezra is a real star, and that this album is a real find. It is just up to everyone else to discover that now, which surely will not take long.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ezra Phoenix

Poneke-based artist Ezra Phoenix, a bird risen from the ashes, is here to confront and converse; Ezra wants to shake up certain communities and get people talking.

Ezra Phoenix (real name Solomon Esera) has been entertaining and performing most of his life, but only started exploring songwriting in 2011 when he attended a Performing Arts school in Auckland, New Zealand. His love for songwriting has since developed into the main tool of his expression, utilizing Pop and RnB vocals and acapella music.

Ezra released his first debut single Run With The Wild Ones in November 2020 to announce his arrival into this world. Not too long after followed his mission statement with Love My Brain, Boy in January 2021, which was also accompanied with an official music video directed by Ezra and captured by Filmmaker Lee Gingold.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ezra Phoenix

Releases

Ezra Phoenix
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Elidi - Single Review: Witches Brew
06 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Christchurch quintet Elidi are back with their latest single, released just in time for their South Island gigs with Pull Down the Sun in April, before they head out on a NZ-wide tour with Stonehurst in a few months’ time. They describe themselves as progressive, but before you start thinking these guys are Genesis or Pink Floyd clones, understand they are talking progressive in its truest sense, which is blending together different styles and types of music into something which refuses to sit sedately within any particular sub-genre and instead goes wherever it leads, being taken on a journey in the same way as the listener.
Read More...
Album Review: The New Blue - Pixie Williams Reimagined
06 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Before starting on the music on this tribute album, we first need to understand who Pixie Williams was and the impact she had on NZ music. Pixie was the first wahine Maori vocalist to reach number one on the New Zealand singles chart, with the song Blue Smoke in 1949.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/03/2021
02 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight was always going to be interesting, as this was the first time myself and my eldest daughter had been to a concert together for more than 16 years. The last time was for Bowling For Soup, and one of her achievements that night was reducing the average age of the audience, something she did again this evening.
Read More...
Bridge Burner - Album Review: Disempath
30 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from 2018’s Null Apostle, Auckland’s Bridge Burner are back with their second album, Disempath. Featuring guitarist Josh Hughes (Vassafor, Graves), vocalist Ben Read (ex-Ulcerate, In Dread Response), bassist Gary Brown, drummer Louis Malloy (ex-Anabyss) and guitarist Maxwell Gravelle (ex-Hexis, Setentis), here we have a group who are determined to push their music and their listeners to the very limits.
Read More...
Blindfolded and Led to the Woods - Album Review: Nightmare Withdrawals
25 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I first came across Christchurch-based band Blindfolded and Led to the Woods some four years back when they released their second album, Modern Adoxography. It had a huge impact on me, and I described it as having a musical foundation built upon brutal death metal, elements of demented grindcore and bizarre sci-fi tones weaving their way into the complex structures, resulting in an engaging and damaging listening experience.
Read More...
The Wake Up - Single Review: House of Cards
23 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Back in October I reviewed Palmerston North outfit The Wake Up's latest single, Worthy, which introduced new bassist Nathan Charles, and now here they are back with the seventh single of their career, and this time around they have a new guitarist in Trent Fairhurst. It sounds as if he has made an immediate impact as this is much heavier than their last one, and drummer Caleb Hickmott says, “it is the demon love child of Devilskin, Billie Eilish and Motley Crue”.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre, Cherry Blind & White Noise Mafia @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/03/2021
22 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Saturday night it was back to The Tuning Fork, at an ungodly hour as this was an All Ages show. It was only from looking at White Noise Mafia’s Facebook page in the afternoon that I realised they were going to be onstage at 7:15pm, so if I had not seen that I would have missed their complete set!
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Earth Beat Festival, Kaipara - 18/03/2021
20 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I have been trying to catch up with In The Shallows for ages, but even though they have been touring nationally, I have somehow managed to always be in another part of the country so kept missing them. We were going to meet up at Spirit Festival a few weeks back, but thanks to COVID that was postponed, and then I heard they would be playing at another Auckland festival, so I contacted Danni and we agreed Earth Beat was going to be the one.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem