18 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ezra Phoenix - Album Review: Ezra Phoenix

09 Mar 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Ezra Phoenix is the alter-ego of Solomon Esera, who began songwriting some ten years ago when he attended Excel School of Performing Arts in Auckland. Some of the seven songs on this his debut album stretch back nearly as far, all inspired by what has been happening in his life, telling the story as he connects with listeners to have a real conversation. Produced by Toby Lloyd, who fell in love with Ezra’s music when he first heard the demo for Oxygen Tank, one of the songs included here, they have combined together to create something which is very special indeed.

Ezra has a wonderful voice, delicate yet strong, high yet full of emotion, clear yet passionate, and he combines this with classic pop stylings and modern RnB in a way which is fresh, exciting, and welcoming. It is the vocals, combined with wonderful songs and arrangements, which really brings the listener along for the ride. The songs are arranged in away so that the listener is never really sure what is going to come next, as each number takes on a life its own, always with Ezra’s voice very much at the centre of everything. The accompaniment is incredibly layered, with a wide amount of space and separation, and while incredibly modern is also prepared to throw in acapella harmonies (just check out the wonderful DUY).

This is not a style of music I generally listen to yet is an album I have loved from beginning to end, and my only complaint is that it is too short! We have seven songs, a total running length of just 26 minutes, and I just wish it were much longer. Each song could easily be played on the radio, a hit in its own right. The last song on the album, Carry Me, is just multi-tracked Ezra and nothing else, reminding the listener of classic bands such as Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons. Ezra moves into falsetto with ease, and nothing is ever forced, ever rushed, always moving at its own pace. There is restraint within the album, the feeling every step is deliberate, yet it is also incredibly immediate. From the opening of Wait For You, to the very end of Carry Me, one knows that Ezra is a real star, and that this album is a real find. It is just up to everyone else to discover that now, which surely will not take long.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ezra Phoenix

Poneke-based artist Ezra Phoenix, a bird risen from the ashes, is here to confront and converse; Ezra wants to shake up certain communities and get people talking.

Ezra Phoenix (real name Solomon Esera) has been entertaining and performing most of his life, but only started exploring songwriting in 2011 when he attended a Performing Arts school in Auckland, New Zealand. His love for songwriting has since developed into the main tool of his expression, utilizing Pop and RnB vocals and acapella music.

Ezra released his first debut single Run With The Wild Ones in November 2020 to announce his arrival into this world. Not too long after followed his mission statement with Love My Brain, Boy in January 2021, which was also accompanied with an official music video directed by Ezra and captured by Filmmaker Lee Gingold.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ezra Phoenix

Releases

Ezra Phoenix
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Spirit Festival - 05/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I left work a little early on Thursday, and then fought my way from South Auckland, West to Kumeu Showgrounds, where Spirit Festival was taking place. In many ways this is a sister festival to Earthbeat which I attended last year in that it is very much for the alternative culture movement, with lots of stalls and a wonderful vibe.
Read More...
Gig Review: Imperial Slave @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 07/05/2022
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
And so, it came to pass I was back in Dead Witch for the second consecutive night, and my third gig in as many days, which really shows how the scene is ramping back up again under the orange settings. We have all been deprived of live music for so long, and bands are now dipping their toes back in the water while others are resetting dates which previously had been cancelled.
Read More...
Pull Down The Sun - Gig Review: Aotearoa Prog Alliance Tour @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 06/05/22
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This was the first night of the Aotearoa Prog Alliance tour, which is a showcase of progressive rock/metal over 9 shows in May, featuring three of Aotearoa's leading progressive rock/metal bands - Pull Down the Sun (Whanganui), Elidi (Christchurch), Claemus (Wellington) plus a local support at each stop. First up was Claemus, or at least a close approximation, as due to the wonderful lurgy which is COVID, plus a family commitment, the band was down to a duo of Taylor and Dan.
Read More...
Bleeding Afterglow - Album Review: Find Your Taboo
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in 2004 guitarist Sharne Scarborough was looking for a new rhythm section for Just One Fix, and he asked Ant Ward and Gaylene ‘G-Force’ to join. Although the bassist and drummer had bumped into each other on the circuit they were not really friends, and G actually complained to Sharne at one point that she was not sure if she could handle Ant’s persistent innuendos.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Redwood St. Massive
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It’s not often that a song can take me straight back more than 40 years on the first time of hearing, only to reinforce that with repeated plays, but that is exactly what happened with this angry trio from Blenheim. This is stripped back music which has a great deal in common with the post punk Oi!
Read More...
Saint Mercury - Single Review: Ominous Warning (Ft. Shooless)
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Saint Mercury is the artist name for electronic producer Mark Linton who doesn’t see himself being at home in any particular genre but is more of a shapeshifter and on hearing this track one can understand why. Ominous Warning is his debut single, and he has given himself enough room to move around as it is more than five minutes in length.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem