14 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Ezra Phoenix - Album Review: Ezra Phoenix

09 Mar 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Ezra Phoenix is the alter-ego of Solomon Esera, who began songwriting some ten years ago when he attended Excel School of Performing Arts in Auckland. Some of the seven songs on this his debut album stretch back nearly as far, all inspired by what has been happening in his life, telling the story as he connects with listeners to have a real conversation. Produced by Toby Lloyd, who fell in love with Ezra’s music when he first heard the demo for Oxygen Tank, one of the songs included here, they have combined together to create something which is very special indeed.

Ezra has a wonderful voice, delicate yet strong, high yet full of emotion, clear yet passionate, and he combines this with classic pop stylings and modern RnB in a way which is fresh, exciting, and welcoming. It is the vocals, combined with wonderful songs and arrangements, which really brings the listener along for the ride. The songs are arranged in away so that the listener is never really sure what is going to come next, as each number takes on a life its own, always with Ezra’s voice very much at the centre of everything. The accompaniment is incredibly layered, with a wide amount of space and separation, and while incredibly modern is also prepared to throw in acapella harmonies (just check out the wonderful DUY).

This is not a style of music I generally listen to yet is an album I have loved from beginning to end, and my only complaint is that it is too short! We have seven songs, a total running length of just 26 minutes, and I just wish it were much longer. Each song could easily be played on the radio, a hit in its own right. The last song on the album, Carry Me, is just multi-tracked Ezra and nothing else, reminding the listener of classic bands such as Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons. Ezra moves into falsetto with ease, and nothing is ever forced, ever rushed, always moving at its own pace. There is restraint within the album, the feeling every step is deliberate, yet it is also incredibly immediate. From the opening of Wait For You, to the very end of Carry Me, one knows that Ezra is a real star, and that this album is a real find. It is just up to everyone else to discover that now, which surely will not take long.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Ezra Phoenix

Poneke-based artist Ezra Phoenix, a bird risen from the ashes, is here to confront and converse; Ezra wants to shake up certain communities and get people talking.

Ezra Phoenix (real name Solomon Esera) has been entertaining and performing most of his life, but only started exploring songwriting in 2011 when he attended a Performing Arts school in Auckland, New Zealand. His love for songwriting has since developed into the main tool of his expression, utilizing Pop and RnB vocals and acapella music.

Ezra released his first debut single Run With The Wild Ones in November 2020 to announce his arrival into this world. Not too long after followed his mission statement with Love My Brain, Boy in January 2021, which was also accompanied with an official music video directed by Ezra and captured by Filmmaker Lee Gingold.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Ezra Phoenix

Releases

Ezra Phoenix
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blitz Metal Fest @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 12/06/2021
13 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Well, today was a first for me, coming to Ding Dong in the daylight! This was because it was time for Metal Blitz, a 13-band event being held which was planned to run for 10 hours but we all thought was probably going to take longer.
Read More...
Gatekeepers - Single Review: Always a Rebel, Never a Rogue
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Gatekeepers may be a new name to most of you, but this New Plymouth quartet have managed to secure the opening slot in Hamilton for the Devilskin and Kora show, so they have already started to gain some attention and based on this single one can hear why. The band was only formed earlier this year by guitarist/singer Jeremy Donoghue, rhythm guitarist Sean Phillips and bassist Mat Pipe, since when they have been writing and recording tracks before sending them to the UK to be mixed by Adam Wain.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Lake of Eyes
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Adrian Drew and his band of merry men are back with the third single from their forthcoming album and given what I have heard to date I am really looking forward to that when it comes out. While Adrian provides guitar and vocals, the band is now firmly settled with David Crowhen (bass) Undercut, Craig van Kan (drums), The Couch, and lead guitarist Adam Morton-Mason, These Fine Galleons.
Read More...
Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mudbelly @ 12 Bar, Christchurch - 29/05/2021
30 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
In the middle of a red alert weather warning, I trekked from Oxford into Christchurch to attend Mudbelly’s album launch. It has been a while since I last went to a gig down here, but I have been to some real killers in the past (Sepultura, Death Angel and Blindfolded And Led To The Woods at Canterbury University’s The Foundry will long stick in my mind), so was looking forward to this.
Read More...
Lorenzo Hazelwood - Single Review: Same Mistake
28 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Lorenzo Hazlewood is probably best known as front man for Auckland hard rock band Close To The Bone, but he also released some solo singles last year in slightly different fashion, and now he has returned with his first for 2021, Same Mistake. This is reminiscent in some ways of classic ballad-style grunge like good Alice In Chains or Soundgarden, with his vocals very much to the fore.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem