14 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Evan Rhys - EP Review: Flickering Stars

08 Mar 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Evan Rhys first came to public attention when he was front man for Somersault, and after working on other people’s material and also with Maori Television, he is now back with an EP of four of his own songs. Recorded with Sam Johnson at Rhythm Ace Studios with drummer Ben Payne and bassist Nate Betteridge, this is a release where the music is brutally honest, and the singer wears his heart on his sleeve. The four songs are quite different from each other, but all infused with passion, and a desire which causes the voice to crack at times and go offkey, but the listener is taken along for the ride.

The opening title track starts sedately, with gentle chords and rim shots, but the vocals finally break through, the instruments come alive, and a delicate repeated keyboard motif adds additional brightness and life. In many ways this is reminiscent of the Nineties guitar-based indie scene which gave birth to Oasis and would undoubtedly be appreciated by those who have been wishing for the return of the fighting Mancs. But one of the interesting things about this EP is that there is incredible diversity within the four songs, so while they all have their roots in that Indie/Alternative feel, they are all very different from each other, although they all have Evan’s vocals at the very heart of everything they are doing. Truly Free is old school soul, but soul that has not been sanitised and produced within an inch of its life but left raw and vital. Skyline finds Evan move more into pop, with female backing vocals and synthetic-sounding drumming, combined with his vocals and an acoustic guitar. Personally, I would have liked this to have had a different treatment, as if this had been left as a purely solo piece with just an acoustic, I am sure it would have come across with even more impact. The EP ends with Wonder, where this time piano provides the main musical support, but one of the most important aspect of this particular piece is the use of space and the way the music flows.

Four very different songs, all brought together by the vocals of Evan, and the sheer passion he brings to everything he does.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Evan Rhys

Born and raised in Taranaki, the former front man for old skool Waikato band, Somersault is returning to the airwaves with his new solo material. Evan Rhys has used his passion for music to help elevate the lives of those around him. He recorded and released an album of prisoners’ songs entitled, If These Walls Could Speak. He then went to work with Awa Productions on the critically acclaimed Maori Television series, Songs From The Inside. Meanwhile Evan’s own songs continued to take shape in the background and have slowly bubbled to the surface.

His EP Flickering Stars was released in February 2021 and features an eclectic mix of pop songs that are at once nostalgic and new in the same breath. There is life lived in these songs and beyond everything, resonating hope that permeates through this EP.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Evan Rhys

Releases

There are no releases to display for Evan Rhys.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blitz Metal Fest @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 12/06/2021
13 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Well, today was a first for me, coming to Ding Dong in the daylight! This was because it was time for Metal Blitz, a 13-band event being held which was planned to run for 10 hours but we all thought was probably going to take longer.
Read More...
Gatekeepers - Single Review: Always a Rebel, Never a Rogue
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Gatekeepers may be a new name to most of you, but this New Plymouth quartet have managed to secure the opening slot in Hamilton for the Devilskin and Kora show, so they have already started to gain some attention and based on this single one can hear why. The band was only formed earlier this year by guitarist/singer Jeremy Donoghue, rhythm guitarist Sean Phillips and bassist Mat Pipe, since when they have been writing and recording tracks before sending them to the UK to be mixed by Adam Wain.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Lake of Eyes
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Adrian Drew and his band of merry men are back with the third single from their forthcoming album and given what I have heard to date I am really looking forward to that when it comes out. While Adrian provides guitar and vocals, the band is now firmly settled with David Crowhen (bass) Undercut, Craig van Kan (drums), The Couch, and lead guitarist Adam Morton-Mason, These Fine Galleons.
Read More...
Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mudbelly @ 12 Bar, Christchurch - 29/05/2021
30 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
In the middle of a red alert weather warning, I trekked from Oxford into Christchurch to attend Mudbelly’s album launch. It has been a while since I last went to a gig down here, but I have been to some real killers in the past (Sepultura, Death Angel and Blindfolded And Led To The Woods at Canterbury University’s The Foundry will long stick in my mind), so was looking forward to this.
Read More...
Lorenzo Hazelwood - Single Review: Same Mistake
28 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Lorenzo Hazlewood is probably best known as front man for Auckland hard rock band Close To The Bone, but he also released some solo singles last year in slightly different fashion, and now he has returned with his first for 2021, Same Mistake. This is reminiscent in some ways of classic ballad-style grunge like good Alice In Chains or Soundgarden, with his vocals very much to the fore.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem