27 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Evan Rhys - EP Review: Flickering Stars

08 Mar 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Evan Rhys first came to public attention when he was front man for Somersault, and after working on other people’s material and also with Maori Television, he is now back with an EP of four of his own songs. Recorded with Sam Johnson at Rhythm Ace Studios with drummer Ben Payne and bassist Nate Betteridge, this is a release where the music is brutally honest, and the singer wears his heart on his sleeve. The four songs are quite different from each other, but all infused with passion, and a desire which causes the voice to crack at times and go offkey, but the listener is taken along for the ride.

The opening title track starts sedately, with gentle chords and rim shots, but the vocals finally break through, the instruments come alive, and a delicate repeated keyboard motif adds additional brightness and life. In many ways this is reminiscent of the Nineties guitar-based indie scene which gave birth to Oasis and would undoubtedly be appreciated by those who have been wishing for the return of the fighting Mancs. But one of the interesting things about this EP is that there is incredible diversity within the four songs, so while they all have their roots in that Indie/Alternative feel, they are all very different from each other, although they all have Evan’s vocals at the very heart of everything they are doing. Truly Free is old school soul, but soul that has not been sanitised and produced within an inch of its life but left raw and vital. Skyline finds Evan move more into pop, with female backing vocals and synthetic-sounding drumming, combined with his vocals and an acoustic guitar. Personally, I would have liked this to have had a different treatment, as if this had been left as a purely solo piece with just an acoustic, I am sure it would have come across with even more impact. The EP ends with Wonder, where this time piano provides the main musical support, but one of the most important aspect of this particular piece is the use of space and the way the music flows.

Four very different songs, all brought together by the vocals of Evan, and the sheer passion he brings to everything he does.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Evan Rhys

Born and raised in Taranaki, the former front man for old skool Waikato band, Somersault is returning to the airwaves with his new solo material. Evan Rhys has used his passion for music to help elevate the lives of those around him. He recorded and released an album of prisoners’ songs entitled, If These Walls Could Speak. He then went to work with Awa Productions on the critically acclaimed Maori Television series, Songs From The Inside. Meanwhile Evan’s own songs continued to take shape in the background and have slowly bubbled to the surface.

His EP Flickering Stars was released in February 2021 and features an eclectic mix of pop songs that are at once nostalgic and new in the same breath. There is life lived in these songs and beyond everything, resonating hope that permeates through this EP.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Evan Rhys

Releases

There are no releases to display for Evan Rhys.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Plum Green - Album Review: Somnambulist
25 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Born in a squat in England, raised in New Zealand, and presently residing in Melbourne, here we have the latest release from dream folk artist Plum Green. I have not previously come across any of her other albums, but somehow, I can see I need to undertake some investigations as this is a very special album indeed.
Read More...
Diehards of Deep Dish - Album Review: Traditional Speciality Guaranteed
25 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is a long history of band members using pseudonyms, with Ramones probably being the most famous, and here we have a band who use pseudonyms for their pseudonyms, so we have Cheese (Joey Provolone), Tomato (Ryley Base), Wheat (Beef Richards), Mushrooms (Mattzarella Gibson) and Herbs (Herbie Handcooked). I thought Cafe Fistfight had probably taken the foodie elements to the extreme with songs such as King Hit Quiche, but here we have six songs all aimed at the pizza lovers among us.
Read More...
Power The Light - Single Review: Snowing
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Power The Light is Max Roskilly, an 18-year-old musician who is based in Auckland , and has been self-releasing music for the last four years already, including the album Blueprints a while back. This is his second single in recent months, following on from Skys where he showed an interest more in krautrock than in is normal indie-jazz style.
Read More...
Single Review: Glass Throne
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Glass Throne are an Auckland-based power trio comprising Justin Robinson (lead vocals, bass, guitar), Owen McKibbin (guitar, organ, backing vocals) and Daniel Cutfield (drums, percussion, backing vocals). I have managed to catch them play live a few times over the last year, and what always strikes me is just how different they are to the rest of the local scene, coming through as a mix of classic Seventies hard rock, progressive and modern alt rock.
Read More...
On Tick - Single Review: Nothing New
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Tick is the brainchild of brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar), and was formed from the ashes of their previous musical outfit, Evil Tomato, who began as a band in 2012. They came across 5-string bassist Matt Hammond when they heard the demoes for Black Sands, which he not only produced but played on, and he joined forces to work with them on the album and to allow them to play in the Ding Dong Battle of the Bands.
Read More...
Ravenhall - EP Review: The Coming Storm
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Ravenhall were formed by guitarist Joe Ravenhall and singer Chris Brebner in 2015. They were both already veterans of the Auckland scene, and wanted to perform music which concentrated on the power of acoustic guitar, wonderful vocals, plus some gentle electronic backing, and that is certainly what we have here.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem