10 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Evan Rhys - EP Review: Flickering Stars

08 Mar 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Evan Rhys first came to public attention when he was front man for Somersault, and after working on other people’s material and also with Maori Television, he is now back with an EP of four of his own songs. Recorded with Sam Johnson at Rhythm Ace Studios with drummer Ben Payne and bassist Nate Betteridge, this is a release where the music is brutally honest, and the singer wears his heart on his sleeve. The four songs are quite different from each other, but all infused with passion, and a desire which causes the voice to crack at times and go offkey, but the listener is taken along for the ride.

The opening title track starts sedately, with gentle chords and rim shots, but the vocals finally break through, the instruments come alive, and a delicate repeated keyboard motif adds additional brightness and life. In many ways this is reminiscent of the Nineties guitar-based indie scene which gave birth to Oasis and would undoubtedly be appreciated by those who have been wishing for the return of the fighting Mancs. But one of the interesting things about this EP is that there is incredible diversity within the four songs, so while they all have their roots in that Indie/Alternative feel, they are all very different from each other, although they all have Evan’s vocals at the very heart of everything they are doing. Truly Free is old school soul, but soul that has not been sanitised and produced within an inch of its life but left raw and vital. Skyline finds Evan move more into pop, with female backing vocals and synthetic-sounding drumming, combined with his vocals and an acoustic guitar. Personally, I would have liked this to have had a different treatment, as if this had been left as a purely solo piece with just an acoustic, I am sure it would have come across with even more impact. The EP ends with Wonder, where this time piano provides the main musical support, but one of the most important aspect of this particular piece is the use of space and the way the music flows.

Four very different songs, all brought together by the vocals of Evan, and the sheer passion he brings to everything he does.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Evan Rhys

Born and raised in Taranaki, the former front man for old skool Waikato band, Somersault is returning to the airwaves with his new solo material. Evan Rhys has used his passion for music to help elevate the lives of those around him. He recorded and released an album of prisoners’ songs entitled, If These Walls Could Speak. He then went to work with Awa Productions on the critically acclaimed Maori Television series, Songs From The Inside. Meanwhile Evan’s own songs continued to take shape in the background and have slowly bubbled to the surface.

His EP Flickering Stars was released in February 2021 and features an eclectic mix of pop songs that are at once nostalgic and new in the same breath. There is life lived in these songs and beyond everything, resonating hope that permeates through this EP.


Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Evan Rhys

Releases

There are no releases to display for Evan Rhys.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Elidi - Single Review: Witches Brew
06 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Christchurch quintet Elidi are back with their latest single, released just in time for their South Island gigs with Pull Down the Sun in April, before they head out on a NZ-wide tour with Stonehurst in a few months’ time. They describe themselves as progressive, but before you start thinking these guys are Genesis or Pink Floyd clones, understand they are talking progressive in its truest sense, which is blending together different styles and types of music into something which refuses to sit sedately within any particular sub-genre and instead goes wherever it leads, being taken on a journey in the same way as the listener.
Read More...
Album Review: The New Blue - Pixie Williams Reimagined
06 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Before starting on the music on this tribute album, we first need to understand who Pixie Williams was and the impact she had on NZ music. Pixie was the first wahine Maori vocalist to reach number one on the New Zealand singles chart, with the song Blue Smoke in 1949.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/03/2021
02 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight was always going to be interesting, as this was the first time myself and my eldest daughter had been to a concert together for more than 16 years. The last time was for Bowling For Soup, and one of her achievements that night was reducing the average age of the audience, something she did again this evening.
Read More...
Bridge Burner - Album Review: Disempath
30 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from 2018’s Null Apostle, Auckland’s Bridge Burner are back with their second album, Disempath. Featuring guitarist Josh Hughes (Vassafor, Graves), vocalist Ben Read (ex-Ulcerate, In Dread Response), bassist Gary Brown, drummer Louis Malloy (ex-Anabyss) and guitarist Maxwell Gravelle (ex-Hexis, Setentis), here we have a group who are determined to push their music and their listeners to the very limits.
Read More...
Blindfolded and Led to the Woods - Album Review: Nightmare Withdrawals
25 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I first came across Christchurch-based band Blindfolded and Led to the Woods some four years back when they released their second album, Modern Adoxography. It had a huge impact on me, and I described it as having a musical foundation built upon brutal death metal, elements of demented grindcore and bizarre sci-fi tones weaving their way into the complex structures, resulting in an engaging and damaging listening experience.
Read More...
The Wake Up - Single Review: House of Cards
23 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Back in October I reviewed Palmerston North outfit The Wake Up's latest single, Worthy, which introduced new bassist Nathan Charles, and now here they are back with the seventh single of their career, and this time around they have a new guitarist in Trent Fairhurst. It sounds as if he has made an immediate impact as this is much heavier than their last one, and drummer Caleb Hickmott says, “it is the demon love child of Devilskin, Billie Eilish and Motley Crue”.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre, Cherry Blind & White Noise Mafia @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/03/2021
22 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Saturday night it was back to The Tuning Fork, at an ungodly hour as this was an All Ages show. It was only from looking at White Noise Mafia’s Facebook page in the afternoon that I realised they were going to be onstage at 7:15pm, so if I had not seen that I would have missed their complete set!
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Earth Beat Festival, Kaipara - 18/03/2021
20 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I have been trying to catch up with In The Shallows for ages, but even though they have been touring nationally, I have somehow managed to always be in another part of the country so kept missing them. We were going to meet up at Spirit Festival a few weeks back, but thanks to COVID that was postponed, and then I heard they would be playing at another Auckland festival, so I contacted Danni and we agreed Earth Beat was going to be the one.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem