19 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Elmo Strauss - Album Review: Light and Dark

02 Mar 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Elmo Strauss began his musical career on Waiheke Island with the B Squared Blues Band which he formed with Louie Bo Charles IV. Eventually they morphed into Vessel, making the Battle of the Bands final in 2012. A few years later Elmo left NZ, heading first to Europe and then to America, forming different bands and recording along the way, but now he is back in Aotearoa with his debut solo album. Recorded at home, he provided all the vocals and instruments, apart from on Rehab and Cocaine  where he is joined by ex-Vessel drummer, Alfons Peeters.

Although he says he is influenced by multiple styles, he says that whenever he hits a musical roadblock he reverts to grunge, but while that is indeed a core part of his style, this is way more than “just” that. The album contains a large amount of alternative metal, as well as plenty of dirty, blues-based rock, and I found myself thinking this often felt more like early ZZ Top than Nirvana. There is a grittiness about it, a touch of reality and refusal to confirm to what is expected, which is refreshing.

It never sounds like a solo album, but much more one where a group of long-haired guys have just plugged in and started playing. The vocals are not quite perfect, but they would jar if they did, as that would be out of keeping in music which sounds as if it were recorded live in the studio. It has that lumberjack shirt and freewheeling attitude of Rory Gallagher and Taste, but without the flamboyance and more of the grunge down tuned element. Looking at the photos on the site I am not at all surprised to see he is using Marshall amplifiers, as they have that grunt and bite which one expects from that equipment. There is no room him for posing, this is honest to goodness rock which deserves to be played in sweaty clubs, and when he brings out the slide on GART all the listener can do is sit there with an almighty grin on their face. It does also seem mighty apt that the song I am currently listening keeps telling me I need to get used to Lockdown.

This does not sound like an album from New Zealand in 2021, but something which has far more in keeping with some of the grunge bands from the Nineties combined with Creedence, Fogerty, Taste and ZZ Top from the early Seventies. This is music which is designed to breathe in a live environment, not the studio, and one can only hope he puts together a band and hits the circuit soon. There are a few times when a song is a little too repetitive, and others when the bass is slightly too high in the mix, but overall, this is an incredibly solid album which all fans of classic rock should grab and play loud.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Elmo Strauss

Elmo Strauss (Real name, Ben Martens) is a singer/songwriter from Auckland New Zealand. His previous bands include Vessel (NZ) and Props (Austin, TX).
Elmo recorded his debut album Light and Dark at his house during the Covid lockdown.

He is currently a member of Auckland band Billy and the Wolf.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Elmo Strauss

Releases

Light and Dark
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

The RVMES - Album Review: Lifetime
14 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The RVMES (pronounced “rooms”) are back with a ten-track release entitled Lifetime, following from their 9-track self-titled EP in 2019, plus numerous singles. Here we have a band who are determined not to sit within any particular genre, and while much of what they perform could fall under the banners of indie, alternative, pop and/or psychedelic, they bring much more than that into the mix.
Read More...
FYVEYES - Album Review: Elephant Room
12 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
FYVEYES, a young Hawkes Bay trio were formed by Harry Champion (guitar, lead vocals) with Harry Young (bass) and Harper Champion (drums) to play some gigs which had already been booked by Harry C prior to his previous band breaking up. The Champion brothers had already been in a band together called Elephant Room and loved the idea of picking out an elephant in the room when you are in a room full of elephants, so this time around they used it as an album title.
Read More...
Gig Review: Written By Wolves @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 09/04/2021
11 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight was going to be a few firsts for me, including that this was going to be my first time at Ding Dong for a sell-out gig, as well as the first time I had seen Written By Wolves in concert. For the latter, I had been told I was a WBW virgin, while a certain photographer commented he must be a WBW slut!
Read More...
Elidi - Single Review: Witches Brew
06 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Christchurch quintet Elidi are back with their latest single, released just in time for their South Island gigs with Pull Down the Sun in April, before they head out on a NZ-wide tour with Stonehurst in a few months’ time. They describe themselves as progressive, but before you start thinking these guys are Genesis or Pink Floyd clones, understand they are talking progressive in its truest sense, which is blending together different styles and types of music into something which refuses to sit sedately within any particular sub-genre and instead goes wherever it leads, being taken on a journey in the same way as the listener.
Read More...
Album Review: The New Blue - Pixie Williams Reimagined
06 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Before starting on the music on this tribute album, we first need to understand who Pixie Williams was and the impact she had on NZ music. Pixie was the first wahine Maori vocalist to reach number one on the New Zealand singles chart, with the song Blue Smoke in 1949.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/03/2021
02 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight was always going to be interesting, as this was the first time myself and my eldest daughter had been to a concert together for more than 16 years. The last time was for Bowling For Soup, and one of her achievements that night was reducing the average age of the audience, something she did again this evening.
Read More...
Bridge Burner - Album Review: Disempath
30 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from 2018’s Null Apostle, Auckland’s Bridge Burner are back with their second album, Disempath. Featuring guitarist Josh Hughes (Vassafor, Graves), vocalist Ben Read (ex-Ulcerate, In Dread Response), bassist Gary Brown, drummer Louis Malloy (ex-Anabyss) and guitarist Maxwell Gravelle (ex-Hexis, Setentis), here we have a group who are determined to push their music and their listeners to the very limits.
Read More...
Blindfolded and Led to the Woods - Album Review: Nightmare Withdrawals
25 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I first came across Christchurch-based band Blindfolded and Led to the Woods some four years back when they released their second album, Modern Adoxography. It had a huge impact on me, and I described it as having a musical foundation built upon brutal death metal, elements of demented grindcore and bizarre sci-fi tones weaving their way into the complex structures, resulting in an engaging and damaging listening experience.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem