26 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Elmo Strauss - Album Review: Light and Dark

02 Mar 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Elmo Strauss began his musical career on Waiheke Island with the B Squared Blues Band which he formed with Louie Bo Charles IV. Eventually they morphed into Vessel, making the Battle of the Bands final in 2012. A few years later Elmo left NZ, heading first to Europe and then to America, forming different bands and recording along the way, but now he is back in Aotearoa with his debut solo album. Recorded at home, he provided all the vocals and instruments, apart from on Rehab and Cocaine  where he is joined by ex-Vessel drummer, Alfons Peeters.

Although he says he is influenced by multiple styles, he says that whenever he hits a musical roadblock he reverts to grunge, but while that is indeed a core part of his style, this is way more than “just” that. The album contains a large amount of alternative metal, as well as plenty of dirty, blues-based rock, and I found myself thinking this often felt more like early ZZ Top than Nirvana. There is a grittiness about it, a touch of reality and refusal to confirm to what is expected, which is refreshing.

It never sounds like a solo album, but much more one where a group of long-haired guys have just plugged in and started playing. The vocals are not quite perfect, but they would jar if they did, as that would be out of keeping in music which sounds as if it were recorded live in the studio. It has that lumberjack shirt and freewheeling attitude of Rory Gallagher and Taste, but without the flamboyance and more of the grunge down tuned element. Looking at the photos on the site I am not at all surprised to see he is using Marshall amplifiers, as they have that grunt and bite which one expects from that equipment. There is no room him for posing, this is honest to goodness rock which deserves to be played in sweaty clubs, and when he brings out the slide on GART all the listener can do is sit there with an almighty grin on their face. It does also seem mighty apt that the song I am currently listening keeps telling me I need to get used to Lockdown.

This does not sound like an album from New Zealand in 2021, but something which has far more in keeping with some of the grunge bands from the Nineties combined with Creedence, Fogerty, Taste and ZZ Top from the early Seventies. This is music which is designed to breathe in a live environment, not the studio, and one can only hope he puts together a band and hits the circuit soon. There are a few times when a song is a little too repetitive, and others when the bass is slightly too high in the mix, but overall, this is an incredibly solid album which all fans of classic rock should grab and play loud.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Elmo Strauss

Elmo Strauss (Real name, Ben Martens) is a singer/songwriter from Auckland New Zealand. His previous bands include Vessel (NZ) and Props (Austin, TX).
Elmo recorded his debut album Light and Dark at his house during the Covid lockdown.

He is currently a member of Auckland band Billy and the Wolf.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Elmo Strauss

Releases

Light and Dark
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Plum Green - Album Review: Somnambulist
25 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Born in a squat in England, raised in New Zealand, and presently residing in Melbourne, here we have the latest release from dream folk artist Plum Green. I have not previously come across any of her other albums, but somehow, I can see I need to undertake some investigations as this is a very special album indeed.
Read More...
Diehards of Deep Dish - Album Review: Traditional Speciality Guaranteed
25 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is a long history of band members using pseudonyms, with Ramones probably being the most famous, and here we have a band who use pseudonyms for their pseudonyms, so we have Cheese (Joey Provolone), Tomato (Ryley Base), Wheat (Beef Richards), Mushrooms (Mattzarella Gibson) and Herbs (Herbie Handcooked). I thought Cafe Fistfight had probably taken the foodie elements to the extreme with songs such as King Hit Quiche, but here we have six songs all aimed at the pizza lovers among us.
Read More...
Power The Light - Single Review: Snowing
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Power The Light is Max Roskilly, an 18-year-old musician who is based in Auckland , and has been self-releasing music for the last four years already, including the album Blueprints a while back. This is his second single in recent months, following on from Skys where he showed an interest more in krautrock than in is normal indie-jazz style.
Read More...
Single Review: Glass Throne
23 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Glass Throne are an Auckland-based power trio comprising Justin Robinson (lead vocals, bass, guitar), Owen McKibbin (guitar, organ, backing vocals) and Daniel Cutfield (drums, percussion, backing vocals). I have managed to catch them play live a few times over the last year, and what always strikes me is just how different they are to the rest of the local scene, coming through as a mix of classic Seventies hard rock, progressive and modern alt rock.
Read More...
On Tick - Single Review: Nothing New
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Tick is the brainchild of brothers Brendan (vocals and drums) and Aidan O'Loughlin (vocals, guitar), and was formed from the ashes of their previous musical outfit, Evil Tomato, who began as a band in 2012. They came across 5-string bassist Matt Hammond when they heard the demoes for Black Sands, which he not only produced but played on, and he joined forces to work with them on the album and to allow them to play in the Ding Dong Battle of the Bands.
Read More...
Ravenhall - EP Review: The Coming Storm
21 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Ravenhall were formed by guitarist Joe Ravenhall and singer Chris Brebner in 2015. They were both already veterans of the Auckland scene, and wanted to perform music which concentrated on the power of acoustic guitar, wonderful vocals, plus some gentle electronic backing, and that is certainly what we have here.
Read More...
Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem