10 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: This Is What I Heard

02 Mar 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

This 22-minute-long 5-track EP is the latest release from Daniel Brown, proudly recorded in his shed, in Feilding with Daniel providing guitars, drums and vocals. For those who have previously not come across Polaroids of Polarbears, this is lo-fi which combines shoegaze, post punk, Simple Minds and ambient styles in a way that is naively engaging.

Although there is little in the way of aggression, for some reason Polaroids of Polarbears remind me of The Undertones, a band who John Peel felt released the best song of all-time in Teenage Kicks. There is something about the approach, albeit slowed down greatly, which is reminiscent of Feargal and the boys. But instead of the punk it is more laid back, moving very much into the more ambient and (whisper it) New Age stylings. The vocals are kept deliberately low in the mix, so they become almost part of the minimalist music, and on songs such as April 11 2020 one has to turn the volume up to hear what is going on, but even then it is quiet and it actually feels wrong to have it too loud. The music is creating an emotional reaction, of something that is delicate and fragile and if one makes the wrong move it is all going to fracture and fall away. That particular number is the last on the EP, and is also the longest at eight minutes. It is one of the slowest builders I have come across, as by the end everything is cranked up and it feels like the band are set to explode.

I say "band" as this never comes across as a solo project, but rather something which has been carefully constructed by a group of people in the studio and the more I play it the more I find within it, with layered guitars that at times are reminiscent of New Order, and a feeling that somehow the world is safe while this is being played, like being wrapped in cotton wool. The production and instrumentation are deliberate, and there is the feeling of little in the way of space although there is clear separation of the instruments. This is lo-fi and DIY to the core, and I would not wish it any other way.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Polaroids of Polarbears

Polaroids of Polarbears is D.Brown in his shed, in Feilding with Guitars and Drums. Solo project low fi and cheaply made with a smile




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Polaroids of Polarbears

Releases

This Is What I Heard
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Breathe In
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Polaroids of Polarbears
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Polaroids of Polarbears
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Elidi - Single Review: Witches Brew
06 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Christchurch quintet Elidi are back with their latest single, released just in time for their South Island gigs with Pull Down the Sun in April, before they head out on a NZ-wide tour with Stonehurst in a few months’ time. They describe themselves as progressive, but before you start thinking these guys are Genesis or Pink Floyd clones, understand they are talking progressive in its truest sense, which is blending together different styles and types of music into something which refuses to sit sedately within any particular sub-genre and instead goes wherever it leads, being taken on a journey in the same way as the listener.
Read More...
Album Review: The New Blue - Pixie Williams Reimagined
06 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Before starting on the music on this tribute album, we first need to understand who Pixie Williams was and the impact she had on NZ music. Pixie was the first wahine Maori vocalist to reach number one on the New Zealand singles chart, with the song Blue Smoke in 1949.
Read More...
Gig Review: Sol3 Mio @ Spark Arena, Auckland - 30/03/2021
02 Apr 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Tonight was always going to be interesting, as this was the first time myself and my eldest daughter had been to a concert together for more than 16 years. The last time was for Bowling For Soup, and one of her achievements that night was reducing the average age of the audience, something she did again this evening.
Read More...
Bridge Burner - Album Review: Disempath
30 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Following on from 2018’s Null Apostle, Auckland’s Bridge Burner are back with their second album, Disempath. Featuring guitarist Josh Hughes (Vassafor, Graves), vocalist Ben Read (ex-Ulcerate, In Dread Response), bassist Gary Brown, drummer Louis Malloy (ex-Anabyss) and guitarist Maxwell Gravelle (ex-Hexis, Setentis), here we have a group who are determined to push their music and their listeners to the very limits.
Read More...
Blindfolded and Led to the Woods - Album Review: Nightmare Withdrawals
25 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I first came across Christchurch-based band Blindfolded and Led to the Woods some four years back when they released their second album, Modern Adoxography. It had a huge impact on me, and I described it as having a musical foundation built upon brutal death metal, elements of demented grindcore and bizarre sci-fi tones weaving their way into the complex structures, resulting in an engaging and damaging listening experience.
Read More...
The Wake Up - Single Review: House of Cards
23 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Back in October I reviewed Palmerston North outfit The Wake Up's latest single, Worthy, which introduced new bassist Nathan Charles, and now here they are back with the seventh single of their career, and this time around they have a new guitarist in Trent Fairhurst. It sounds as if he has made an immediate impact as this is much heavier than their last one, and drummer Caleb Hickmott says, “it is the demon love child of Devilskin, Billie Eilish and Motley Crue”.
Read More...
Gig Review: Capital Theatre, Cherry Blind & White Noise Mafia @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 20/03/2021
22 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
On Saturday night it was back to The Tuning Fork, at an ungodly hour as this was an All Ages show. It was only from looking at White Noise Mafia’s Facebook page in the afternoon that I realised they were going to be onstage at 7:15pm, so if I had not seen that I would have missed their complete set!
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Earth Beat Festival, Kaipara - 18/03/2021
20 Mar 2021 // by Kev Rowland
I have been trying to catch up with In The Shallows for ages, but even though they have been touring nationally, I have somehow managed to always be in another part of the country so kept missing them. We were going to meet up at Spirit Festival a few weeks back, but thanks to COVID that was postponed, and then I heard they would be playing at another Auckland festival, so I contacted Danni and we agreed Earth Beat was going to be the one.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem