18 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Polaroids of Polarbears - EP Review: This Is What I Heard

02 Mar 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

This 22-minute-long 5-track EP is the latest release from Daniel Brown, proudly recorded in his shed, in Feilding with Daniel providing guitars, drums and vocals. For those who have previously not come across Polaroids of Polarbears, this is lo-fi which combines shoegaze, post punk, Simple Minds and ambient styles in a way that is naively engaging.

Although there is little in the way of aggression, for some reason Polaroids of Polarbears remind me of The Undertones, a band who John Peel felt released the best song of all-time in Teenage Kicks. There is something about the approach, albeit slowed down greatly, which is reminiscent of Feargal and the boys. But instead of the punk it is more laid back, moving very much into the more ambient and (whisper it) New Age stylings. The vocals are kept deliberately low in the mix, so they become almost part of the minimalist music, and on songs such as April 11 2020 one has to turn the volume up to hear what is going on, but even then it is quiet and it actually feels wrong to have it too loud. The music is creating an emotional reaction, of something that is delicate and fragile and if one makes the wrong move it is all going to fracture and fall away. That particular number is the last on the EP, and is also the longest at eight minutes. It is one of the slowest builders I have come across, as by the end everything is cranked up and it feels like the band are set to explode.

I say "band" as this never comes across as a solo project, but rather something which has been carefully constructed by a group of people in the studio and the more I play it the more I find within it, with layered guitars that at times are reminiscent of New Order, and a feeling that somehow the world is safe while this is being played, like being wrapped in cotton wool. The production and instrumentation are deliberate, and there is the feeling of little in the way of space although there is clear separation of the instruments. This is lo-fi and DIY to the core, and I would not wish it any other way.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Polaroids of Polarbears

Polaroids of Polarbears is D.Brown in his shed, in Feilding with Guitars and Drums. Solo project low fi and cheaply made with a smile




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Polaroids of Polarbears

Releases

This Is What I Heard
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Breathe In
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Polaroids of Polarbears
Year: 2019
Type: EP
Polaroids of Polarbears
Year: 2014
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Spirit Festival - 05/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I left work a little early on Thursday, and then fought my way from South Auckland, West to Kumeu Showgrounds, where Spirit Festival was taking place. In many ways this is a sister festival to Earthbeat which I attended last year in that it is very much for the alternative culture movement, with lots of stalls and a wonderful vibe.
Read More...
Gig Review: Imperial Slave @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 07/05/2022
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
And so, it came to pass I was back in Dead Witch for the second consecutive night, and my third gig in as many days, which really shows how the scene is ramping back up again under the orange settings. We have all been deprived of live music for so long, and bands are now dipping their toes back in the water while others are resetting dates which previously had been cancelled.
Read More...
Pull Down The Sun - Gig Review: Aotearoa Prog Alliance Tour @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 06/05/22
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This was the first night of the Aotearoa Prog Alliance tour, which is a showcase of progressive rock/metal over 9 shows in May, featuring three of Aotearoa's leading progressive rock/metal bands - Pull Down the Sun (Whanganui), Elidi (Christchurch), Claemus (Wellington) plus a local support at each stop. First up was Claemus, or at least a close approximation, as due to the wonderful lurgy which is COVID, plus a family commitment, the band was down to a duo of Taylor and Dan.
Read More...
Bleeding Afterglow - Album Review: Find Your Taboo
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in 2004 guitarist Sharne Scarborough was looking for a new rhythm section for Just One Fix, and he asked Ant Ward and Gaylene ‘G-Force’ to join. Although the bassist and drummer had bumped into each other on the circuit they were not really friends, and G actually complained to Sharne at one point that she was not sure if she could handle Ant’s persistent innuendos.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Redwood St. Massive
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It’s not often that a song can take me straight back more than 40 years on the first time of hearing, only to reinforce that with repeated plays, but that is exactly what happened with this angry trio from Blenheim. This is stripped back music which has a great deal in common with the post punk Oi!
Read More...
Saint Mercury - Single Review: Ominous Warning (Ft. Shooless)
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Saint Mercury is the artist name for electronic producer Mark Linton who doesn’t see himself being at home in any particular genre but is more of a shapeshifter and on hearing this track one can understand why. Ominous Warning is his debut single, and he has given himself enough room to move around as it is more than five minutes in length.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem