14 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Primacy - Gig Review: Primacy @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 27/02/2021

28 Feb 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Saturday at the Ding Dong is always guaranteed to be a good night, and tonight was to be no exception with Primacy finally launching their album Seeds of Change. I say “finally” as previous gigs had been cancelled due to lockdown, and in fact this was going to be their first gig since 2019! The common consensus in the band is that it is all the fault of Rhys Saran who put the word “lockdown” into lyrics long before COVID 19 had been heard of.

But first up tonight we had The First Child, a band I had been waiting to see again, as the last time I saw them it really was not a fair indication as for some reason all the microphones stopped working quite quickly during their set, and although singer Lily Mou gave his all, with a hardcore punk band behind him there was no way we could hear the vocals. I met up with him before the gig and the first thing he told me was that all the microphones were working tonight! They were also using a stand-in bassist as their normal bass player was unavailable, but one would never have guessed that he had only rehearsed with the band during the last two weeks as he fitted in really well. The First Child are all about emotion and passion, and while there are links to the pop punk of the likes of Blink 182, they are generally more feral and aggressive, playing pop punk hardcore with a metallic edge. One thing I noticed is the way Lily paces himself and does not go for it at full bore all the time, which means he has the opportunity to rest his voice somewhat and produce different styles. Quaker was the highlight, where Lily even brought in falsetto, where there was very strong interplay and riffing between the guitars, and the bass firmly locked in. They are very good indeed at what they do, and certainly warmed up the crowd.

I was talking to guitarists Alex Carleton and Bryce Patten from Downfall Of Humanity prior to their set, and I knew that tonight they were going to be playing a cover, namely SOAD’s Toxicity. I told them it was one of my favourite songs and I was looking forward to hearing it, and Alex told me later in the night this had done absolutely nothing to settle his nerves whatsoever! But, if there were any nerves on stage tonight, the guys did not show it at all. This was my first experience of DOH, and had not heard any of their material, but barman James was raving to me about them and how good they were the last time they played there. Given that the guys who work the bar at Ding Dong get to hear far more music than a regular punter, that was high praise indeed, and based on what I saw last night I certainly concur. The rhythm section is incredibly tight and locked down, which allows the two guitarists to really shine, swapping leads and support as the need arises. While System of a Down are an obvious influence, they are bringing in influences from different areas, something which is readily apparent in the vocals. Singer Daniel Carleton not only is a commanding and forceful presence on stage, but he has an incredibly powerful and emotional baritone, which he uses to great effect when the time is right, yet he also goes incredibly harsh and provides death growls. With both guitarists and drummer Ben Bakker also providing vocals (the line-up is completed by bassist Ben Pegman), combining this with complex riffs and passages, there is a lot to take in.

They mix and move through different metal genres, so just when one thinks there is some mathcore it switches into power metal, before hitting some technical death strides. This is one of the real joys of their music for me, the way they have refused to sit just within one sub-genre and go where they feel the music is taking them. I have often said it is hard to pigeonhole music, as music is not a pigeon, and while someone could say that Downfall of Humanity are a Metal band, they are covering a whole range of styles within that. Their version of Toxicity was very good indeed, but interestingly it did not stand out from the rest of the material within the set, which shows the level at which they are operating. The crowd were now really buzzing with loads of metalheads down the front, and I was certainly disappointed when their set came to an end. Apparently, they were supposed to be back in the studio this week working on the EP, having had studio sessions cancelled in the past due to lockdown, and they were not happy that it had just happened again, but when that finally appears it is something which will be well worth hearing indeed.

Primacy have been waiting for this gig for way too long, but if one thought they would be nervous about playing their first show in nearly 18 months it certainly did not show. When I reviewed the album, I said it was “something which really grooves along yet is always heavy and manages to hit that sweet spot between out and out aggression and commerciality”, but what I had not picked up on was just how much this band is driven from the back. Will Stairmand attacks his kit like a man possessed, yet is always in full control, combining with Sadeer Kattan to create an incredibly powerful and stable rhythm section. While both Primacy and DOH have twin guitars, their approaches are quite different with Primacy much more of an alternative metal band, creating slabs of riffs as opposed to tremendous intricacy. I must make a special mention of guitarist Adrian Brausch, as it is way too long since I saw a Flying V on stage, and just the sight of it made me smile even before he struck a note, while on the other side was Jared Tobin who played with a smile on his face all night as he was having a blast. Rhys Saran is both vocally and visually quite different to Daniel, yet he also very much remains the focal point, sometimes just standing straight and staring into the crowd, and others really moving and getting into the sound. There is a huge underlying groove to everything they do, and the crowd were by now incredibly animated. One can understand why they and DOH have gigged together so much in the past, as while they are very different in their musical approach, they have complementary styles, and both really get the crowd going.

When they upped the tempo during the set on Ten Years, the crowd reacted with them, and it was certainly when they ripped it up that the crowd got even more animated. But they also fully understand the need for dynamics and Shade Black showed a very different style to the band with Adrian creating a soundscape for a song which was a real builder. They actually finished their set right on the allotted time, which was a real first for me at Ding Dong, and Will was taking the cymbals off as soon as it was over. However, the crowd were not going to let that happen and shouted for more, which led to some consternation with the band who obviously were not expecting it. Ryan asked soundman Dave if they could do one more, Will was convinced to put the cymbals back on, and they ended the night with yet another belter.

Let us hope this lockdown does not last too long and that we can again get back to near normality, as yet again tonight Ding Dong hosted some great bands which I look forward to catching again when this is all over.

 

About Primacy

Primacy are 5-piece alternative metal band from West Auckland. They incorporate a groove metal base with other elements of hard rock, progressive metal and a twist of blues flavour.

Primacy were formed in 2014 after the split of well know local bands The Blacklight Configuration, Overhaile and Heathen Eyes – the timing was right, the songs were right and the team was right, Primacy came together as a collective around guitarist Adrian Brausch's new and unused material from his former band Overhaile.

Their first EP Failure and Sacrifice was released in 2016, and followed by a mini-EP in 2017 III.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Primacy

Releases

Seeds of Change
Year: 2020
Type: Album
III
Year: 2017
Type: EP
Failure and Sacrifice
Year: 2016
Type: EP
The Demos
Year: 2015
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blitz Metal Fest @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 12/06/2021
13 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Well, today was a first for me, coming to Ding Dong in the daylight! This was because it was time for Metal Blitz, a 13-band event being held which was planned to run for 10 hours but we all thought was probably going to take longer.
Read More...
Gatekeepers - Single Review: Always a Rebel, Never a Rogue
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Gatekeepers may be a new name to most of you, but this New Plymouth quartet have managed to secure the opening slot in Hamilton for the Devilskin and Kora show, so they have already started to gain some attention and based on this single one can hear why. The band was only formed earlier this year by guitarist/singer Jeremy Donoghue, rhythm guitarist Sean Phillips and bassist Mat Pipe, since when they have been writing and recording tracks before sending them to the UK to be mixed by Adam Wain.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Lake of Eyes
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Adrian Drew and his band of merry men are back with the third single from their forthcoming album and given what I have heard to date I am really looking forward to that when it comes out. While Adrian provides guitar and vocals, the band is now firmly settled with David Crowhen (bass) Undercut, Craig van Kan (drums), The Couch, and lead guitarist Adam Morton-Mason, These Fine Galleons.
Read More...
Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mudbelly @ 12 Bar, Christchurch - 29/05/2021
30 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
In the middle of a red alert weather warning, I trekked from Oxford into Christchurch to attend Mudbelly’s album launch. It has been a while since I last went to a gig down here, but I have been to some real killers in the past (Sepultura, Death Angel and Blindfolded And Led To The Woods at Canterbury University’s The Foundry will long stick in my mind), so was looking forward to this.
Read More...
Lorenzo Hazelwood - Single Review: Same Mistake
28 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Lorenzo Hazlewood is probably best known as front man for Auckland hard rock band Close To The Bone, but he also released some solo singles last year in slightly different fashion, and now he has returned with his first for 2021, Same Mistake. This is reminiscent in some ways of classic ballad-style grunge like good Alice In Chains or Soundgarden, with his vocals very much to the fore.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem