19 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm

26 Feb 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect. In fact, to me, that's a real strength here on the entire EP.

The recording here is wonderful, it has a wide dynamic range that allows every instrument and idea to sit comfortably in the mix. Each idea is thought out and given attention, be it the drums, the guitar, and bass lines that hold everything together, it's a whole package.

I would say that there is a lot of maturity to the lyrics, the songwriting which is often on show here with its harmonic progressions, tasty solos like in I Feel Free and the like. The genre is quite a mix but I would firmly put it into the contemporary rock category and because of that, I believe it will appeal to a lot of those active listeners we strive for who listen to with their full attention.

Every song offers something that little bit different. Each musician in this group is solid and they all work as a collective to bring these songs to life. I really enjoyed it. Breathe was a fantastic song to have midway through the ep. The vocals from Joel are honest and believable having a fantastic quality to them where they sound authentic and real, especially when some of the longer notes are held.

Overall, a fantastic EP from a band that I would love to see live to hear how these songs translate.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Jericho

Jericho is an up and coming NZ band spread throughout Auckland, Hamilton, and Taranaki. Each member brings talented musicianship and a range of musical styles to the table. The energy is always high when they get together to record new music or gig. Jericho's latest EP, Rhythm, is available now on all your favourite streaming services.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jericho

Releases

Rhythm
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Alders - Single Review: Hounds
23 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The new track from Alders, Hounds, is quite a fun time alright! With a feel that seems inspired by the likes of Smash Mouth's Astro Lounge, The Dandy Warhols and 60's psychedelic pop-rock.
Read More...
Aidan Fine - Single Review: CLV
21 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Quick fire rapid lyrics. That’s what I like here.
Read More...
Swerve City @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 13/03/2021
14 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
It's a packed house. That's for sure.
Read More...
Keeley Shade - Single Review: On My Mind
11 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
On My Mind is a perfect example of how simple ideas can become fleshed out to provide the listener an experience worth repeating.Keeley Shade, a Canadian-born New Zealand-based singer-songwriter is releasing her debut single On My Mind.
Read More...
James Loan - EP Review: The Loan To Society
10 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
James Loan is a new young Rap/Drill artist that at only age 16 has just released his EP, The Loan To Society. I commend this effort.
Read More...
JAN - Single Review: Wud?
06 Mar 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Wud? is a new track from JAN featuring Anna Bennetto and Sam Higham.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: The Good Things
18 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The Good Things is the latest LP from the 10-piece live hip-hop band Raw Collective from Wellington. The album is quite something that showcases the versatility of the group's ability to swing from different styles of hip-hop, funk and soul.
Read More...
Fire For Glory - EP Review: Life Of The Party
16 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yeah, bro. Get that punk-pop/rock vibe.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem