26 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm

26 Feb 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect. In fact, to me, that's a real strength here on the entire EP.

The recording here is wonderful, it has a wide dynamic range that allows every instrument and idea to sit comfortably in the mix. Each idea is thought out and given attention, be it the drums, the guitar, and bass lines that hold everything together, it's a whole package.

I would say that there is a lot of maturity to the lyrics, the songwriting which is often on show here with its harmonic progressions, tasty solos like in I Feel Free and the like. The genre is quite a mix but I would firmly put it into the contemporary rock category and because of that, I believe it will appeal to a lot of those active listeners we strive for who listen to with their full attention.

Every song offers something that little bit different. Each musician in this group is solid and they all work as a collective to bring these songs to life. I really enjoyed it. Breathe was a fantastic song to have midway through the ep. The vocals from Joel are honest and believable having a fantastic quality to them where they sound authentic and real, especially when some of the longer notes are held.

Overall, a fantastic EP from a band that I would love to see live to hear how these songs translate.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Jericho

Jericho is an up and coming NZ band spread throughout Auckland, Hamilton, and Taranaki. Each member brings talented musicianship and a range of musical styles to the table. The energy is always high when they get together to record new music or gig. Jericho's latest EP, Rhythm, is available now on all your favourite streaming services.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jericho

Releases

Rhythm
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

BrokeBoi Ace - Single Review: Watered Down Dreamz
15 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Oh man. I like this.
Read More...
Sam V - Single/Video Review: Wired
10 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Sam V's newest track Wired is another demonstration of how Sam keeps refining his sound. His vision has been getting more focused over time, based on his previous tracks like Cotton Candy which is actually a Y$O track, and Up Up Down.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Strange Fruits
08 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
InDuna's approach to Hip-Hop/Rap is something that listeners should pay attention to. It fits into what kind of feels as almost progressive in regards to the styles it compasses.
Read More...
2Fly Ty - Single Review: That Track Feat. Dilz
03 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
2FLY TY's newest track entitled That Track is out now and features bars from Dilz. Both Ty and Dilz perform well here with TY’s flow being delivered on a rather flat way; not hyped and not like he’s not trying.
Read More...
Goodlynx - Single/Video Review: Purple Blue
10 Aug 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Starting Purple Blue off with a real honest vibe is the sound of a major 7th on a guitar. This interval sets a tone and mood that allows Goodlynx to be direct and honest with his audience.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Resurrection Feat. He Ra
22 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Dilz is real. He is authentic.
Read More...
Souldrop - EP Review: Gypsy Lizard King
21 Jul 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Kiwi new-wave indie-soul 4-piece Souldrop have released their brand new and much-anticipated EP Gypsy Lizard King via label Meow. Featuring the stunningly smooth singles Cadet and Jive, and new single/ title track Gypsy Lizard King, this latest EP release furthers their reputation as a talented band on the rise.
Read More...
And$um - Single Review: Ride The Wave Feat. Valle
26 Jun 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
I’m a big fan of Hip-Hop - I teach it at school to my students. Hip-Hop is about being real and it has an honest vibe to it.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem