19 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm

26 Feb 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect. In fact, to me, that's a real strength here on the entire EP.

The recording here is wonderful, it has a wide dynamic range that allows every instrument and idea to sit comfortably in the mix. Each idea is thought out and given attention, be it the drums, the guitar, and bass lines that hold everything together, it's a whole package.

I would say that there is a lot of maturity to the lyrics, the songwriting which is often on show here with its harmonic progressions, tasty solos like in I Feel Free and the like. The genre is quite a mix but I would firmly put it into the contemporary rock category and because of that, I believe it will appeal to a lot of those active listeners we strive for who listen to with their full attention.

Every song offers something that little bit different. Each musician in this group is solid and they all work as a collective to bring these songs to life. I really enjoyed it. Breathe was a fantastic song to have midway through the ep. The vocals from Joel are honest and believable having a fantastic quality to them where they sound authentic and real, especially when some of the longer notes are held.

Overall, a fantastic EP from a band that I would love to see live to hear how these songs translate.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Jericho

Jericho is an up and coming NZ band spread throughout Auckland, Hamilton, and Taranaki. Each member brings talented musicianship and a range of musical styles to the table. The energy is always high when they get together to record new music or gig. Jericho's latest EP, Rhythm, is available now on all your favourite streaming services.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Jericho

Releases

Rhythm
Year: 2021
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Album Review: Fatal Attraction
31 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses.
Read More...
Partyboi Pan - Single Review: Mystical Barz
16 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Partyboi Pan is the founder of The Mason, a vision to upgrade the very idea of what parties are with the sole purpose of showcasing local passions and talents.His latest track Mystical Barz opens with a dialogue that really sets the mood for the track.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single/Video Review: Shame Shame
08 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Phil Stoodley, Shame Shame, is a fantastic track that is not only catchy but has such a vibe to it that you will be hitting repeat over and over. With a solid bass line propping up the main guitar riff, the drums hold it all together and allow for Phil's vocals to sit neatly in place, which by the way sound real and authentic.
Read More...
Old Salts - Single Review: Take a Breather
27 Jan 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Old Salts are an alternative rock band that are set to leave listeners buzzed with the release of their debut single Take a Breather.Citing influences as Primus and Them Crooked Vultures, you can definitely hear this in the way the song, not only sounds but how it is written and arranged.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem