5 Jul 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady

25 Feb 2021 // A review by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.


This song has it all, as soon as you are out of the blocks, you are immediately enticed into a sort of body movement only reserved for those moments that you are sure no one is watching. The pumping bass and funky guitar licks really do set the mood straight away to what you are about to experience. The one thing that really struck me was how this innovative band was able to use the word
antihistamine like it was a word you just use in everyday conversation whilst waiting at the bus stop, try saying that 10 times quickly with your yellow ducks.

One of my true assessments of a good song is whether I could listen to this song in different scenarios and it still have the same impact upon my soul. Whether it is walking along the beach, standing on top of a mountain, or standing in the rain with my thumb out. I can honestly say hearing the sensual relaxing lead vocals would certainly make my hitchhiking escapades much more bearable in the middle of an Auckland downpour.

Everything about this song is free flowing and such an easy listen, 5 minutes' worth of your time out of your day to experience a beautiful number. This band obviously knows what they are doing and are highly talented in all departments. I highly recommend supporting their endeavours especially if you want to hear something slightly off beat, I know I will be waiting in line to squeeze into a Christchurch venue if they ever decide to come down to the South Island for a tiki tour.

A solid 3 ½ stars out of 5 from me, if this is their first offering, I am excited to hear their second offering whenever that maybe. Bravo and well done Revulva.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Revulva

Revulva is here to bring huge grins to your knees on the d-floor. Nu-wave, nu-jazz, nu-pop goodness served up hot in Wellington NZ since July 2020. Single coming February 2021.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Revulva

Releases

Girl's Gotta Eat
Year: 2022
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away
06 May 2022 // by Chris Chick
Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away. This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it.
Read More...
Trip Change - Single Review: Never Seen A Boy Like Me
24 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
It is not hard to know that I am fan of all music, I think the ability to pick up a musical instrument and compose a song is impressive. The intricacies of bringing many parts together and making the final product sound so good is beyond my capabilities.
Read More...
Kokomo - Album Review: A Little Something From The Attic
01 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
16 Blues songs to review was my mission if I chose to accept it, well naturally I did, otherwise you would not be reading this, but let me just tell you something, was I excited? Oh you can bet your bottom dollar I was.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two
01 Nov 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.
Read More...
Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • JIMMY COOKS
    Drake feat. 21 Savage
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem