23 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cafe Fistfight - Single Review: Pocket Change

16 Feb 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Cafe Fistfight describe themselves as New Zealand's premiere Acoustic-driven Progressive Rock band, with their music fitting in somewhere between John Mayer/Six60 and Incubus/Tool. To be honest, that is probably as good a description as any, but before someone expects to see the latest Yes, Genesis or Pink Floyd clone, be aware that when they describe themselves as progressive, they mean it in the true sense of the word, in that they are blending and mixing  genres and pushing the music in unusual directions. That they do it all wrapped up in a completely melodic and commercial ribbon bow is even more remarkable.

Holding it all together is Daniel Barker, and while he is more than willing to put in the fills, it is his snare which really keeps it all together. On bass is Jesse Hudson, and while he is not the first guitarist to switch to bass, he was actually a lead guitarist as opposed to rhythm and was the person who convinced Ben Ruegg to take Channeled into the live scene and was the original guitarist for that. This means he has an innate sense of exactly what melodies and counter melodies are required for the overall sound, so his bass is often more than just underpinning while he is also invaluable as the band’s producer. 7-stringer Josh Barker has his own solo project in Stealphish while previously being involved in far more metallic bands, yet here he restrains himself from turning everything into a metalfest but can bring the fire when required, and at the front is Chris Moutter. Chris is not only a great singer and frontman, but is also an excellent acoustic guitarist, which allows the band to switch and pivot musical styles, just as they have on their latest single.

I have heard Pocket Change a few times at gigs and is one of their songs which always makes me smile while I am listening to it. It is more laid-back than much of their material, with an inherent groove and singalong quality which is perfectly suited for an Aotearoa summer. Chris is always at the forefront of what is happening but surrounding him like a blanket is the warmth and protection of everyone else, as it is the combination of all four which really makes this stand out. It does not have the edge it normally has in concert, but in this context, it works really well, with Chris being allowed to shine. As it comes near the end it is just him for a few bars, then everyone comes back in, before leaving him on his own again. It is the use of sections within songs, even short ones, that is one of the things that makes this band stand out. This may not have the stop and go element of much of their material, but when it ends it really leaves the listener hanging, waiting for the boot to drop which never happens.

Here is a fine example of an Auckland rock band refusing to conform to what anyone may expect from a band who often finish their set with a song about a baked flan or tart with a savoury filling thickened with eggs, usually eaten cold. They have produced a song as fit for radio as it is for the live scene, and surely it can only be a matter of time until the mass media realise just how good these guys are. I know they are having discussions about gigging with Outside In, and that is a gig any lover of serious music just cannot afford to miss.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Cafe Fistfight

Cafe Fistfight are New Zealand's leading Cafe-themed Acoustic hard rock band. Nourishing the soul and enriching the eardrums with bopping classics like Service with a Smile and King Hit Quiche these four fellas are sure to get you back for seconds.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cafe Fistfight

Releases

There are no releases to display for Cafe Fistfight.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Album Review: Black Alpine
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The very first time I looked at the cover of this album I was reminded of Deep Purple’s In Rock, as even though that was a stylised version of Mount Rushmore, there we had dudes with long hair playing Seventies hard rock and that is the same here. I mean, we even have aviator sunglasses!
Read More...
Secrets Of The Sun - Album Review: Obon
19 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Obon is the debut album from alternative metal band Secrets of the Sun, a quartet based in Wellington. It has been a while in the making, in that the first single, Suffer With The Moon, was actually released a year ago while Wretched Tracks came out in February: both are included here.
Read More...
Written By Wolves - EP Review: Secrets - The Collab Project
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Since I started writing for New Zealand’s #1 music site, https://www.muzic.
Read More...
Alien Weaponry - Album Review: Tangaroa
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
There is no doubt whatsoever that Alien Weaponry have captured the imagination not only of the New Zealand public, but metalheads worldwide, with their combination of groove and thrash metal mixing with their Maori heritage to create something very special indeed. There really is no other band quite like them, although I do sometimes find myself thinking of the impact of Sepultura and their Roots album, but one does need to remember that was Sepultura’s sixth album, some 12 years after their first release.
Read More...
Domingo Candelario - EP Review: Sin Palabras
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Although there is always a very Cuban base to his music, Domingo has covered many different styles, as he transcends culture and language: music is about expressing emotions honestly and he tries to be as unique as he can.  As a child, his parents listened to a lot of Brazilian music, and he was fascinated by the way they used harmonies: it was so beautifully put together, so soft and in connection with the soul.
Read More...
Glenn Bodger - Album Review: I'll Leave The Light On
16 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Glenn Bodger, who provided most of the instrumentation himself, although he has also been assisted by former Braintree bandmate Darryn Harkness, who helped with additional guitar, bass and keyboards where required. From the gentle, almost cautiously picked acoustic guitar notes on opener I’ll Leave The Light On, we are brought carefully into a world which is dated yet fresh, comfortable but new, as he mixes together different musical elements in an independent, alternative style which is often somehow commercial and others when they are definitely not.
Read More...
Samantha Josephine - EP Review: Fly Bird Fly
15 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Samantha Josephine's six-track Fly Bird Fly EP is less than 13 minutes long, but in many ways that makes total sense, as there is a feeling within this that we are being allowed into a secret and very personal world and that it would be intrusive to stay for too long. One can imagine Samantha performing in a corner, hoping that no-one will see or hear her, and when I read in her bio that only her girlfriend has seen her perform in the last year, and that even she is not allowed to be around when Samantha is writing, then it makes perfect sense.
Read More...
The Night - Single Review: Untouchable
12 Sep 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This cannot be right. According to the information I have in front of me, this Wellington-based band was formed from a group of music students in 2017, started performing live in 2018, and their ages now range from 15 to 18!
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem