15 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cafe Fistfight - Single Review: Pocket Change

16 Feb 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Cafe Fistfight describe themselves as New Zealand's premiere Acoustic-driven Progressive Rock band, with their music fitting in somewhere between John Mayer/Six60 and Incubus/Tool. To be honest, that is probably as good a description as any, but before someone expects to see the latest Yes, Genesis or Pink Floyd clone, be aware that when they describe themselves as progressive, they mean it in the true sense of the word, in that they are blending and mixing  genres and pushing the music in unusual directions. That they do it all wrapped up in a completely melodic and commercial ribbon bow is even more remarkable.

Holding it all together is Daniel Barker, and while he is more than willing to put in the fills, it is his snare which really keeps it all together. On bass is Jesse Hudson, and while he is not the first guitarist to switch to bass, he was actually a lead guitarist as opposed to rhythm and was the person who convinced Ben Ruegg to take Channeled into the live scene and was the original guitarist for that. This means he has an innate sense of exactly what melodies and counter melodies are required for the overall sound, so his bass is often more than just underpinning while he is also invaluable as the band’s producer. 7-stringer Josh Barker has his own solo project in Stealphish while previously being involved in far more metallic bands, yet here he restrains himself from turning everything into a metalfest but can bring the fire when required, and at the front is Chris Moutter. Chris is not only a great singer and frontman, but is also an excellent acoustic guitarist, which allows the band to switch and pivot musical styles, just as they have on their latest single.

I have heard Pocket Change a few times at gigs and is one of their songs which always makes me smile while I am listening to it. It is more laid-back than much of their material, with an inherent groove and singalong quality which is perfectly suited for an Aotearoa summer. Chris is always at the forefront of what is happening but surrounding him like a blanket is the warmth and protection of everyone else, as it is the combination of all four which really makes this stand out. It does not have the edge it normally has in concert, but in this context, it works really well, with Chris being allowed to shine. As it comes near the end it is just him for a few bars, then everyone comes back in, before leaving him on his own again. It is the use of sections within songs, even short ones, that is one of the things that makes this band stand out. This may not have the stop and go element of much of their material, but when it ends it really leaves the listener hanging, waiting for the boot to drop which never happens.

Here is a fine example of an Auckland rock band refusing to conform to what anyone may expect from a band who often finish their set with a song about a baked flan or tart with a savoury filling thickened with eggs, usually eaten cold. They have produced a song as fit for radio as it is for the live scene, and surely it can only be a matter of time until the mass media realise just how good these guys are. I know they are having discussions about gigging with Outside In, and that is a gig any lover of serious music just cannot afford to miss.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Cafe Fistfight

Cafe Fistfight are New Zealand's leading Cafe-themed Acoustic hard rock band. Nourishing the soul and enriching the eardrums with bopping classics like Service with a Smile and King Hit Quiche these four fellas are sure to get you back for seconds.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cafe Fistfight

Releases

There are no releases to display for Cafe Fistfight.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Blitz Metal Fest @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 12/06/2021
13 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Well, today was a first for me, coming to Ding Dong in the daylight! This was because it was time for Metal Blitz, a 13-band event being held which was planned to run for 10 hours but we all thought was probably going to take longer.
Read More...
Gatekeepers - Single Review: Always a Rebel, Never a Rogue
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Gatekeepers may be a new name to most of you, but this New Plymouth quartet have managed to secure the opening slot in Hamilton for the Devilskin and Kora show, so they have already started to gain some attention and based on this single one can hear why. The band was only formed earlier this year by guitarist/singer Jeremy Donoghue, rhythm guitarist Sean Phillips and bassist Mat Pipe, since when they have been writing and recording tracks before sending them to the UK to be mixed by Adam Wain.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Lake of Eyes
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Adrian Drew and his band of merry men are back with the third single from their forthcoming album and given what I have heard to date I am really looking forward to that when it comes out. While Adrian provides guitar and vocals, the band is now firmly settled with David Crowhen (bass) Undercut, Craig van Kan (drums), The Couch, and lead guitarist Adam Morton-Mason, These Fine Galleons.
Read More...
Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mudbelly @ 12 Bar, Christchurch - 29/05/2021
30 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
In the middle of a red alert weather warning, I trekked from Oxford into Christchurch to attend Mudbelly’s album launch. It has been a while since I last went to a gig down here, but I have been to some real killers in the past (Sepultura, Death Angel and Blindfolded And Led To The Woods at Canterbury University’s The Foundry will long stick in my mind), so was looking forward to this.
Read More...
Lorenzo Hazelwood - Single Review: Same Mistake
28 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Lorenzo Hazlewood is probably best known as front man for Auckland hard rock band Close To The Bone, but he also released some solo singles last year in slightly different fashion, and now he has returned with his first for 2021, Same Mistake. This is reminiscent in some ways of classic ballad-style grunge like good Alice In Chains or Soundgarden, with his vocals very much to the fore.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem