24 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Cafe Fistfight - Single Review: Pocket Change

16 Feb 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

Cafe Fistfight describe themselves as New Zealand's premiere Acoustic-driven Progressive Rock band, with their music fitting in somewhere between John Mayer/Six60 and Incubus/Tool. To be honest, that is probably as good a description as any, but before someone expects to see the latest Yes, Genesis or Pink Floyd clone, be aware that when they describe themselves as progressive, they mean it in the true sense of the word, in that they are blending and mixing  genres and pushing the music in unusual directions. That they do it all wrapped up in a completely melodic and commercial ribbon bow is even more remarkable.

Holding it all together is Daniel Barker, and while he is more than willing to put in the fills, it is his snare which really keeps it all together. On bass is Jesse Hudson, and while he is not the first guitarist to switch to bass, he was actually a lead guitarist as opposed to rhythm and was the person who convinced Ben Ruegg to take Channeled into the live scene and was the original guitarist for that. This means he has an innate sense of exactly what melodies and counter melodies are required for the overall sound, so his bass is often more than just underpinning while he is also invaluable as the band’s producer. 7-stringer Josh Barker has his own solo project in Stealphish while previously being involved in far more metallic bands, yet here he restrains himself from turning everything into a metalfest but can bring the fire when required, and at the front is Chris Moutter. Chris is not only a great singer and frontman, but is also an excellent acoustic guitarist, which allows the band to switch and pivot musical styles, just as they have on their latest single.

I have heard Pocket Change a few times at gigs and is one of their songs which always makes me smile while I am listening to it. It is more laid-back than much of their material, with an inherent groove and singalong quality which is perfectly suited for an Aotearoa summer. Chris is always at the forefront of what is happening but surrounding him like a blanket is the warmth and protection of everyone else, as it is the combination of all four which really makes this stand out. It does not have the edge it normally has in concert, but in this context, it works really well, with Chris being allowed to shine. As it comes near the end it is just him for a few bars, then everyone comes back in, before leaving him on his own again. It is the use of sections within songs, even short ones, that is one of the things that makes this band stand out. This may not have the stop and go element of much of their material, but when it ends it really leaves the listener hanging, waiting for the boot to drop which never happens.

Here is a fine example of an Auckland rock band refusing to conform to what anyone may expect from a band who often finish their set with a song about a baked flan or tart with a savoury filling thickened with eggs, usually eaten cold. They have produced a song as fit for radio as it is for the live scene, and surely it can only be a matter of time until the mass media realise just how good these guys are. I know they are having discussions about gigging with Outside In, and that is a gig any lover of serious music just cannot afford to miss.

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About Cafe Fistfight

Cafe Fistfight are New Zealand's leading Cafe-themed Acoustic hard rock band. Nourishing the soul and enriching the eardrums with bopping classics like Service with a Smile and King Hit Quiche these four fellas are sure to get you back for seconds.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Cafe Fistfight

Releases

There are no releases to display for Cafe Fistfight.

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Max Hill - Album Review: M.H.
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Max Hill (they/them) originally started as Slow Rage, which became a duo with the addition of drummer Sam Hatley, building quite a reputation in the all-ages scene. However, like many other musicians they decided to make the most of the first lockdown in 2020 and started work on what would turn out to be a totally solo album recorded in their bedroom.
Read More...
Stephen McDaid - Album Review: Trail Maps
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Here we have the debut solo album from Stephen McDaid, who has been somewhat busy helping out his in-law’s by playing on both Guy Hobson and Kay Duncan’s recent releases, but now he has found time to go out on his own. Given that he has been adding guitar to both those other albums it is no surprise that this is the primary instrument, but here it is an acoustic which is the perfect accompaniment to his strong vocals.
Read More...
Kay Duncan - Album Review: Interstellar Refugee
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
On this her debut album, Kay Duncan provides vocals and guitar, and she is joined by her husband Guy Hobson on keyboards and brother-in-law Stephen McDaid on lead guitar. I was initially listening to this while working outside on the farm and it took me a while to work out who her voice often reminded me of, namely Karen Carpenter.
Read More...
Guy Hobson - Album Review: Latitude
23 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Guy Hobson is a Christchurch-based composer and performer who specialises in instrumental music for film and was featured most notably on one by Force Five Films about the unveiling of Richard Branson’s Virgin Galactic Spaceship Two SS2. He is a classically trained pianist who describes his music as Ambient, hypnotic and alt/modern classical, bringing in influences from classical, jazz, blues, and funk.
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - EP Review: Mourning Brew
19 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It feels like a lifetime ago now, but I guess it must be closer to 18 months, when I started daring to head into central Auckland and Dead Witch. I had agreed, in a moment of madness, to cover all the heats for the local battle of the bands competition and had no idea what I was letting myself in for.
Read More...
Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Spirit Festival - 05/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I left work a little early on Thursday, and then fought my way from South Auckland, West to Kumeu Showgrounds, where Spirit Festival was taking place. In many ways this is a sister festival to Earthbeat which I attended last year in that it is very much for the alternative culture movement, with lots of stalls and a wonderful vibe.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem