19 Apr 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

You, Me, Everybody - Album Review: Southern Sky

16 Feb 2021 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Deep within the matryoshka doll that is the country genre is a bluegrass doll in cosplay. Sitting on the fire escape of a rundown apartment building, dry buck wheat stem between its teeth, and a rock band shirt, progressive bluegrass is the genre that ran away from its home in the Appalachians and fell in with a different crowd. Appropriate then, to find it all the way down here beneath our southern skies, as far from home as one could possibly be.  

Safe in the hands of local practitioners You, Me, Everybody, bluegrass may not be the same kid that left their mountain town, but they haven’t forgotten their roots.

With their sweet vocal harmonies, and call-and-answer style instrumental licks, You, Me, Everybody’s first full-length album Southern Sky is the sojourn through forgotten regions of the human soul.

It may not be appreciated by Bill Monroe bluegrass traditionalists, but their kids are going to love it. Too upbeat for blues, too structured for jazz, yet taking elements from both and adding a smattering of classic pop sensibilities, the sweet musical tapestry You, Me, Everybody weaves is a nostalgia-inducing reminder of the good ol’ sounds of yester-year.   

Exhibiting more talent and emotional depth than the Instagram-influencing kids with laptops that dominate the charts, Southern Sky is never going to make waves in the mainstream, but in the eyes of closet hipsters, folk enthusiasts, and their hippy-denigrating grandparents, this is a golden release.

If you’re looking for a mid-week pick me up, look no further. Five stars of five.

You still have enough time to see You, Me, Everybody live in Whangateau, Katikati, and Hamilton on Feb 18, 19, and 20, 2021, respectively. More details on www.yme.nz. With this new album, there are now 11 new songs in their repertoire, compared to the 6 last time they took their shiny eyed New Grass sound on tour. That’s nearly double the value.

You can find Southern Sky on the You, Me, Everybody Bandcamp. 

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About You, Me, Everybody

Originally formed by brothers Laurence and Sam Frangos-Rhodes, (best known for their contributions to family band, RhodeWorks) You, Me, Everybody pushes the boundaries of what New Zealand knows of a genre that was formed on tradition and rules to create progressive bluegrass. While upbeat bangers are part of their repertoire, this is no pub band, but rather a collection of the best of New Zealand’s acoustic instrumentalists that are searching for a new, dynamic sound that showcases the best of Americana in Aotearoa.

Also featuring James Geluk (Bass), Nat Torkington (Banjo) and Kim Bonnington (Vocals and Guitar) each of the members of the band are known in New Zealand for their former projects and the excitement around their inception saw them play their first live gig as openers for The Felice Brothers as part of the Americana fest at Auckland’s Tuning Fork. They recorded their EP a week later and in February 2020, You, Me, Everybody released their self-titled debut EP, which reached number 13 in the New Zealand album charts and them named as finalist for the Best NZ Folk Artist, 2021.

Their first full length album, Southern Sky was released on the 29th of January 2021.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for You, Me, Everybody

Releases

Southern Sky
Year: 2021
Type: Album
You, Me, Everybody
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: NoMoreGaps
16 Mar 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
I sometimes wonder what would have happened if Kurt Cobain survived. Would he have kept making music and what would it sound like?
Read More...
Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground vol 1 - 3
27 Jan 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
It is an odd circumstance, to be in the position of reviewing reviews. Reviews are one person’s personal, subjective opinion.
Read More...
Scalper - Album Review: The Beast and The Beauty
20 Nov 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
I have reviewed more releases than I have patience to count. Many of the musicians I’ve heard have disappeared from my consciousness and the scene soon after, but there are a few that make such an impression that they stick with me.
Read More...
The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Hit The # Key
24 Oct 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
“Little Green Men Harass Kentucky Farm Family”. A headline that captured the imaginations of a nation, coined the term for extra-terrestrial visitors, and inspiring Pokemon, films, and musicals.
Read More...
Diggy Dupe - Album Review: That's Me, That's Team
24 Sep 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Why is this considered underground, while American ear trash is this nation’s soundtrack? We’re so busy looking for an escape in a world that we aren’t a part of, that we neglect what is unique here at home.
Read More...
The Sixteenth - EP Review: The 16th EP
22 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
When you work as a data quality analyst, you need something to unwind. I chose animation.
Read More...
Impostor Syndrome - Single Review: The Shrink
04 Aug 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Chameleons: Imposters of the reptile world. Imposter Syndrome: Chameleons of the music world.
Read More...
Torn Chorus - Single Review: Brave New World
14 Jun 2020 // by Peter-James Dries
Lockdown was a true test of one’s fight-or-flight instinct, a show of one’s character. For some, it was an artist’s paradise.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • RAPSTAR
    Polo G
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem