7 Dec 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

You, Me, Everybody - Album Review: Southern Sky

16 Feb 2021 // A review by Peter-James Dries

Deep within the matryoshka doll that is the country genre is a bluegrass doll in cosplay. Sitting on the fire escape of a rundown apartment building, dry buck wheat stem between its teeth, and a rock band shirt, progressive bluegrass is the genre that ran away from its home in the Appalachians and fell in with a different crowd. Appropriate then, to find it all the way down here beneath our southern skies, as far from home as one could possibly be.  

Safe in the hands of local practitioners You, Me, Everybody, bluegrass may not be the same kid that left their mountain town, but they haven’t forgotten their roots.

With their sweet vocal harmonies, and call-and-answer style instrumental licks, You, Me, Everybody’s first full-length album Southern Sky is the sojourn through forgotten regions of the human soul.

It may not be appreciated by Bill Monroe bluegrass traditionalists, but their kids are going to love it. Too upbeat for blues, too structured for jazz, yet taking elements from both and adding a smattering of classic pop sensibilities, the sweet musical tapestry You, Me, Everybody weaves is a nostalgia-inducing reminder of the good ol’ sounds of yester-year.   

Exhibiting more talent and emotional depth than the Instagram-influencing kids with laptops that dominate the charts, Southern Sky is never going to make waves in the mainstream, but in the eyes of closet hipsters, folk enthusiasts, and their hippy-denigrating grandparents, this is a golden release.

If you’re looking for a mid-week pick me up, look no further. Five stars of five.

You still have enough time to see You, Me, Everybody live in Whangateau, Katikati, and Hamilton on Feb 18, 19, and 20, 2021, respectively. More details on www.yme.nz. With this new album, there are now 11 new songs in their repertoire, compared to the 6 last time they took their shiny eyed New Grass sound on tour. That’s nearly double the value.

You can find Southern Sky on the You, Me, Everybody Bandcamp. 

Rating: ( 5 / 5 )
 

About You, Me, Everybody

Originally formed by brothers Laurence and Sam Frangos-Rhodes, (best known for their contributions to family band, RhodeWorks) You, Me, Everybody pushes the boundaries of what New Zealand knows of a genre that was formed on tradition and rules to create progressive bluegrass. While upbeat bangers are part of their repertoire, this is no pub band, but rather a collection of the best of New Zealand’s acoustic instrumentalists that are searching for a new, dynamic sound that showcases the best of Americana in Aotearoa.

Also featuring James Geluk (Bass), Nat Torkington (Banjo) and Kim Bonnington (Vocals and Guitar) each of the members of the band are known in New Zealand for their former projects and the excitement around their inception saw them play their first live gig as openers for The Felice Brothers as part of the Americana fest at Auckland’s Tuning Fork. They recorded their EP a week later and in February 2020, You, Me, Everybody released their self-titled debut EP, which reached number 13 in the New Zealand album charts and them named as finalist for the Best NZ Folk Artist, 2021.

Their first full length album, Southern Sky was released on the 29th of January 2021.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for You, Me, Everybody

Releases

Southern Sky
Year: 2021
Type: Album
You, Me, Everybody
Year: 2020
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Peter-James Dries

The Hopkinsville Goblins - Album Review: Mundivagrants
12 Oct 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Mundivagrants is a weird release. Probably one of the strangest I’ve had to review.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Single Review: 360
29 Sep 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Take some heartbreak. Write it down.
Read More...
Comf - Single Review: Do You Feat. Ilena
12 Sep 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Water, Clay, and Ceramic. If the sonic possibilities of these three textures are the question, then Comf’s triptych of EPs, The Texture Tapes, are the proposed hypothesis.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - EP Review: Vengeful Millennial
05 Sep 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
You’re sitting in an average suburban home. A family is sitting at the dinner table in front of you.
Read More...
Scalper - Single Review: Silence Speaks
24 Jul 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
Hard to believe it’s been seven years since I heard my first Scalper track My Blood Your Blood. Harder to believe it was only last year I reviewed Scalper’s The Beast & The Beauty.
Read More...
Personal Igloo - Single Review: Material Girl
01 Jul 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
No. This is not a Madonna cover.
Read More...
Hazza Making Noise - Single Review: NoMoreGaps
16 Mar 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
I sometimes wonder what would have happened if Kurt Cobain survived. Would he have kept making music and what would it sound like?
Read More...
Kev Rowland - Book Review: The Progressive Underground vol 1 - 3
27 Jan 2021 // by Peter-James Dries
It is an odd circumstance, to be in the position of reviewing reviews. Reviews are one person’s personal, subjective opinion.
Read More...
View All Articles By Peter-James Dries

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • MR REGGAE
    L.A.B.
  • ABCDEFU
    GAYLE
  • ALL TOO WELL (10 MINUTE VERSION) (TAYLOR'S VERSION)
    Taylor Swift
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SMOKIN' OUT THE WINDOW
    Silk Sonic
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem