28 Feb 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Craig Payne - Album Review: I'm Not Giving The Game Away

10 Feb 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Ah. That's refreshing.

Upon starting up the new album from Craig Payne, I am immediately thrown back to my 8-year-old self at my parent's house listening to the music that I grew up with. I listen with a keen ear at the energy and fun that comes roaring from the opening title track I'm Not Giving The Game Away.

The piano, the tambourine, the guitar, that little first inversion minor 7 chord verse. There is something real about it through the reverb and room sound that doesn't sound over-processed. There are elements here that immediately make me think of Elvis Costello and other artists that fit into that sound. It's fantastic. Care has been given to these 9 tracks. Of course, all artists care and put effort into their music. That's just how it works. But I really like this because it's, like many, a one-man band.

Reading his story on his website, I am absolutely in awe at his journey to this album. Truly. His inspiration coming from artists like The Beatles, The Shadows and many others he lists can be heard here. And while the music is well thought out, the lyrics also seem deep and reflective while also having some positive messages like on the track Everyone's The Same Inside, which again is another great example of songwriting with its chord choices and flow. The drums and bass work together to hold the steady beat and pace while acoustic drives the song with a bit a slide guitar in the passenger seat. Throw in some good well thought out lead guitar and you have quite the road trip. I love it.

There is a lot on offer here if you pay attention. Isn't that life in general? Well, yes. I digress. There are many moments on the album that reward the listener when they give attention. It's testament to Craig's songwriting and his performances where his inspiration and influences have clearly provided him with a solid foundation on which he builds his music.

The album certainly has a vision and idea of what it wants to sound like which works, in this case, works perfectly. It feels like a collection of songs that hold together well and work cohesively. The atmosphere and feel of the music paired with Craig's vocal have a real authenticity to it that I appreciate and admire.

I really enjoyed this album and will be adding it to my playlist.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Craig Payne

For full bio, news, tracks, releases and to sign up for our newsletter please visit www.craigpaynemusic.org




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Craig Payne

Releases

There are no releases to display for Craig Payne.

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Jericho - EP Review: Rhythm
26 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Jericho are a 3-piece band made up of people who obviously love music. I say this because on their opening track Silence Won't Last, I kind of think it went through a lot of different styles and ideas that I actually didn't expect.
Read More...
Raw Collective - Album Review: The Good Things
18 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The Good Things is the latest LP from the 10-piece live hip-hop band Raw Collective from Wellington. The album is quite something that showcases the versatility of the group's ability to swing from different styles of hip-hop, funk and soul.
Read More...
Fire For Glory - EP Review: Life Of The Party
16 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Yeah, bro. Get that punk-pop/rock vibe.
Read More...
Swerve City - Single Review: Sink Like Stones
05 Feb 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Right now, across New Zealand, there is a storm that keeps getting bigger and stronger. That storm is made up of an incredible group of artists and bands who are working to get more exposure to and notice from what I would call 'the mainstream'.
Read More...
Dilz - Single Review: Don't Trip
30 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Don't Trip is the latest track from Dilz, and slick production with a catchy chorus kicks this song off.  In what I would classify as pop-rap (this isn't a negative), it captivates the audience with a catchy hook.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: One Way Road
30 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Will McClean's new track One Way Road is a stunner. The way the beat starts with backwards loops and trap style beats that have a hip-hip feel all work well.
Read More...
Mema Wilda - Single Review: How I Long
21 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Mema Wilda's newest track How I Long starts off with a simple acoustic guitar and vocal, but it's quick to showcase a track full of plenty of goodness. It's the type of song I would want to hear on modern pop radio; it's catchy and you can easily sing-a-long to it.
Read More...
Ignatia : Rising - Single Review: Don’t Know For Sure
12 Jan 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Ignatia : Rising are a 4-piece, occasional more piece, pop/rock group who crafted their style in the Wild West (Auckland, NZ) party and club circuit in the mid 90's. Their newest track, Don't Know For Sure brings about a sense of nostalgia.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem