18 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Craig Payne - Album Review: I'm Not Giving The Game Away

10 Feb 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Ah. That's refreshing.

Upon starting up the new album from Craig Payne, I am immediately thrown back to my 8-year-old self at my parent's house listening to the music that I grew up with. I listen with a keen ear at the energy and fun that comes roaring from the opening title track I'm Not Giving The Game Away.

The piano, the tambourine, the guitar, that little first inversion minor 7 chord verse. There is something real about it through the reverb and room sound that doesn't sound over-processed. There are elements here that immediately make me think of Elvis Costello and other artists that fit into that sound. It's fantastic. Care has been given to these 9 tracks. Of course, all artists care and put effort into their music. That's just how it works. But I really like this because it's, like many, a one-man band.

Reading his story on his website, I am absolutely in awe at his journey to this album. Truly. His inspiration coming from artists like The Beatles, The Shadows and many others he lists can be heard here. And while the music is well thought out, the lyrics also seem deep and reflective while also having some positive messages like on the track Everyone's The Same Inside, which again is another great example of songwriting with its chord choices and flow. The drums and bass work together to hold the steady beat and pace while acoustic drives the song with a bit a slide guitar in the passenger seat. Throw in some good well thought out lead guitar and you have quite the road trip. I love it.

There is a lot on offer here if you pay attention. Isn't that life in general? Well, yes. I digress. There are many moments on the album that reward the listener when they give attention. It's testament to Craig's songwriting and his performances where his inspiration and influences have clearly provided him with a solid foundation on which he builds his music.

The album certainly has a vision and idea of what it wants to sound like which works, in this case, works perfectly. It feels like a collection of songs that hold together well and work cohesively. The atmosphere and feel of the music paired with Craig's vocal have a real authenticity to it that I appreciate and admire.

I really enjoyed this album and will be adding it to my playlist.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Craig Payne

For full bio, news, tracks, releases and to sign up for our newsletter please visit www.craigpaynemusic.org




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Craig Payne

Releases

I'm Not Giving The Game Away
Year: 2021
Type: Album
A Long Time Coming
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

EP Review: Yung Ludd - Two Tone
13 May 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Born and raised in Lyttelton, Yung Ludd is the rap alias of musician Connor Strati. Having spent some time in Auckland in his twenties, he was exposed to a lot of the underground Hip-Hop scene there which proved to be very influential on his sound.
Read More...
Will McClean - Single Review: Ego Prison
28 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
I'm getting to hear more Will McClean... yes please!
Read More...
Hans. - EP Review: Kimyuntak
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Hailing from Auckland, New Zealand, Hans. is an exciting Korean artist that has been dubbed by VICE Magazine as "One of the rising stars of New Zealand Hip Hop.
Read More...
Eliezer - Album Review: Diary Entries Vol 1
20 Apr 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
This is a great album. Even at 30 mins long, the overall feel and vibe of it is fantastic.
Read More...
Jeivenchy - Album Review: Fatal Attraction
31 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Jeivenchy, not to be confused with “Givenchy”, is a singer/songwriter based in Wellington, New Zealand. His debut album Seenzoned introduced his melodramatic lyrics, 80's inspired vocals and catchy choruses.
Read More...
Partyboi Pan - Single Review: Mystical Barz
16 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Partyboi Pan is the founder of The Mason, a vision to upgrade the very idea of what parties are with the sole purpose of showcasing local passions and talents.His latest track Mystical Barz opens with a dialogue that really sets the mood for the track.
Read More...
Phil Stoodley - Single/Video Review: Shame Shame
08 Mar 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
The new single from Phil Stoodley, Shame Shame, is a fantastic track that is not only catchy but has such a vibe to it that you will be hitting repeat over and over. With a solid bass line propping up the main guitar riff, the drums hold it all together and allow for Phil's vocals to sit neatly in place, which by the way sound real and authentic.
Read More...
Old Salts - Single Review: Take a Breather
27 Jan 2022 // by Ben Ruegg
Old Salts are an alternative rock band that are set to leave listeners buzzed with the release of their debut single Take a Breather.Citing influences as Primus and Them Crooked Vultures, you can definitely hear this in the way the song, not only sounds but how it is written and arranged.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem