25 Oct 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Craig Payne - Album Review: I'm Not Giving The Game Away

10 Feb 2021 // A review by Ben Ruegg

Ah. That's refreshing.

Upon starting up the new album from Craig Payne, I am immediately thrown back to my 8-year-old self at my parent's house listening to the music that I grew up with. I listen with a keen ear at the energy and fun that comes roaring from the opening title track I'm Not Giving The Game Away.

The piano, the tambourine, the guitar, that little first inversion minor 7 chord verse. There is something real about it through the reverb and room sound that doesn't sound over-processed. There are elements here that immediately make me think of Elvis Costello and other artists that fit into that sound. It's fantastic. Care has been given to these 9 tracks. Of course, all artists care and put effort into their music. That's just how it works. But I really like this because it's, like many, a one-man band.

Reading his story on his website, I am absolutely in awe at his journey to this album. Truly. His inspiration coming from artists like The Beatles, The Shadows and many others he lists can be heard here. And while the music is well thought out, the lyrics also seem deep and reflective while also having some positive messages like on the track Everyone's The Same Inside, which again is another great example of songwriting with its chord choices and flow. The drums and bass work together to hold the steady beat and pace while acoustic drives the song with a bit a slide guitar in the passenger seat. Throw in some good well thought out lead guitar and you have quite the road trip. I love it.

There is a lot on offer here if you pay attention. Isn't that life in general? Well, yes. I digress. There are many moments on the album that reward the listener when they give attention. It's testament to Craig's songwriting and his performances where his inspiration and influences have clearly provided him with a solid foundation on which he builds his music.

The album certainly has a vision and idea of what it wants to sound like which works, in this case, works perfectly. It feels like a collection of songs that hold together well and work cohesively. The atmosphere and feel of the music paired with Craig's vocal have a real authenticity to it that I appreciate and admire.

I really enjoyed this album and will be adding it to my playlist.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Craig Payne

For full bio, news, tracks, releases and to sign up for our newsletter please visit www.craigpaynemusic.org




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Craig Payne

Releases

I'm Not Giving The Game Away
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Ben Ruegg

Cking - Single/Video Review: No Snakes Feat. Dilz
21 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Cking is the Brisbane-based, New Zealand-bred rapper who’s eclectic catalogue of hits has seen him share the stage with everyone from T-Pain to Kerser, and now, he’s linked up with fellow NZ emcee Dilz for a hard-hitting banger, No Snakes. Cking and Dilz each come lyrically strapped with passionate and emotive verses, matching the energy of the rapid-fire, earth-rattling production alongside them.
Read More...
Dallas Harvey - Single Review: Patience
20 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Auckland City’s up and coming Hip-Hop artist Dallas Harvey is a breath of fresh air with his honest lyricism, piecing his life together through story-telling and music. Mentored by the likes of Church from Church & AP, Chris RL and Melodownz, Dallas has built a well-versed understanding of self throughout his development at Te Karanga Navigators songwriting and production sessions.
Read More...
Ms.Take - Single Review: Maybe That's Just What I Am
11 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
The dystopian Trap Jam Maybe That's Just What I Am is the second official single from Ms.Take, a follow up to 2018's Silver & Gold, and a 2020 lockdown collaboration with Melbourne-based artist F.
Read More...
Y$O - EP Review: Young And Slept On
05 Oct 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Y$O. Note that down.
Read More...
Louis Ross - Single Review: Here To Help
27 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Local Tauranga DJ and Producer Louis Ross has created a new song Here to Help to bring awareness to mental health issues ahead of Mental Health Awareness Week. After losing his father and Grandma within a few months of each other and navigating his way through loss and grief, Louis is combining his own mental health struggles with his love of music to help others.
Read More...
BrokeBoi Ace - Single Review: Watered Down Dreamz
15 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Oh man. I like this.
Read More...
Sam V - Single/Video Review: Wired
10 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
Sam V's newest track Wired is another demonstration of how Sam keeps refining his sound. His vision has been getting more focused over time, based on his previous tracks like Cotton Candy which is actually a Y$O track, and Up Up Down.
Read More...
InDuna - Single Review: Strange Fruits
08 Sep 2021 // by Ben Ruegg
InDuna's approach to Hip-Hop/Rap is something that listeners should pay attention to. It fits into what kind of feels as almost progressive in regards to the styles it compasses.
Read More...
View All Articles By Ben Ruegg

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • EASY ON ME
    Adele
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • LOVE NWANTITI (AH AH AH)
    CKay
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • MEET ME AT OUR SPOT
    THE ANXIETY, WILLOW And Tyler Cole
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem