13 May 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Loud Ghost - Album Review: All In A Day

06 Feb 2021 // A review by Darryl Baser

Loud Ghost are a self-described "Rock n Roll trio from Auckland, New Zealand."

It’s been 4 years since the first Loud Ghost record, and band members say they’re looking forward to getting All In A Day out and available to the public.

The album opens up with the title track, which is driven along by a solid guitar riff, and is an excellent way to open the album; fast, hypnotic and punchy. On repeated listens, it sounds like an anthem in the making.

Once my inner prude and animal welfare supporter gets past the title, track two Teaching Gorillas To Smoke is another tune which could see Loud Ghost reaching some indie fame.

Hang Me Today, is quieter with the band in alt country mode. "They’re going to hang me today for the murder of a man I didn’t know". It’s the most lyrically verbose song so far, and follows a narrative quite well. It reminds me of the song Long Black Veil, made popular by Johnny Cash, and later on Nick Cave.

I love the fast and mathematical precision of the intro to Endless, which is a total two part arrangement, the fast intro and verse, juxtaposed with a sludge rock or maybe even grind core chorus. I especially love how it’s called Endless and it's amongst the shorter tracks on the album.

While being a serious post-rock band Loud Ghost seem to have a sense of humour, cited above with Endless, but in my opinion more so with The Dead Have Friends, which meanders along going nowhere, like a zombie looking for brains as its brain is kinda slow, before going into a huge sludge fest for about 40 seconds before the abrupt end of the song.

The album closes with My Girl’s A Werewolf, is a 1.55 blast of bouncy up-tempo angular pop with a 'quiet-loud' structure, the whole distortion on for the chorus thing. It’s a really nice fun way to end the album. Well worth the digital and/or physical investment.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Loud Ghost

Loud Ghost released their debut album in 2015 and have opened shows for international acts such as Sebadoh and The Buzzcocks. Their new album All In A Day is coming in March 2021.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Loud Ghost

Releases

All In A Day
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Vann Dizon - Single/Video Review: Let You Go
08 May 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Wow. Beautifully written, lyrics with heart, the composition is top form, and the production sets this song as a potential chart topper.
Read More...
Jiahu Symbols - Single Review: Northern Exposure
17 Apr 2021 // by Darryl Baser
An interesting song, Jiahu Symbols' Northern Exposure opens with a guitar swathed in chorus, maybe a little tremolo, with a couple of bars before the song crashes into life. The verse structure is played a couple of times, before Andrew Murray-Brown begins singing.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Veils @ Dive, Dunedin - 08/04/2021
10 Apr 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Purple Pilgrims take to the stage. There's a round of polite applause after their first song, and half way through their second, I start to hear a very 4AD sound; think Cocteau Twins, circa the Iceblink Luck period.
Read More...
Gig Review: Elemeno P @ Mornington Tap House, Dunedin - 25/03/2021
27 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
The opening act Marlin's Dreaming slide into a well-chosen opening number. Opening with gently strummed chords, and a drum machine, which the drummer synced with well when he came in.
Read More...
The Infinity Chamber - Single Review: No Honey (Anymore)
22 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
For those of you who aren’t amongst the 1340 subscribers to his YouTube, or the nearly 47,000 who follow his Facebook page, The Infinity Chamber is Dylan Paul Ware. PC, or Pre-Covid, he travelled in the true style of a troubadour, spending time in many countries across Europe, which is kind of documented in one of the lyrics in the song; "…it’s just my old guitar and me..
Read More...
Gig Review: Crowded House & Reb Fountain @ Dunedin Town Hall, Dunedin - 11/03/2021
12 Mar 2021 // by Darryl Baser
The exquisite Reb Fountain opens up with Hawks and Doves, and it's game on right from the get go. Sliding into the second tune, Fountain's dramatic songwriting style really suits opening this sell-out show at Dunedin's Town Hall.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Mr. Slice
27 Feb 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Straight Outta Blenheim, noisy angular post-punk band Big Scout have released an addictive new song, Mr. Slice.
Read More...
James Hunter - EP Review: You
21 Jan 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
  • BODY
    Russ Millions And Tion Wayne
  • YOUR POWER
    Billie Eilish
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • LEAVE THE DOOR OPEN
    Silk Sonic
  • ASTRONAUT IN THE OCEAN
    Masked Wolf
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem