26 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Loud Ghost - Album Review: All In A Day

06 Feb 2021 // A review by Darryl Baser

Loud Ghost are a self-described "Rock n Roll trio from Auckland, New Zealand."

It’s been 4 years since the first Loud Ghost record, and band members say they’re looking forward to getting All In A Day out and available to the public.

The album opens up with the title track, which is driven along by a solid guitar riff, and is an excellent way to open the album; fast, hypnotic and punchy. On repeated listens, it sounds like an anthem in the making.

Once my inner prude and animal welfare supporter gets past the title, track two Teaching Gorillas To Smoke is another tune which could see Loud Ghost reaching some indie fame.

Hang Me Today, is quieter with the band in alt country mode. "They’re going to hang me today for the murder of a man I didn’t know". It’s the most lyrically verbose song so far, and follows a narrative quite well. It reminds me of the song Long Black Veil, made popular by Johnny Cash, and later on Nick Cave.

I love the fast and mathematical precision of the intro to Endless, which is a total two part arrangement, the fast intro and verse, juxtaposed with a sludge rock or maybe even grind core chorus. I especially love how it’s called Endless and it's amongst the shorter tracks on the album.

While being a serious post-rock band Loud Ghost seem to have a sense of humour, cited above with Endless, but in my opinion more so with The Dead Have Friends, which meanders along going nowhere, like a zombie looking for brains as its brain is kinda slow, before going into a huge sludge fest for about 40 seconds before the abrupt end of the song.

The album closes with My Girl’s A Werewolf, is a 1.55 blast of bouncy up-tempo angular pop with a 'quiet-loud' structure, the whole distortion on for the chorus thing. It’s a really nice fun way to end the album. Well worth the digital and/or physical investment.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Loud Ghost

Loud Ghost released their debut album in 2015 and have opened shows for international acts such as Sebadoh and The Buzzcocks. In March of 2021 Loud Ghost released their new album All In A Day.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Loud Ghost

Releases

All In A Day
Year: 2021
Type: Album
Loud Ghost
Year: 2015
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

The New Things - EP Review: Pink Chocolate
20 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
If I had to sum up The New Things four-song EP Pink Chocolate in two words they would be ‘perfectly imperfect’. The New Things are Tina McIvor and Jason Tamihana-Bryce, both have been around the indie music scene for a number of years separately and together; touring Japan a few years back.
Read More...
Tony Jacob - Single Review: Just One Step
11 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
The 2021 released single Just One Step by Tony Jacob is a sumptuously produced song, with lyrics and a very positive vibe. "You can move on mountains with just one step, you could take the world on with no regrets..
Read More...
This Little Badge - Single Review: Think of A Number
01 May 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Think of A Number is the first of a series of seven singles being released by This Little Badge, a project led by Dave Pope. This song is an upbeat little number, based around the house lyrical phrase "think of a number", with the title line being repeated for the chorus.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: X
11 Mar 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Wellington based songwriter David Sutton has been regularly releasing albums of his original songs for a good few years now. This year he’s changed tack a bit and released a covers album.
Read More...
Tryonics - Single Review: Hey
08 Feb 2022 // by Darryl Baser
Tryonics is the solo project of Hap Richardson, formerly of My Little Pony, Go Victim and Freezer Child. And that’s about there is to know about Tryonics, apart from a growing catalogue of tunes.
Read More...
Nigel Parry - Single Review: One Word War
02 Dec 2021 // by Darryl Baser
“Me job to pick off the Hun, In the sights a lad like me, One shot, and I’m alone;” just a few of the lines of this stunning, beautiful and at times harrowing poem based on Nigel Parry’s family history of relations serving in World War I. 7:56 is typically too long for a single, Queen found that out when they first tried to release Bohemian Rhapsody.
Read More...
Aidan Ripley - Single Review: Let Us Bloom
24 Nov 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Teenage singer-songwriter Aidan Ripley released his new single Let Us Bloom on all platforms October 2021. The song is a stripped back acoustic guitar song which sounds like a solo love ballad, until Ripley’s partner Caspian Wilder adds her voice.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem