28 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Loud Ghost - Album Review: All In A Day

06 Feb 2021 // A review by Darryl Baser

Loud Ghost are a self-described "Rock n Roll trio from Auckland, New Zealand."

It’s been 4 years since the first Loud Ghost record, and band members say they’re looking forward to getting All In A Day out and available to the public.

The album opens up with the title track, which is driven along by a solid guitar riff, and is an excellent way to open the album; fast, hypnotic and punchy. On repeated listens, it sounds like an anthem in the making.

Once my inner prude and animal welfare supporter gets past the title, track two Teaching Gorillas To Smoke is another tune which could see Loud Ghost reaching some indie fame.

Hang Me Today, is quieter with the band in alt country mode. "They’re going to hang me today for the murder of a man I didn’t know". It’s the most lyrically verbose song so far, and follows a narrative quite well. It reminds me of the song Long Black Veil, made popular by Johnny Cash, and later on Nick Cave.

I love the fast and mathematical precision of the intro to Endless, which is a total two part arrangement, the fast intro and verse, juxtaposed with a sludge rock or maybe even grind core chorus. I especially love how it’s called Endless and it's amongst the shorter tracks on the album.

While being a serious post-rock band Loud Ghost seem to have a sense of humour, cited above with Endless, but in my opinion more so with The Dead Have Friends, which meanders along going nowhere, like a zombie looking for brains as its brain is kinda slow, before going into a huge sludge fest for about 40 seconds before the abrupt end of the song.

The album closes with My Girl’s A Werewolf, is a 1.55 blast of bouncy up-tempo angular pop with a 'quiet-loud' structure, the whole distortion on for the chorus thing. It’s a really nice fun way to end the album. Well worth the digital and/or physical investment.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Loud Ghost

Loud Ghost released their debut album in 2015 and have opened shows for international acts such as Sebadoh and The Buzzcocks. Their new album All In A Day is coming in March 2021.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Loud Ghost

Releases

All In A Day
Year: 2021
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

Montgomery - Single Review: Lonely, Only
17 Sep 2021 // by Darryl Baser
George Manning AKA Montgomery releases Lonely, Only today, and, oh my gosh, it’s a hauntingly beautiful song. In a world where for many artists their next single release has to be even more of a banger than their last, Montgomery’s Lonely, Only is packed full of heart and gentle charm.
Read More...
Gig Review: PRINS @ Dog With Two Tails, Dunedin - 31/07/2021
01 Aug 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Solo guy Alex Dykes opens up the evening using a kick drum trigger for a regular thump, an acoustic guitar, and a voice which is well-worn beyond his years. As he begins playing those who were hanging out in the cafe come through.
Read More...
Miss Leading - Album Review: Minor Thing
23 Jul 2021 // by Darryl Baser
When reviewing albums by artists you’ve never heard of can be a lottery, sometimes you don’t quite ‘get’ the album, and sometimes you’re like ‘wow’. Minor Thing by Miss Leading is totally in the ‘wow’ category.
Read More...
Gig Review: Drax Project @ Dunedin Town Hall, Dunedin - 02/06/2021
04 Jul 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Auckland based singer AACACIA was onstage and singing with her band as many people walked in at 7:25pm ahead of the advertised start time. In 2019 AACACIA posted a clip asking to play support to Drax Project, and last night she did.
Read More...
Reuben Hudson - Single Review: Baby Bedside
23 May 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are many things which can derail a musician’s career, although Reuben Hudson’s reasoning may be a little less common than most. He had kidney transplant surgery in 2020.
Read More...
Vann Dizon - Single/Video Review: Let You Go
08 May 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Wow. Beautifully written, lyrics with heart, the composition is top form, and the production sets this song as a potential chart topper.
Read More...
Jiahu Symbols - Single Review: Northern Exposure
17 Apr 2021 // by Darryl Baser
An interesting song, Jiahu Symbols' Northern Exposure opens with a guitar swathed in chorus, maybe a little tremolo, with a couple of bars before the song crashes into life. The verse structure is played a couple of times, before Andrew Murray-Brown begins singing.
Read More...
Gig Review: The Veils @ Dive, Dunedin - 08/04/2021
10 Apr 2021 // by Darryl Baser
Purple Pilgrims take to the stage. There's a round of polite applause after their first song, and half way through their second, I start to hear a very 4AD sound; think Cocteau Twins, circa the Iceblink Luck period.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • THAT'S WHAT I WANT
    Lil Nas X
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem