25 Feb 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Loud Ghost - Album Review: All In A Day

06 Feb 2021 // A review by Darryl Baser

Loud Ghost are a self-described "Rock n Roll trio from Auckland, New Zealand."

It’s been 4 years since the first Loud Ghost record, and band members say they’re looking forward to getting All In A Day out and available to the public.

The album opens up with the title track, which is driven along by a solid guitar riff, and is an excellent way to open the album; fast, hypnotic and punchy. On repeated listens, it sounds like an anthem in the making.

Once my inner prude and animal welfare supporter gets past the title, track two Teaching Gorillas To Smoke is another tune which could see Loud Ghost reaching some indie fame.

Hang Me Today, is quieter with the band in alt country mode. "They’re going to hang me today for the murder of a man I didn’t know". It’s the most lyrically verbose song so far, and follows a narrative quite well. It reminds me of the song Long Black Veil, made popular by Johnny Cash, and later on Nick Cave.

I love the fast and mathematical precision of the intro to Endless, which is a total two part arrangement, the fast intro and verse, juxtaposed with a sludge rock or maybe even grind core chorus. I especially love how it’s called Endless and it's amongst the shorter tracks on the album.

While being a serious post-rock band Loud Ghost seem to have a sense of humour, cited above with Endless, but in my opinion more so with The Dead Have Friends, which meanders along going nowhere, like a zombie looking for brains as its brain is kinda slow, before going into a huge sludge fest for about 40 seconds before the abrupt end of the song.

The album closes with My Girl’s A Werewolf, is a 1.55 blast of bouncy up-tempo angular pop with a 'quiet-loud' structure, the whole distortion on for the chorus thing. It’s a really nice fun way to end the album. Well worth the digital and/or physical investment.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Loud Ghost

Loud Ghost released their debut album in 2015 and have opened shows for international acts such as Sebadoh and The Buzzcocks. Their new album All In A Day is coming in March 2021.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Loud Ghost

Releases

There are no releases to display for Loud Ghost.

Other Reviews By Darryl Baser

James Hunter - EP Review: You
21 Jan 2021 // by Darryl Baser
There are tough days and good days in all aspects of life. In music reviewing there are recording which don’t grab you and professionalism is necessary.
Read More...
The Big Lawn - Album Review: Silverspoon
10 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Dunedin band The Big Lawn have just released their first album, Silverspoon. The album following on from the success of their debut EP Help Myself.
Read More...
Single Review: Viices: Double Denim 7”
01 Dec 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Viices, known to his mum as Jake McComb, has been making music for a number of years, releasing the Toxic EP in 2017. Double Denim is released on a grey marble 7", which was lovingly packed well in a box.
Read More...
Gig Review: French for Rabbits @ Bark, Dunedin - 27/11/2020
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Port Chalmers songwriter Lucy Hunter opened up the evening with Please Just Break My Heart and Let Me Go. Announcing to the rapidly filling Bark space at Dunedin’s Dog With Two Tails "this is my first [piano] gig standing up".
Read More...
Jolandi Ford - Single Review: You Ain’t In The Picture
28 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
I love me a good break up song, and You Ain’t In The Picture is such a song with a good dose of ‘don’t let the door hit you in the ass on the way out’. The joy in the subject of the song comes across in the lyrics; it's in the way you can hear the smile on her face as she delivers the lines, and also in the song’s composition, especially in the lift to the leading note of the chord, when Jolandi sings; "…will I cry a million tears?
Read More...
Gabriel Bond - Single Review: History
12 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
First thing; wow what a voice. Gabriel Bond has a stunning voice, I would frankly amazed if he hasn’t had a bunch of formal vocal training.
Read More...
Single Review: Redwoods
11 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
In their brief blurb, Redwoods describe themselves as "a Kiwi band formed on the Jurassic lake of Tarawera, featuring members of Fire at Will and Dead Favours". The band comprising of members Josh Dillner, Will Kearney and Hannah Kearney have recently released their debut single, which is self-titled.
Read More...
Gig Review: Die! Die! Die! @ Pioneer Hall, Port Chalmers - 06/11/2020
07 Nov 2020 // by Darryl Baser
Bliss Point are a Dunedin based high school band with musical lineage including drummer Tane Cotton, son of audio engineer Dale Cotton, and nephew of Shayne P Carter. Bliss Point take to the end of the room which is used as a stage to a quarter full room of their parents, school pals and unfashionably early concert goers, your humble scribe included.
Read More...
View All Articles By Darryl Baser

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem