18 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Channeled - EP Review: Interpretation

05 Feb 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

2020 was a breakthrough year for Channeled. Instead of just being a studio project, multi-instrumentalist Ben Ruegg was convinced to turn it into a full operational live band which quickly gelled into an incredibly tight unit which grew with experience and confidence each time they gigged. Although Ben recorded most of the second album on his own, the songs were played live, and Channeled made it through to the final of the Ding Dong Lounge Battle of the Bands. They arranged a headline show at that venue with Café Fistfight and Mariner as support to celebrate the release of I Heard Penelope Sing, but then disaster struck with Ben being rushed to hospital earlier the same week. After being kept in for a few days, and suffering myriad tests, Ben was allowed home to recuperate but the gig had come and gone, and he was just not ready to get back on stage just yet.

2020 was also a year of introspection for Ben, and he read a great deal to help make sense of what was going on around him, so when he was feeling well enough, the only way to express everything he had been going through was to sit down and write some new material which has just been released as a 3-track EP. Although the last album was only released a few months earlier, none of these songs appear there, as they have all been written since his sojourn in hospital. All three feature the Foo Fighter-style alternative commercial rock which one has come to expect, with plenty of guitars, yet while some people may focus on the buzzsaw attack they are given on opener Beyond The Realm Of Being, it is also wise to focus on the lyrics. The chorus is “I Step inside the field, And watch it disappear, Whatever I am reaching, I’m letting go of fear”, and it is the last words which really bring home the message. There is a huge amount of angst and emotion in this as he “channels” his inner Coridian.

However, one of the delights of Channeled is the way that Ben understands the need for contrast and dynamics, so middle track Again is far slower, while Interpretation again ups the ante, but is very different to the first so when the EP is played on repeat (it is only 14 minutes long so that is how I listen to it), the contrasts still really work. Ben has an incredibly strong sense of melody, and how to turn heavy material into something that is somehow more lightweight and commercial without ever losing any of the punch. These songs were written and recorded while Ben was supposedly recovering from his hospital stay, but one would never know that from listening to it but seeing as anyone playing this would also believe it was a full band as opposed to one person at home, perhaps that is not so much of a surprise.

If he is delivering like this when he is not at 100%, I just cannot wait to hear what album #3 sounds like and to catch them on the live circuit again.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Channeled

Channeled is ready to release the new album entitled I Heard Penelope Sing.

The new album is truly a sign of the changes that have taken place in Ben’s life. Just listen to tracks like A Conversation With You, Is That Glass? or I Can’t Quite Put My Finger On It and you will know what we are talking about here. In fact, those who heard the album before it’s release were all surprised with the direction the new music went.

The name of the album is semi-inspired by his love of people not being afraid to sing their hearts out. Music is about the experience; one best shared. It's inspiring to hear others write songs and sing them because they love it. So many of us do this in our own homes.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Channeled

Releases

Interpretation
Year: 2021
Type: EP
Perception
Year: 2021
Type: EP
I Heard Penelope Sing
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Channeled
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Antebellum - Single Review: Resolve
16 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
There has never been any doubt in my mind that the most difficult musical format to get right is that of a trio, as while it is expected that the sound will be full and complete, there is also no room to hide. That is even more the case when that trio decide to be instrumental as there is no singer to take some of the load, and then what about when the musical grounding is in metal?
Read More...
Gig Review: French For Rabbits @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 13/05/2022
15 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
So it was back to The Tuning Fork for the first time in quite a while. I am struggling to remember the last time I was there, but possibly it was for Dragon, which was well over a year ago.
Read More...
Gig Review: In The Shallows @ Spirit Festival - 05/05/2022
08 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
I left work a little early on Thursday, and then fought my way from South Auckland, West to Kumeu Showgrounds, where Spirit Festival was taking place. In many ways this is a sister festival to Earthbeat which I attended last year in that it is very much for the alternative culture movement, with lots of stalls and a wonderful vibe.
Read More...
Gig Review: Imperial Slave @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 07/05/2022
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
And so, it came to pass I was back in Dead Witch for the second consecutive night, and my third gig in as many days, which really shows how the scene is ramping back up again under the orange settings. We have all been deprived of live music for so long, and bands are now dipping their toes back in the water while others are resetting dates which previously had been cancelled.
Read More...
Pull Down The Sun - Gig Review: Aotearoa Prog Alliance Tour @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 06/05/22
07 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
This was the first night of the Aotearoa Prog Alliance tour, which is a showcase of progressive rock/metal over 9 shows in May, featuring three of Aotearoa's leading progressive rock/metal bands - Pull Down the Sun (Whanganui), Elidi (Christchurch), Claemus (Wellington) plus a local support at each stop. First up was Claemus, or at least a close approximation, as due to the wonderful lurgy which is COVID, plus a family commitment, the band was down to a duo of Taylor and Dan.
Read More...
Bleeding Afterglow - Album Review: Find Your Taboo
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Back in 2004 guitarist Sharne Scarborough was looking for a new rhythm section for Just One Fix, and he asked Ant Ward and Gaylene ‘G-Force’ to join. Although the bassist and drummer had bumped into each other on the circuit they were not really friends, and G actually complained to Sharne at one point that she was not sure if she could handle Ant’s persistent innuendos.
Read More...
Big Scout - Single Review: Redwood St. Massive
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
It’s not often that a song can take me straight back more than 40 years on the first time of hearing, only to reinforce that with repeated plays, but that is exactly what happened with this angry trio from Blenheim. This is stripped back music which has a great deal in common with the post punk Oi!
Read More...
Saint Mercury - Single Review: Ominous Warning (Ft. Shooless)
05 May 2022 // by Kev Rowland
Saint Mercury is the artist name for electronic producer Mark Linton who doesn’t see himself being at home in any particular genre but is more of a shapeshifter and on hearing this track one can understand why. Ominous Warning is his debut single, and he has given himself enough room to move around as it is more than five minutes in length.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WAIT FOR U
    Future feat. Drake And Tems
  • STARLIGHT
    Dave
  • FRIDAY NIGHT
    King George
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem