1 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Channeled - EP Review: Interpretation

05 Feb 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

2020 was a breakthrough year for Channeled. Instead of just being a studio project, multi-instrumentalist Ben Ruegg was convinced to turn it into a full operational live band which quickly gelled into an incredibly tight unit which grew with experience and confidence each time they gigged. Although Ben recorded most of the second album on his own, the songs were played live, and Channeled made it through to the final of the Ding Dong Lounge Battle of the Bands. They arranged a headline show at that venue with Café Fistfight and Mariner as support to celebrate the release of I Heard Penelope Sing, but then disaster struck with Ben being rushed to hospital earlier the same week. After being kept in for a few days, and suffering myriad tests, Ben was allowed home to recuperate but the gig had come and gone, and he was just not ready to get back on stage just yet.

2020 was also a year of introspection for Ben, and he read a great deal to help make sense of what was going on around him, so when he was feeling well enough, the only way to express everything he had been going through was to sit down and write some new material which has just been released as a 3-track EP. Although the last album was only released a few months earlier, none of these songs appear there, as they have all been written since his sojourn in hospital. All three feature the Foo Fighter-style alternative commercial rock which one has come to expect, with plenty of guitars, yet while some people may focus on the buzzsaw attack they are given on opener Beyond The Realm Of Being, it is also wise to focus on the lyrics. The chorus is “I Step inside the field, And watch it disappear, Whatever I am reaching, I’m letting go of fear”, and it is the last words which really bring home the message. There is a huge amount of angst and emotion in this as he “channels” his inner Coridian.

However, one of the delights of Channeled is the way that Ben understands the need for contrast and dynamics, so middle track Again is far slower, while Interpretation again ups the ante, but is very different to the first so when the EP is played on repeat (it is only 14 minutes long so that is how I listen to it), the contrasts still really work. Ben has an incredibly strong sense of melody, and how to turn heavy material into something that is somehow more lightweight and commercial without ever losing any of the punch. These songs were written and recorded while Ben was supposedly recovering from his hospital stay, but one would never know that from listening to it but seeing as anyone playing this would also believe it was a full band as opposed to one person at home, perhaps that is not so much of a surprise.

If he is delivering like this when he is not at 100%, I just cannot wait to hear what album #3 sounds like and to catch them on the live circuit again.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

About Channeled

Channeled is ready to release the new album entitled I Heard Penelope Sing.

The new album is truly a sign of the changes that have taken place in Ben’s life. Just listen to tracks like A Conversation With You, Is That Glass? or I Can’t Quite Put My Finger On It and you will know what we are talking about here. In fact, those who heard the album before it’s release were all surprised with the direction the new music went.

The name of the album is semi-inspired by his love of people not being afraid to sing their hearts out. Music is about the experience; one best shared. It's inspiring to hear others write songs and sing them because they love it. So many of us do this in our own homes.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Channeled

Releases

I Heard Penelope Sing
Year: 2020
Type: Album
Channeled
Year: 2019
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

Gig Review: Primacy @ Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 27/02/2021
28 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Saturday at the Ding Dong is always guaranteed to be a good night, and tonight was to be no exception with Primacy finally launching their album Seeds of Change. I say “finally” as previous gigs had been cancelled due to lockdown, and in fact this was going to be their first gig since 2019!
Read More...
Cafe Fistfight - Single Review: Pocket Change
16 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Cafe Fistfight describe themselves as New Zealand's premiere Acoustic-driven Progressive Rock band, with their music fitting in somewhere between John Mayer/Six60 and Incubus/Tool. To be honest, that is probably as good a description as any, but before someone expects to see the latest Yes, Genesis or Pink Floyd clone, be aware that when they describe themselves as progressive, they mean it in the true sense of the word, in that they are blending and mixing  genres and pushing the music in unusual directions.
Read More...
David Sutton - Album Review: Planet B
04 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
This is the ninth album from David, and while he wrote all the songs, he was assisted in the performances by his son Joseph, and between them we get plenty of keyboards, electronic drums, acoustic, bass, Stratocaster, harmonica and vocals. The result is something that does not really sound like a multi-instrumentalist performance, but rather a band, and even before putting it on I had to smile as while the CD booklet itself is low key, I cannot remember before seeing a track listing for Side A and Side B for a CD, plus the album is less than 45 minutes long so it really is harkening back to the 70’s.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dragon @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 3/02/21
04 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When The Biggest Pub Gig In The World took place at the end of last year, I truly felt there was a band missing from the bill who would have made the line-up complete, Dragon. Not only are they an  iconic New Zealand band, with countless hit singles and songs to their name, but they have been a solid gigging unit since their rebirth around bassist Todd Hunter in 2006.
Read More...
Festival Review: Auckland Folk Festival 2021 - 31/01/2021
02 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The final day of the Auckland Folk Festival 2021 started up, and I headed over in time to catch Being. at Midday.
Read More...
Festival Review: Auckland Folk Festival 2021 - 30/01/2021
01 Feb 2021 // by Kev Rowland
The last folk festival I went to prior to this one was when I flew to the other side of the world, attending Fairport Convention’s 50th Anniversary Cropredy Festival in 2017, but for some reason I had never been just down the road to Kumeu to attend the Auckland Folk Festival, which has been running for a great many years. However, based on this weekend’s experience, I know I will be back.
Read More...
WHITE NØISE MAFIA - Gig Review: White Noise Mafia @ The Thirsty, Auckland - 28/01/2021
29 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
So, it was back to The Thirsty, who are starting to put on more metal gigs, and if they are all like this one then I am sure they are going to be deemed to be a raging success. Tonight, it was a three-band bill and a sensible finishing time, which made something of a pleasant change, especially as many of us would be working on the Friday.
Read More...
Gig Review: The First Child @ The Ding Dong Lounge, Auckland - 22/01/2021
24 Jan 2021 // by Kev Rowland
When I sent Mariner the review of their gig the previous week, singer Adam told me they were playing Ding Dong again on the Friday, so I thought to myself why not? So, for the second consecutive Friday I made my way into central Auckland to everyone’s favourite rock dive.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • IN THE AIR
    L.A.B.
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem