20 Jun 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Dragon - Gig Review: Dragon @ The Tuning Fork, Auckland - 3/02/21

04 Feb 2021 // A review by Kev Rowland

When The Biggest Pub Gig In The World took place at the end of last year, I truly felt there was a band missing from the bill who would have made the line-up complete, Dragon. Not only are they an  iconic New Zealand band, with countless hit singles and songs to their name, but they have been a solid gigging unit since their rebirth around bassist Todd Hunter in 2006. This gig was only announced a week prior to it taking place, and I relished the opportunity to cross another icon off my bucket list (just Split Enz to go now, please guys?). Then the icing on the cake was announced, in that the support would be Outside In, one of my very favourite bands from Auckland, but what would the audience think of a young progressive band playing songs they probably had not previously come across?

The doors opened at 7pm, and Outside In were on stage promptly at 7:30pm, playing a highly compacted six-song set. There was no announcement, they just went straight into Bridges, with Jonnie Barnard and Joe Park creating their signature twin-guitar soundscapes. The last time the band played was actually at the same venue when they supported City of Souls, but that night Joe was unable to perform so they had a stand-in guitarist who fitted in well but gave the sound a different vibe, but tonight they were back to full strength. In Adam Tobeck (drums) and Elliott Seung Il Park (bass, backing vocals) they have one of the strongest rhythm sections around, and tonight the sound balance was really good with Adam’s snare cutting through the wall of sound being created by the guitars, while Elliott was revelling on being given more space than normal and literally twisting himself in knots while playing complex runs on his five-string bass, then at the front is Mikey. Resplendent as normal in his blue dressing gown, which only lasted half the set due the heat in the venue, he is a wonderful front man who lives the music being performed, with a clear voice which rings through. He also utilises two microphones, one of which is clean and one with slight distortion, which allows him to provide some different dynamics.

Although the band were really delivering on the stage, it was obvious that the vast majority of the crowd were there to see the headline and were not too interested in what else was going on, talking through most of the first number. But as the sound continued to swell, and they continued to display just how tight a band they are, there is no doubt that people started to pay more attention. The talking gradually died away and while there only a few cheers to great the end of each song, there was at least appreciative applause. Tonight, The Garden of Light was one of the highlights, where Jonnie switched to seven-string which assisted in providing a very different feel. The guitars seem to fill all available sound so there would be no room for keyboards, yet there is also clear differentiation, and the use of space provides clarity and dynamics. It was obvious they were on a time limit tonight, and there was very little of the normal banter and talking as they pushed through the set. This was a real shame as it was not really a fair indication of how they normally perform, and I was disappointed they made the late decision to drop Mushrooms, but they finished  with a job well done, although it was somewhat of a surprise for them to walk outside and see it was still daylight.

The reason for Outside In finishing so early became apparent when Dragon came onstage before 8:30. I must confess it is a very long time since I saw a headline start their set at that time, but it made a pleasant change indeed. Although the Dragon of 2021 bears little resemblance to the one formed back in 1972, Todd Hunter is of course still there, and the line-up has stayed the same since he reformed the band in 2006, being joined by Mark Williams (vocals, guitar), Bruce Reid (guitar), and Pete Drummond (drums). Again, there was no announcement, they just walked onto the stage, picked up their instruments and said “hello”. Everyone’s attention was on Mark, who is a wonderfully gregarious and inviting frontman, and as soon as they kicked into Still In Love With You it was obvious this was going to be a singalong event. Dragon are a band who can perform for 90 minutes and just play hit after anthemic hit, and that was exactly what we were in for tonight. Todd may sit on a stool these days, but his bass playing is as dynamic as ever, while Bruce has a fine line in sharp riffs and hats, and then at the back is Pete. As well as being a fine drummer, Pete also provides an important vocal element to the band and while all the guys provide vocals, he also had solo spot later in the set.

There was no warming up the crowd, they were red hot from the start, and it just did not seem to matter what song was played, everyone knew all the words and was singing them as loud as they could. Speak No Evil, Dreams of Ordinary Men, they came and went with everyone having a blast, both on and off the stage. The four musicians have been playing these songs together for the best part of fifteen years, and there is a relaxation and confidence which comes with time spent onstage, and Mark was nailing all the vocals with ease, seemingly always with a massive smile on his face. The only time the set lulled for me was when Pete was given the opportunity for a reasonably lengthy drum solo. I had to wrack my brains to try and think of the last time I saw one, and it has to be at least 30 years, as while they were popular in the Seventies they have definitely gone out of fashion, for good reason. There is no doubt he is an amazing drummer, and the crowd certainly applauded everything he did, but just not for me.

This Time, Ramona, the hits just kept coming with the crowd reacting so strongly to what was being played that Mark just let them get on with it during Young Years. Mark also provided some solo numbers, accompanying himself with his acoustic, showing again just what a confident performer he is as he always had the crowd in the palm of his hand. The rest of the band came back for Sunshine, and then Bruce kicked off the riffs so many had been waiting for, and we were all singing April Sun In Cuba. From there it was another party romp through Celebration before they ended the set with Rain. I was somewhat surprised they hadn’t kept it back for the encore, but no-one was complaining as we all attempted to lift the roof off The Tuning Fork. Needless to say, that wasn’t the real end, so they came back and finally finished with Are You Old Enough, where Mark again let the crowd sing most of the words.

I have been missing out on Dragon for some years, and I am so pleased to have finally been able to catch them in concert, as they really know how to deliver and are guaranteed to provide a great night out.

 

Images © Steve Bone

View the Outside In gallery here

View the Dragon gallery here

Please do not crop or use any of these photos for other purposes without written permission by the photographer.

 

About Dragon

Dragon was one of Australasia’s top groups from the mid 70's to mid 80's. After two moderately successful albums for Polygram NZ, Dragon moved to Australia in 1975 and by 1978 had conquered that country also with smash singles like April Sun in Cuba, Are you Old Enough and Still in Love With You.

The classic line-up from 1975 – 1979 consisted of Marc Hunter, Todd Hunter, Paul Hewson, Robert Taylor and various drummers. In 1998 Raven via EMI released two compilations of Dragon recordings; a single disc greatest hits called Snake Eyes on the Paradise and a double album called Tales From the Dark Side which included the greatest hits plus a disc of collectable items including Marc Hunter solo material.

Dragon are an important part of Kiwi music history, Dragon was known world-wide. Formed in the 70's, they are known best for their hits April Sun in Cuba and Are You Old Enough.

Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Dragon

Releases

The Very Best Of Dragon
Year: 2010
Type: Album
Universal Radio
Year: 2009
Type: Album
The Essential Dragon
Year: 2007
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
Sunshine To Rain
Year: 2006
Type: Album
The Great Dragon
Year: 2004
Type: Album
Incarnations
Year: 1995
Type: Album
Cuts From The Tough Times
Year: 1990
Type: Album
Bondi Road
Year: 1989
Type: Album
Their Classic Collection
Year: 1988
Type: Album
Dreams Of Ordinary Men
Year: 1986
Type: Album
Live One
Year: 1985
Type: Album
Body And The Beat
Year: 1984
Type: Album
Power Play
Year: 1979
Type: Album
Greatest Hits Volume 1
Year: 1979
Type: Album
Buy Online @ Mightyape
O Zambesi
Year: 1978
Type: Album
Running Free
Year: 1977
Type: Album
Sunshine
Year: 1977
Type: Album
Scented Gardens For The Blind
Year: 1975
Type: Album
Universal Radio
Year: 1974
Type: Album

Other Reviews By Kev Rowland

LearningToDive - Single Review: You Said It Best
17 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Learningtodive is one of a series of projects from Bravo Bonez, a musician and producer currently based in Wellington, New Zealand. He released his first single under this name back in November last year, since when he has followed it up with more singles and his debut album Norwegian Pop, which came out in April.
Read More...
Gig Review: Blitz Metal Fest @ Dead Witch, Auckland - 12/06/2021
13 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Well, today was a first for me, coming to Ding Dong in the daylight! This was because it was time for Metal Blitz, a 13-band event being held which was planned to run for 10 hours but we all thought was probably going to take longer.
Read More...
Gatekeepers - Single Review: Always a Rebel, Never a Rogue
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Gatekeepers may be a new name to most of you, but this New Plymouth quartet have managed to secure the opening slot in Hamilton for the Devilskin and Kora show, so they have already started to gain some attention and based on this single one can hear why. The band was only formed earlier this year by guitarist/singer Jeremy Donoghue, rhythm guitarist Sean Phillips and bassist Mat Pipe, since when they have been writing and recording tracks before sending them to the UK to be mixed by Adam Wain.
Read More...
Investigator - Single Review: Lake of Eyes
09 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Adrian Drew and his band of merry men are back with the third single from their forthcoming album and given what I have heard to date I am really looking forward to that when it comes out. While Adrian provides guitar and vocals, the band is now firmly settled with David Crowhen (bass) Undercut, Craig van Kan (drums), The Couch, and lead guitarist Adam Morton-Mason, These Fine Galleons.
Read More...
Mudbelly - Single Review: Baby U No Good
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Last weekend I was fortunate enough to both survive the ravages of Canterbury’s wild weather and experience the force of nature which is Mudbelly, with the latter more than making up for going out in the driving rain to get to the gig. This means I am in the somewhat unusual position of having heard this song played in concert prior to coming across the recorded version, and it is interesting to hear just how different it is in this setting.
Read More...
DRXNES - Single Review: Junkie
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
Prior to hearing this single I had heard only positive things about Whanganui band DRXNES and having now played this I can see exactly why. This is a highly polished, highly produced number which sounds as if it has come out of a top American band and studio as opposed to little old Aotearoa.
Read More...
Gig Review: Dead Favours @ Darkroom, Christchurch - 04/06/2021
07 Jun 2021 // by Kev Rowland
For the second time in less than a week it was back into the centre of Christchurch and St. Asaph Street, but whereas last time it was to the 12 Bar, this week it was next door, to Darkroom.
Read More...
Gig Review: Mudbelly @ 12 Bar, Christchurch - 29/05/2021
30 May 2021 // by Kev Rowland
In the middle of a red alert weather warning, I trekked from Oxford into Christchurch to attend Mudbelly’s album launch. It has been a while since I last went to a gig down here, but I have been to some real killers in the past (Sepultura, Death Angel and Blindfolded And Led To The Woods at Canterbury University’s The Foundry will long stick in my mind), so was looking forward to this.
Read More...
View All Articles By Kev Rowland

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • GOOD 4 U
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • KISS ME MORE
    Doja Cat feat. SZA
  • DEJA VU
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • BODY (REMIX)
    Russ Millions x Tion Wayne
  • TRAITOR
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • FAVORITE CRIME
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • PEACHES
    Justin Bieber feat. Daniel Caesar And Giveon
  • LEVITATING
    Dua Lipa feat. DaBaby
  • SAVE YOUR TEARS (REMIX)
    The Weeknd And Ariana Grande
  • MONTERO (CALL ME BY YOUR NAME)
    Lil Nas X
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem