10 Aug 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

The Butlers - Single/Video Review: One Flew

04 Feb 2021 // A review by bethany_rachell

The Butlers are continuing the momentum of their festival filled summer with a new single - One Flew. Bonus: there’s a music video too.

The single and video are based on Ken Kesey’s novel One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest. The song kicks off with an anticipatory build up which soon drops into smooth and energetic saxophone setting a base of chaotic fun that the song is built on. Throughout the song there are ska breakdowns and jazzy changes of tempo that have been so popular in recent Kiwi indie-rock.

The vocals on this track are shared between three members of the band - Walt Robberds, George Berry and Jordan Kennedy, rather than just front man Walt. The reverb effect on the vocals makes for a really wide, echoey sound, as if it were recorded in a cave, or a mental asylum...

The music video follows the song with big energy from the start, the band as characters escaping from whatever has been holding them captive. Like most of The Butler’s music videos it is recognisably Christchurch, following the escapees on their rampage around various locations in the city.

There are a few very cheesy moments, like the Abbey Road crossing shot and the band all posing as sweethearts, lying in the grass swinging their legs. Quite contradictory to the rest of the video which is filled with general mischief and comradery – breaking into cars, climbing trees and chasing a win on the pokies.

Nice to see saxophonist Stingy sporting slightly more sophisticated headwear than the Double Brown helmet he wore in Cats on the Cliff and Freeway.

Overall a very consistent, very fun release from The Butlers. Hope there’s more to come in 2021.

The single was released Feb 2nd under Meow Records. The music video was directed by Matt De Vries. Check it out here.

Rating: ( 4 / 5 )
 

Releases

There are no releases to display for The Butlers.

Other Reviews By bethany_rachell

Wiri Donna - EP Review: Being Alone
26 May 2022 // by bethany_rachell
It’s been two years since Wiri Donna’s first and only official release - a double single Manuka Money and Wandering Willies. Those who are in Wellington and have had the opportunity to see Wiri Donna live will be more accustomed to the heavier sound that they bring live.
Read More...
Mild Orange - Album Review: Looking For Space
13 Feb 2022 // by bethany_rachell
Mild Orange are back in New Zealand and back on the scene with their new album Looking For Space. Here is a breakdown of the key moments in the album.
Read More...
Lunavela - Single Review: Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend
21 Sep 2021 // by bethany_rachell
I'm not gonna lie; Six-Out-Of-Ten Friend was stuck in my head for a solid week after I listened to it for the first time – so be warned. Perhaps the reason it stuck so solidly in my head was that I kept finding myself in the painfully mundane and tricky situations that it laments.
Read More...
D.Matthews - Single Review: Africa
10 Sep 2021 // by bethany_rachell
One thing is for sure. Wellington is not warm enough to do this song justice.
Read More...
Samuel Gaskin - Single/Video Review: Reckoning
31 Aug 2021 // by bethany_rachell
Reckoning is a new single and video release from Samuel Gaskin that follows in the wake of his stage production by the same name. New Zealand born and now based in Melbourne, Gaskin intertwines his own roots and the roots of his current placing in this video, with a cast of 20 First Nations Aboriginal and Maori performers.
Read More...
GiGi Genie - Single Review: The Phoenix
19 Aug 2021 // by bethany_rachell
Wow! I knew this track would be something else before I even listened to it.
Read More...
EP Review: Bluey Green
08 Jul 2021 // by bethany_rachell
July 9, 2021, sees the first ever release of Bluey Green – the self-titled EP. As I sometimes do with reviews, I dived right into this EP before reading about, or even having heard of Bluey Green, and nothing could have been a more fitting description than the wavering, reflective shine of the ocean that the name alone evokes.
Read More...
Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons - Album Review: Everything Is As It Shouldn't Be
21 Jun 2021 // by bethany_rachell
Everything Is As It Shouldn’t Be is the latest release from Daniel Armstrong & The Monsoons, and boy it is a wild ride. The album takes self-proclaimed inspiration from “Bob-Dylan, Talking Heads, Claude Debussy, Velvet Underground and Radiohead,” so I went in with eclectic expectations.
Read More...
View All Articles By bethany_rachell

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • DOJA
    Central Cee
  • I AIN'T WORRIED
    OneRepublic
  • BAD HABIT
    Steve Lacy
  • GLIMPSE OF US
    Joji
  • BIG CITY LIFE
    Luude And Mattafix
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • RUNNING UP THAT HILL (A DEAL WITH GOD)
    Kate Bush
  • VEGAS
    Doja Cat
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • I LIKE YOU (A HAPPIER SONG)
    Post Malone And Doja Cat
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem