24 May 2022
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane

31 Jan 2021 // A review by Chris Chick

The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas. I am very excited to not only be reviewing another NZ band, but one that is close to my heart, literally, as I currently live within the Christchurch area. I will try my hardest not to be too biased.

The first song Catch A Ride is like walking into a very progressive southern Baptist gospel singing church in the good ol USA and there is no way you are going to stop your dancing shoes from moving in every direction, especially when that trumpet enters the scene and your feet scream to you 'keep going, I know it hurts, but keep going'. This song is a wonderfully upbeat number, starting what is a fantastic musical ride with the Llamas of Christchurch.

The third song on the album What To Do takes me back to those days gone by in the early 2000's in the UK when the second wave of 'Britpop' bands started making waves, The Libertines, The Kooks and The Coral etc. Head bobbing is very much in order, as well as a side order of cardigans and floppy hats. I am enjoying the mixture of genres that the band is covering to this point; it certainly keeps the listener engaged.

Middle of The Night is another mood shaker, as the music gets a little more funky and intense as the dancing boots are tied up once again ready for action. The continuous lick that is used through the song adds a level of sophistication through the song that makes it so very good.

All in all I was very impressed by Wunderlane; it had a very chirpy opening, with a very diverse, yet exciting changes throughout. Being that they are from Christchurch and my unbiased nature would never count that as a reason to pick up this EP, but you should really take the time to not only listen but to actually spend the few dollars, for this is soothing music for your ears. This gets a very strong 3.5 stars from me, and I look forward to seeing more music from this band, as well as live gigs around town.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Bad Llamas

Bad Llamas play original music, currently recording, formed in Christchurch 2018.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bad Llamas

Releases

Wunderlane
Year: 2021
Type: EP
What Even Is Bad Llamas
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

The Hootz - Single Review: Stay Away
06 May 2022 // by Chris Chick
Hailing from the Garden City and just a short 15-minute drive from yours truly, the 4-piece band known as The Hootz are releasing their upcoming single Stay Away. This song has a very melancholy vibe to it, but not in the sense of it being a negative thing, if anything it has a very Summer vibe feel to it.
Read More...
Trip Change - Single Review: Never Seen A Boy Like Me
24 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
It is not hard to know that I am fan of all music, I think the ability to pick up a musical instrument and compose a song is impressive. The intricacies of bringing many parts together and making the final product sound so good is beyond my capabilities.
Read More...
Kokomo - Album Review: A Little Something From The Attic
01 Jan 2022 // by Chris Chick
16 Blues songs to review was my mission if I chose to accept it, well naturally I did, otherwise you would not be reading this, but let me just tell you something, was I excited? Oh you can bet your bottom dollar I was.
Read More...
Mini Simmons - Single Review: Railroad For Two
01 Nov 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege of listening to another cracking song by Mini Simmons. Their latest release Railroad For Two hit my ears and I am happy to say, my heart was warmed by such a melodic and poignant song that is perfect for any setting where peace and calm are the order of the day.
Read More...
Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • FIRST CLASS
    Jack Harlow
  • N95
    Kendrick Lamar
  • AS IT WAS
    Harry Styles
  • ABOUT DAMN TIME
    Lizzo
  • GO (GODDARD. REMIX)
    Cat Burns
  • DIE HARD
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Blxst And Amanda Reifer
  • UNITED IN GRIEF
    Kendrick Lamar
  • FATHER TIME
    Kendrick Lamar feat. Sampha
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem