8 Mar 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane

31 Jan 2021 // A review by Chris Chick

The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas. I am very excited to not only be reviewing another NZ band, but one that is close to my heart, literally, as I currently live within the Christchurch area. I will try my hardest not to be too biased.

The first song Catch A Ride is like walking into a very progressive southern Baptist gospel singing church in the good ol USA and there is no way you are going to stop your dancing shoes from moving in every direction, especially when that trumpet enters the scene and your feet scream to you 'keep going, I know it hurts, but keep going'. This song is a wonderfully upbeat number, starting what is a fantastic musical ride with the Llamas of Christchurch.

The third song on the album What To Do takes me back to those days gone by in the early 2000's in the UK when the second wave of 'Britpop' bands started making waves, The Libertines, The Kooks and The Coral etc. Head bobbing is very much in order, as well as a side order of cardigans and floppy hats. I am enjoying the mixture of genres that the band is covering to this point; it certainly keeps the listener engaged.

Middle of The Night is another mood shaker, as the music gets a little more funky and intense as the dancing boots are tied up once again ready for action. The continuous lick that is used through the song adds a level of sophistication through the song that makes it so very good.

All in all I was very impressed by Wunderlane; it had a very chirpy opening, with a very diverse, yet exciting changes throughout. Being that they are from Christchurch and my unbiased nature would never count that as a reason to pick up this EP, but you should really take the time to not only listen but to actually spend the few dollars, for this is soothing music for your ears. This gets a very strong 3.5 stars from me, and I look forward to seeing more music from this band, as well as live gigs around town.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Bad Llamas

Bad Llamas play original music, currently recording, formed in Christchurch 2018.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bad Llamas

Releases

Wunderlane
Year: 2021
Type: EP
What Even Is Bad Llamas
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Palm Trees & Ciggies
08 Dec 2020 // by Chris Chick
If you were wondering what you Summer song was going to be for this year, the year of the 'what the hell just happened' Palm Trees and Ciggies could well be your winner to take you through to the next Winter. Any song that drops a humdinger of a ska/reggae beat is a sure fire way to get noticed by this reviewer, especially as the temperature starts to warm up and the stock of cold ones increases in the fridge.
Read More...
Miles Calder - Single Review: Take Me Back To How It Was
19 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I think I just found the band that I really want to jam with; Miles Calder's new song Take Me Back To How It Was is a sound that really does what it says on the tin, it takes you back to the way it was. This late 60's and 70's psychedelic number really softens the soul and enables one to really re-live by gone days that many of us did not even have the opportunity to experience.
Read More...
Imperial April - Single Review: Release Me
08 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
Imperial April are releasing their new single Release Me on 9 October 2020, and by golly it's an absolute corker, and I will not let anyone else say different. This song has so much going for it, from its production, to the wonderfully enchanting singing, to the 80's summer vibe that will just keep the summer of 2020 a positive time considering the rest of the garbage we have all had to deal with.
Read More...
Turkey The Bird - Single Review: Everybody Needs A Little Sunshine
01 Oct 2020 // by Chris Chick
I was promised a happy little number when handed this assignment, and I was not let down, I think happy might be an understatement, elated, ecstatic, maybe even nirvanic, which I believe is a word I just made up. This is a timely release what with summer banging on the door, a great reminder to us all to put a smile on our faces, and be thankful for the simple things in life, like a little sunshine, especially if you are on the West Coast of the South Island, according to the rumours.
Read More...
Jam Fish - Single Review: The Hermits Red Balloon
24 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Jam Fish’s new single The Hermit’s Red Balloon was released on the 14th August 2020. This song can only be described through golfing metaphors, the experience of listening to this song was like playing a shot beyond the horizon and hoping you make the green.
Read More...
Fornax Chemica - Album Review: Audio Vision
06 Aug 2020 // by Chris Chick
Let’s get one thing straight right off the bat, creating, producing, and performing an album is a massive undertaking in itself. I am always impressed by any musician who is able to accomplish this, no matter the genre or the instruments they play (the more the better I say) this is why longevity within the music industry is not to be ignored when embracing all aspects of artists you love, and those you find hard to love.
Read More...
Iveta & Simone - Single Review: I'm Only Focused On You
15 Jul 2020 // by Chris Chick
Intense and full of bravado, as soon as the first piano chord hammered over my speakers, I jumped to attention like a well drilled private awaiting his first taste of action. Without any hesitation this private felt the need to start running towards the battle with no second thought for my own safety, willed on by the heavy baseline that accompanies the just as strong willed lyrical content.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • ALL SHE WROTE
    Six60
  • DRIVERS LICENSE
    Olivia Rodrigo
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • WHY OH WHY
    L.A.B.
  • HEARTBREAK ANNIVERSARY
    Giveon
  • CALLING MY PHONE
    Lil Tjay feat. 6LACK
  • NOT MY NEIGHBOUR
    Niko Walters
  • CONTROLLER
    L.A.B.
  • GOOD DAYS
    SZA
  • WITHOUT YOU
    The Kid LAROI
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem