25 Sep 2021
UsernamePassword

Remember Me? | Join | Recover
Click here to sign in via social networking

Bad Llamas - EP Review: Wunderlane

31 Jan 2021 // A review by Chris Chick

The new 6 track EP Wunderlane by Bad Llamas is a breath of fresh air when it comes to NZ music. Situated down in the depths of Christchurch, this is the band's second EP release after their debut 2019 EP What Even is Bad Llamas. I am very excited to not only be reviewing another NZ band, but one that is close to my heart, literally, as I currently live within the Christchurch area. I will try my hardest not to be too biased.

The first song Catch A Ride is like walking into a very progressive southern Baptist gospel singing church in the good ol USA and there is no way you are going to stop your dancing shoes from moving in every direction, especially when that trumpet enters the scene and your feet scream to you 'keep going, I know it hurts, but keep going'. This song is a wonderfully upbeat number, starting what is a fantastic musical ride with the Llamas of Christchurch.

The third song on the album What To Do takes me back to those days gone by in the early 2000's in the UK when the second wave of 'Britpop' bands started making waves, The Libertines, The Kooks and The Coral etc. Head bobbing is very much in order, as well as a side order of cardigans and floppy hats. I am enjoying the mixture of genres that the band is covering to this point; it certainly keeps the listener engaged.

Middle of The Night is another mood shaker, as the music gets a little more funky and intense as the dancing boots are tied up once again ready for action. The continuous lick that is used through the song adds a level of sophistication through the song that makes it so very good.

All in all I was very impressed by Wunderlane; it had a very chirpy opening, with a very diverse, yet exciting changes throughout. Being that they are from Christchurch and my unbiased nature would never count that as a reason to pick up this EP, but you should really take the time to not only listen but to actually spend the few dollars, for this is soothing music for your ears. This gets a very strong 3.5 stars from me, and I look forward to seeing more music from this band, as well as live gigs around town.

Rating: ( 3 / 5 )
 

About Bad Llamas

Bad Llamas play original music, currently recording, formed in Christchurch 2018.




Visit the muzic.net.nz Profile for Bad Llamas

Releases

Wunderlane
Year: 2021
Type: EP
What Even Is Bad Llamas
Year: 2019
Type: EP

Other Reviews By Chris Chick

Oceanspace - Single Review: Silver City Rain
01 Sep 2021 // by Chris Chick
Now and again a song comes around that makes you stop and think "well that certainly surprised me". This is in no way a negative connotation, I would hate to think that my initial perspective was one of which, when I was given the task to review this song, I was already looking to the one-star rating.
Read More...
Salt Rock - Single Review: Six Appeal
30 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
Any song that has a sultry baseline and some trumpets are always going to grab my listening ear and have me easily fall in love with, that is just how I roll. Salt Rock are a funk-dub group based in Christchurch made up of seven pals doing their thing to the wonderful New Zealand music scene.
Read More...
False Heights - Single Review: Caught Up
21 Jul 2021 // by Chris Chick
The Taupo based pop duo False Heights have released their new single Caught Up and it is a corker. From the get go, the song takes me from the mid-winter blues (as I write this review) to the yearning of a wonderful sun filled summer on its way.
Read More...
Album Review: Turkey The Bird
07 Jun 2021 // by Chris Chick
The self-professed ‘Simon & Garfunkel’ of Aotearoa bring their first album to the listening ears of all New Zealanders and let us not beat around the bush, this is a corker of epic proportions. From the steadfast sound of the banjo piercing your ears delightful receptacles, to some rather incredibly smooth harmonies backed up by some rasping bass lines.
Read More...
Banana Mundo - EP Review: Hola
29 Apr 2021 // by Chris Chick
You just know with a name like Banana Mundo that you are in for a good time, as my old man once said to me "Chris, I am short and so is life, we are here for a good time, not a long time". It's a shame he did not have this EP at hand to use it in his timely philosophical saying.
Read More...
MARY. - Single Review: Day To Day
12 Mar 2021 // by Chris Chick
MARY. is the ‘dreamy’ alter ego of the songs creator Stef T, a robust and staunch woman making her way in what can be perceived as a very male orientated world in many aspects.
Read More...
Revulva - Single Review: Sniffly Lady
25 Feb 2021 // by Chris Chick
I had the privilege and honour to review the debut single from Revulva, Sniffly Lady, a song all about the grand boogie on a Saturday night. No matter how old or young you are, the intense anticipation of getting out and amongst the people for a boogie, especially in this day and age, is the great equalizer to the capitalistic machine we all find ourselves under.
Read More...
Paul The Kid - Single Review: Palm Trees & Ciggies
08 Dec 2020 // by Chris Chick
If you were wondering what you Summer song was going to be for this year, the year of the 'what the hell just happened' Palm Trees and Ciggies could well be your winner to take you through to the next Winter. Any song that drops a humdinger of a ska/reggae beat is a sure fire way to get noticed by this reviewer, especially as the temperature starts to warm up and the stock of cold ones increases in the fridge.
Read More...
View All Articles By Chris Chick

NZ Top 10 Singles

  • STAY
    The Kid LAROI And Justin Bieber
  • PEPEHA
    Six60
  • INDUSTRY BABY
    Lil Nas X feat. Jack Harlow
  • BAD HABITS
    Ed Sheeran
  • COLD HEART (PNAU REMIX)
    Elton John And Dua Lipa
  • HEAT WAVES
    Glass Animals
  • HAPPIER THAN EVER
    Billie Eilish
  • SHIVERS
    Ed Sheeran
  • WOMAN
    Doja Cat
  • FAIR TRADE
    Drake feat. Travis Scott
View the Full NZ Top 40...
muzic.net.nz Logo
100% New Zealand Music
All content on this website is copyright to muzic.net.nz and other respective rights holders. Redistribution of any material presented here without permission is prohibited.
Report a ProblemReport A Problem